冠状病毒(COVID-19)疫情最新动态

更新日期:4/17/2020

科文斯首席执行官、医学博士Paul Kirchgraber致辞

在对抗COVID-19的斗争中,我们认为患者无法等待,而我们也无法等待。我们将与您合作,在全球范围内加速提供亟需的治疗方案。我们可以提供融合科文斯与LabCorp药物研发及诊断实力的独特解决方案组合。为在这一快速发展的环境中为您的前进之路提供一流的支持,我们将通过以下方法帮助您实现目标并最终满足患者的迫切需求: 

  1. 我们可以共同实现空前加速:每天都需要新的COVID-19检测试剂盒、疫苗或治疗药物。加速研发并更快地与患者建立联系需要一支高度协调的团队。我们已经动员了专门的COVID-19响应团队,以帮助您与相关的人员和监管机构建立联系,加快研发速度。
  2. 我们可以共同建立高度协作的伙伴关系:例如,我们与Ridgeback Biotherapeutics在测试抗病毒药物方面的独特伙伴关系已被证明是成功的。我们的COVID-19响应团队制定了该客户的临床研发计划,并与监管机构建立了联系,调整了药品供应,并招募了志愿者进行首次人体应用研究——仅用了14个工作日。如此快的速度和紧密协作确实令人瞩目,而且也是不懈追求突破所必需的。   
  3. 我们可以将跨职能专业知识无缝应用于您的端到端研发中:流程中的每个交接点都会增加风险并影响时间安排。我们能够实现从药物筛选和临床前到研发和商业化的各个阶段之间的快速过渡。无论您需要分子筛查、制剂、检测方法开发、患者招募还是临床试验管理方面的支持,您都可以扩展团队的科学和医学专业知识,获得新见解,以做出更明智的决策。其他任何机构都无法提供如此广泛且协调一致的服务,也无法与科文斯及LabCorp的全球业务势均力敌。
  4. 我们可以共同与患者取得直接联系,并利用LabCorp专有的患者数据进行集中招募:灵活、敏捷、无与伦比的患者通道对于COVID-19测试及药物研发而言至关重要。我们专有的LabCorp数据可以帮助您预测下一个热点,近乎实时地优化您的招聘策略,并增进对当前COVID-19测试模式及患者群的了解。您还可以使用Patient Direct(我们特有的经过许可、预先筛查、符合特定纳入/排除标准的患者数据库)来改善患者招募工作,该数据库来自LabCorp对美国接受COVID-19检测的大约20%受试者的测试。除了更快招募到患者外,LabCorp和Ciox Health Real World Data部门还就美国综合COVID-19患者数据登记库开展密切合作。 该登记库将存储符合HIPAA标准的精选去识别化数据集,并可用于从现实世界数据中迅速得出见解,以加强流行病学和临床研究并最终改善COVID-19患者的结局。  
  5. 我们可以共同在具有挑战性的试验环境中采用以患者为中心的做法,从而提高安全性:鉴于患者情况的复杂性以及对确保患者和医疗服务提供者安全的需求,在重症监护室(ICU)的工作与生俱来充满挑战。我们过去在对插管患者进行具有挑战性的肺炎研究并设计针对患者招募和保留而优化的方案方面具有丰富经验,这些经验可能会为您派上用场。在ICU之外,我们还可以帮助您采用分散的试验解决方案,例如eConsent、ePRO、eCOA和远程医疗技术,再加上我们位于美国的患者服务中心和全球家庭健康服务,因此可以减少现场访视的频率并收集富有价值的患者数据,从而帮助做出决策。

科文斯与LabCorp提供的综合全面支持从未显得如此重要。从药物筛选到诊断再到交付,我们的使命是加快上市速度。我们共同面临着这一切——我们正在与这场大流行作斗争以造福患者。患者无法等待, 我们也无法等待。


