科文斯新产品:zPREDICTA®的重建骨(r-Bone)是一种基于骨板的3 D培养检测方法,可模拟见于骨髓瘤、急性骨髓性白血病和实体瘤转移的肿瘤微环境。

联系我们

为了提供关于肿瘤细胞在体内如何对受试药品产生反应的更具反应性的模型,需要在体外​​概括肿瘤生长和增殖的组织生理学。此过程可以使用zPREDICTA支持癌症细胞长期培养的器官特异性三维(3D)基质完成。科文斯和zPREDICTA基于zPREDICTA专有的3D细胞培养平台,共同研发出肿瘤特异性3D模型,用于生物制药行业的临床前测试和研究。本技术聚焦重点介绍了重建骨骼(r-Bone)模型的特征。

骨髓内肿瘤细胞的生长是血液系统恶性肿瘤的普遍现象。因此,人骨髓瘤细胞系RPMI 8226NCI-H929和U266B1被用于概念验证研究。如图1所示,U266B1人骨髓瘤细胞单独在生长培养基(2D)或在r-Bone基质中培养了4天。尽管2D培养基迅速长满了细胞,并且细胞保持了以单个细胞悬浮液为特征的形态,但r-Bone 3D培养基支持细胞聚集体的生成,而细胞聚集体则扩散成更大的细胞团,具有更高的肿瘤形态代表性。在研究人员的较小干预下,这些培养基可以长期维持。 

图1:U266B1人骨髓瘤细胞的2D和重建骨(r-Bone)3D培养基对比
图1:U266B1人骨髓瘤细胞的2D和重建骨(r-Bone)3D培养基对比

 

图2展示了r-Bone培养基和接种了转移性乳腺癌细胞的离体骨髓的冷冻电子显微镜图像。骨髓基质的空间和物理结构在r-Bone细胞外基质(ECM)中得到维持。  r-Bone ECM可将肿瘤细胞与间充质干细胞、成纤维细胞、淋巴样、髓样和CAR-T细胞共同培养。

暴露于受试药物后,可以从基质中分离细胞,并通过适当的下游应用程序进行分析,例如流式细胞术、RNASeq或原位成像。随着96和384孔测定法得到成功研发,诸如CellTiter-Glo®等细胞毒性测定可以高通量形式展开。该平台与所有经过测试的药品类别兼容,包括生物制剂和小分子。

图2:r-Bone细胞外基质结构与离体组织没有区别
图2:r-Bone细胞外基质结构与离体组织没有区别

 

图3:硼替佐米是多发性骨髓瘤的标准治疗药物2。在r-Bone中培养NCI-H929、RPMI 8226和U266B1细胞4天之后,加入硼替佐米,并将细胞再培养4天。(A)加入CellTiter-Glo®试剂,并使用Cytation 3成像板读数器(Biotek Instruments)进行发光定量。相对于媒介物处理的孔(n = 每浓度3个孔)对四参数非线性曲线拟合分析进行了归一化。(B)用媒介物(0.5% DMSO)或20nM硼替佐米处理的r-Bone培养基中的U266B1细胞的代表性图像。红色箭头指示暴露72小时后细胞团中死亡或垂死细胞。

图3:硼替佐米对r-Bone培养基中骨髓瘤细胞增殖的抑制
图3:硼替佐米对r-Bone培养基中骨髓瘤细胞增殖的抑制

 

r-Bone测定法是一个用于在体外研究多种血液系统恶性肿瘤以及实体肿瘤转移(例如乳腺癌和前列腺癌向骨基质转移)的潜在平台。

zPREDICTA自2014年起提供定制的肿瘤特异性3D细胞培养模型,并且与科文斯开展合作以来一直在积极研发多种器官特异性基质,以扩大科文斯临床前肿瘤产品的范围。 

当前正在对重建小鼠乳房(r-mBreast)和人乳房(r-Breast)、肺(r-Lung)和前列腺(r-Prostate)进行表征和研发。这些模型将带来在平台上对受试药物进行早期筛选的新机会,该平台可以更紧密地模拟体内组织的微环境,而无需预先投资动物研究。在早期药物筛选工作中,应考虑使用高通量3D测定法筛选目标化学制剂库的潜在可能。

有关如何将这些3D模型检测方法应用于您的临床前肿瘤学和免疫肿瘤学研究的更多信息,请与科文斯临床前肿瘤学科学家联系。

参考资料

1.  Edmondson R、Broglie JJ、Adcock AF、Yang L。三维细胞培养系统及其在药物筛选和细胞传感器中的应用。 《Assay Drug Dev Technol》。2014;12(4):207-218。

2.  面向专业人士的硼替佐米专题文章。Drugs.com。2019年10月13日检索。

A New Covance Offering: zPREDICTA®’s Reconstructed Bone (r-Bone), plate-based, 3-dimensional (3D) culture assay that mimics the tumor microenvironment found in myeloma, acute myelogenous leukemia and solid tumor metastasis.