更新日期:4/3/2020

科文斯首席执行官、医学博士Paul Kirchgraber致辞

对于全世界的每个国家而言,眼下都是一个充满挑战的时期。我们认识到,我们的客户和合作伙伴正在全球范围内努力适应新的信息和新的现实。我代表公司领导团队,对科文斯和我们的母公司LabCorp在应对冠状病毒(COVID-19)的危机中挺身而出感到自豪。我想花一点时间让大家了解我们在几个关键领域所做的工作:

保护员工、客户、患者和动物的健康:我们最关心的是员工、患者、客户和动物的安全。我们将继续遵循美国疾病预防控制中心、世界卫生组织和地方政府的指导方针,并在可行的情况下开展远程办公,同时根据需要安排必要员工在现场办公。为了保护这些员工,我们在各个研究中心加强了健康和安全规程。

确保我们正在进行的研究和计划的连续性:除非当地法规强制要求,否则所有科文斯研究中心都将正常开展工作。我们已在所有服务领域实​​施了严格、详细的业务连续性计划,并继续有效地管理我们的供应链。我们将继续尽可能发起新的研究,并密切关注COVID-19对时间安排和可交付成果的影响。 

针对我们的临床药理学小组,我们做出了艰难的决定,将新的研究组推迟大约8周入组。我们的诊所依然开放和运营,继续开展正在进行的研究。其中一个重要例外是,我们承诺支持在健康的志愿者中展开新的COVID-19治疗或预防研究。 

扩大对COVID-19检测的获取:LabCorp正在与白宫冠状病毒特别工作组、美国疾病预防控制中心、行业合作伙伴以及其他领先的卫生机构密切合作,以扩大美国的COVID-19检测。自3月初启动首次检测以来,我们现在每天可以进行超过20,000次检测,预计检测能力会继续提高。我们的LabCorp Diagnostics员工正致力于验证并启动其他检测方案。在科文斯中心实验室,我们正在验证多种COVID-19检测方法——这些检测的时间取决于关键成分的供应情况。

齐心协力研发疫苗和治疗方法:我们在抗病毒药物和疫苗方面拥有丰富经验,并且正在与生物制药客户合作研发预防和治疗解决方案。我们还成立了科文斯COVID-19“老虎队”,这支创新的跨职能团队旨在帮助将COVID-19的潜在新疗法更快、更有效地投入临床试验。该团队将充当科文斯所有服务和产品的门户。您可能也已经看到有关我们与Microsoft和Adaptive Biotechnologies合作开展虚拟临床试验以确定对COVID-19免疫反应的最新公告。   

在像这样充满挑战的时期,我们将共同对抗隐形的敌人——科文斯和LabCorp很荣幸能与您并肩作战。我们将继续致力于在我们所有的服务领域以及全球范围内交付产品。我们的使命一直很简单——改善健康、改善生活。在朝着这一使命努力的过程中,我们将继续为您——我们的客户提供支持。


2020年3月13日

自今年年初以来,科文斯及其母公司LabCorp一直在密切关注全球COVID-19动向,并每天更新业务连续性计划。我们谨遵疾病控制和预防中心 (CDC)、世界卫生组织 (WHO) 以及其他国家和全球卫生组织的最新指南。我们在应对COVID-19的传播中扮演着全球领导者的角色,包括我们最近在美国推出LabCorp Diagnostics COVID-19测试试剂盒。

我们想向您保证,我们将继续致力于保持业务连续性,同时还要保护患者、员工和我们的合作客户。

我们将员工及其家人、我们服务的患者和客户以及我们生活和工作所在社区的健康和幸福放在第一位。我们认识到情况正在发生变化,并且已经采取了一些积极措施来降低风险,同时保持业务连续性,其中包括:

  • 遵守我们开展业务的所有国家/地区的政府旅行建议,并制定决策矩阵以确定必要差旅旅行
  • 在适当的情况下提供灵活的工作安排,以最大程度地执行工作
  • 启动业务连续性计划,以灵活、可靠地履行我们的承诺
  • 与研究中心合作,以在研究中心内外提供适当的临床护理
  • 规划药品供应应急措施(IMP和非IMP)

我们目前正在评估COVID-19对时间安排和商品交付的潜在影响,这些影响可能会因我们服务的产品和地区而异。我们还将继续发起从早期研发到IV期的新研究,并且我们的中心实验室将全面投入运营。

在这个前所未有的关键时期,我们致力于继续坚守改善健康和改善生活的使命。 


档案

Coronavirus (COVID-19) Updates

Updated: 4/17/2020

From Paul Kirchgraber, MD, CEO, Covance

In the fight against COVID-19, we believe that patients can’t wait, and neither can we. We’re here to partner with you to accelerate much needed treatment options across the world. We can offer a unique combination of solutions that blend Covance and LabCorp’s drug development and diagnostic capabilities. To best support your path ahead in this rapidly evolving environment, here’s how we can work together to help you achieve your goals and ultimately meet patients’ urgent needs: 

  1. Together, we can deliver unprecedented acceleration: Every day counts for a new COVID-19 assay, vaccine or therapeutic. Accelerating your development and reaching patients faster requires a highly coordinated team. We’ve mobilized dedicated COVID-19 Response Teams to help connect you to the right people and regulatory authorities to expedite your development.
  2. Together, we can create a highly collaborative partnership: As an example, a unique partnership approach has already proven successful with Ridgeback Biotherapeutics testing an antiviral drug. Our COVID-19 Response Teams mapped out this client’s clinical development program, connected with regulatory authorities, aligned the drug supply and recruited volunteers for the First-in-Human study – in just 14 business days. This level of speed and collaboration is truly amazing and needed in the relentless pursuit of a breakthrough.   
  3. Together, we can seamlessly integrate cross-functional expertise for your end-to-end development: Each handoff point in your process can add risk and impact your timeline. We’re here to provide rapid transition between phases, from discovery and preclinical to development and commercialization. Whether you need support with molecule screening, formulation, assay development, patient recruitment or management of clinical trials, you can extend your team’s scientific and medical expertise and generate new insights to make more informed decisions. No other organization can offer this breadth of coordinated services or match the global reach of Covance and LabCorp.
  4. Together, we can reach patients directly and enable focused recruiting with proprietary LabCorp patient data: Flexibility, nimbleness and unparalleled patient access are essential for COVID-19 testing and drug development. Our proprietary LabCorp data can help you anticipate the next hot spot, refine your recruitment strategies in near real time and provide enhanced visibility into current COVID-19 test patterns and patient clusters. You can also improve your patient recruitment efforts with Patient Direct, our unique database of consented, pre-screened patients who meet specific inclusion/exclusion criteria, drawn from LabCorp testing of approximately 20% of the people who have been tested for COVID-19 in the U.S. In addition to faster recruitment, LabCorp and Ciox Health Real World Data division are working closely on a comprehensive U.S.-based COVID-19 patient data registry. The registry will store curated, HIPAA-compliant de-identified data sets and can be used to gain rapid insights from real-world data to enhance epidemiological and clinical research and ultimately improve outcomes for COVID-19 patients.  
  5. Together, we can apply patient-centric practices to enhance safety in a challenging trial setting: Working in an intensive care unit (ICU) is inherently difficult due to the complexities of patients’ conditions and the need to ensure the safety of both patient and healthcare providers. You can apply our past experience running challenging pneumonia studies with intubated patients and designing protocols that are optimized for patient recruitment and retention. Outside of the ICU, we can also help you employ decentralized trial solutions, such as eConsent, ePRO, eCOA and telemedicine technology, that together with our U.S.-based patient services centers and global home health services, can reduce the frequency of on-site visits and gather valuable patient data to inform decision making.

The combined, comprehensive support that Covance and LabCorp can offer has never been more important. Spanning discovery to diagnosis to delivery, we’re on a mission to increase your speed to market. We’re all in this together – and we’re fighting this pandemic to make a difference for patients. Patients can’t wait. Neither can we.