Contact Us

In order to provide a more reflective model of how tumor cells would respond to test agents in vivo, the tissue physiology where the tumor grows and proliferates needs to be recapitulated in vitro. This process has been accomplished using zPREDICTA’s organ-specific three-dimensional (3D) matrices that support long-term culture of carcinoma cells. Covance and zPREDICTA have worked together to develop tumor-specific 3D models, based on zPREDICTA’s proprietary 3D cell culture platform for preclinical testing and research studies in the biopharmaceutical industry. This tech spotlight highlights the characteristics of the Reconstructed Bone (r-Bone) model.

Growth of tumor cells within the bone marrow is a common phenomenon in hematologic malignancies. Thus, human myeloma cell lines RPMI 8226, NCI-H929, and U266B1 were utilized in proof-of-concept studies. As shown in Figure 1, U266B1 human myeloma cells were cultured in growth medium alone (2D) or in r-Bone matrix for 4 days. While the 2D culture becomes quickly overgrown and the cells maintain a morphology characterized by a single cell suspension, the r-Bone 3D culture supports the development of cell aggregates which proliferate into larger clusters more representative of tumor morphology. These cultures can be maintained for long periods with minor intervention by the researcher. 

Figure 1: 2D vs Reconstructed Bone (r-Bone) 3D culture of U266B1 human myeloma cells
Figure 1: 2D vs Reconstructed Bone (r-Bone) 3D culture of U266B1 human myeloma cells

 

Figure 2 shows cryo-electron microscopic images of r-Bone culture and ex vivo bone marrow seeded with metastatic breast cancer cells. The spatial and physical architecture of bone marrow stroma is maintained in the r-Bone extracellular matrix (ECM).  The r-Bone ECM allows for co-culture of tumor cells with mesenchymal stem cells, fibroblasts, lymphoid, myeloid, and CAR-T cells.

Cells can be isolated from the matrix after test agent exposure and analyzed by an appropriate downstream application, such as flow cytometry, RNASeq, or in situ imaging. Cytotoxicity assays such as CellTiter-Glo® can be performed in a high throughput format with the successful development of both 96 and 384-well assay formats. The platform is compatible with all drug classes tested, including biologics and small molecules.

Figure 2: Extracellular matrix architecture of r-Bone is indistinguishable from ex vivo tissue
Figure 2: Extracellular matrix architecture of r-Bone is indistinguishable from ex vivo tissue

 

Figure 3: Bortezomib is a standard of care agent for the treatment of multiple myeloma2. After 4-day culture of NCI-H929, RPMI 8226, and U266B1 cells in r-Bone, bortezomib was added and the cells were returned to culture for an additional 4 days. (A) CellTiter-Glo® reagent was added and luminescence was quantified using a Cytation 3 imaging plate reader (Biotek Instruments). Four parameter nonlinear curve fitting analysis was normalized against the vehicle treated wells (n = 3 wells per concentration). (B) Representative images of U266B1 cells in r-Bone culture treated with vehicle (0.5% DMSO) or 20nM bortezomib. The red arrows indicate dead or dying cells in the cell clusters after 72hr exposure.

Figure 3: Bortezomib inhibition of myeloma cell proliferation in r-Bone culture
Figure 3: Bortezomib inhibition of myeloma cell proliferation in r-Bone culture

 

The r-Bone assay is a potential platform for studying multiple hematologic malignancies in vitro as well as the investigation of solid tumor metastasis, like breast and prostate carcinomas to the bone matrix.

zPREDICTA has provided customized tumor-specific 3D cell culture models since 2014 and has been actively developing numerous organ-specific matrices to broaden the Covance preclinical tumor offerings since we've been working together. 

Reconstructed mouse breast (r-mBreast) and human breast (r-Breast), lung (r-Lung), and prostate (r-Prostate), are currently being characterized and developed. These models will represent new early opportunities to screen test agents in a platform that will more closely mimic in vivo tissue microenvironments without investing in animal studies upfront. The potential to screen targeted chemical libraries in a high throughput 3D assay should be considered in early discovery efforts.

For more information on how these 3D model assays can be applied to your preclinical oncology and immuno-oncology research, contact the scientists at Covance Preclinical Oncology.

References

1.      Edmondson R, Broglie JJ, Adcock AF, Yang L. Three-dimensional cell culture systems and their applications in drug discovery and cell-based biosensors. Assay Drug Dev Technol. 2014;12(4):207–218.

2.      Bortezomib Monograph for Professionals. Drugs.com. Retrieved 13 October 2019.