Updated: 4/3/2020

From Paul Kirchgraber, MD, CEO, Covance

These are challenging times in every country around the world. We recognize that our clients and partners are working across the globe adapting to new information and new realities. Speaking on behalf of my leadership team, I am proud of how Covance – and our parent company, LabCorp – have stepped up to respond to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) crisis. I wanted to take a moment to let you know how we are working to address several key areas:

Protecting the health of employees, clients, patients and animals: Our utmost concern is the safety of our employees, patients, customers and animals. We continue to follow U.S. CDC, WHO and local government guidelines and have implemented remote working wherever practical, while maintaining essential employees on site as needed. To protect those employees, we have introduced enhanced health and safety procedures across our sites.

Ensuring the continuity of our ongoing studies and programs: All Covance sites remain operational, unless restricted by local mandates. We have implemented rigorous, detailed business continuity plans across all service lines and continue to manage our supply chain effectively. We continue to initiate new studies where possible and are closely monitoring the impact of COVID-19 on timelines and deliverables. 

With regard to our Clinical Pharmacology group, we have made the difficult decision to delay entry of new study cohorts into the units for approximately 8 weeks. Our clinics remain open and operational, continuing to work on studies that are in progress. An important exception to this action is our commitment to support new studies intended to treat or prevent COVID-19 with healthy volunteers. 

Expanding availability of COVID-19 tests: LabCorp is working closely with the White House Coronavirus Task Force, the U.S. CDC, industry partners and other leading health authorities to expand COVID-19 testing in the United States. Since launching our first test in early March, we are now able to perform more than 20,000 tests per day and expect capacity to continue to grow. Our LabCorp Diagnostics colleagues are working continuously to validate and launch additional test options. In our Covance central laboratory, we are validating several different assays for COVID-19 testing – the timing for these assays will depend on availability of key components.

Developing vaccines and therapies through the power of our combined capabilities: We have deep experience in antiviral drugs and vaccines and are working with our biopharmaceutical clients to develop both prevention and treatment solutions. We have also established a Covance COVID-19 “Tiger Team,” an innovative, cross-functional team to help get potential new treatments for COVID-19 into clinical trials more quickly and efficiently. This team will serve as a gateway to all the services and offerings Covance provides. You may have also seen the recent announcement of our work in conjunction with Microsoft and Adaptive Biotechnologies in a virtual clinical trial to identify immune responses to COVID-19.   

In challenging times like these, we stand together to combat an invisible enemy – and Covance and LabCorp are proud to stand with you. We remain committed to delivering across all of our service lines and across the globe. Our mission has always been simple – to improve health and improve lives. We will continue to support you, our clients, as we work toward this mission.


March 13, 2020

Covance and its parent company LabCorp have been monitoring the global COVID-19 pandemic since the beginning of this year and is updating business continuity plans daily. We are keeping abreast of updated guidance from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the World Health Organization (WHO), and other national and global health organizations. We have taken a global leadership role in addressing the spread of COVID-19, including our recent launch of the LabCorp Diagnostics COVID-19 testing kits in the United States.

We want to assure you that we remain committed to business continuity while also protecting patients, employees and our client partners.

We prioritize the health and well-being of our employees and their families, of the patients and customers we serve and of​ the communities in which we live and work. We recognize that the situation is evolving and have already taken several proactive steps to mitigate risk while maintaining business continuity, including:

  • Adherence to governmental travel advice for all countries in which we operate with creation of a decision matrix for determining essential travel
  • Providing flexible work arrangements where appropriate that maximize work execution
  • Activating business continuity plans to enable flexible and dependable delivery of our commitments
  • Collaborating with sites to provide access to adequate clinical care either on or off-site
  • Contingencies planned for medication availability (IMP and non-IMP)

We are currently assessing the potential impact of COVID-19 on timelines and deliverables which may vary across our service offerings and regions. We also continue to initiate new studies from Early Development through Phase IV and our Central Labs are fully operational.

We are committed to continuing our mission to improve health and improve lives during these critical and unprecedented times. 


file