科文斯即将更名为Labcorp药物研发

作为一家全球性公司,我们致力于为千百万人的福祉共同创新,持续为您带来更先进的医学突破。

NCI-H1975-Luc and PC-9-Luc: two models for evaluating brain metastases from non-small cell lung cancer

日期:2021年3月

作者:Erin Trachet, BS | 科学发展副总监

肺癌经常转移到身体的其他部位。大脑是最危险的转移部位之一,转移到大脑会大大缩短预期寿命。不幸的是,这些转移很常见。初次诊断为非小细胞肺癌(NSCLC)的患者中,多达7%的患者大脑中已有癌细胞,而20%至40%的NSCLC患者会在疾病进展过程中发生这种并发症。脑转移发生在4期肺癌中。4期肺癌预后较差,预期寿命通常不足一年1。当前,没有针对脑转移的靶向疗法,而且血脑屏障可能对许多细胞毒性药物和基于抗体的疗法造成生理阻抗。外科手术切除和/或放疗是最常用的治疗方法,但生存期的总体增幅较小(约4-6个月),治疗后的生活质量也可能非常差2。显然,对于这种毁灭性疾病,需要更有效的治疗方法。文献揭示,极少的临床前肿瘤学模型可促进对存在原发肿瘤的情况下转移性脑病的评估。认识到这一需求之后,科文斯临床前肿瘤学部门(PCO)开发出两种异种移植模型,不仅可以通过直接颅内植入治疗转移性脑病,而且还可以将其与皮下“原发性”肿瘤相结合,以有效地评估两个部位对治疗的反应。

此外,同时评估两个植入部位靶向疗法的药代动力学和/或药效学(PK / PD)十分重要。靶向疗法治疗可能具有明显不同的渗透率和吸收率,这将改变任一组织的PK/PD评估。鉴于大脑中独特的环境以及血脑屏障呈现的阻抗,两个部位之间的比较可以成为评估治疗对已确定的转移性疾病和原发性肿瘤影响的有力工具。

PCO已优化两种人类非小细胞肺癌细胞系的双重疾病诱导参数:NCI-H1975-luc和PC-9-luc。两种细胞系均已用荧光素酶转染,以通过生物发光成像(BLI)监测颅内植入细胞的疾病进展。皮下的“原发性”肿瘤被屏蔽以防止信号重叠。在所有涉及动物的研究中,所有研究方案均根据动物福利法规在通过AAALAC认证的研究中心执行,并经过IACUC协议审查和批准。

NCI-H1975-Luc

NCI-H1975-Luc源自一名女性非吸烟者。该细胞系因其EGFR-L858R/T790M突变状态而受到研究界的关注。50-60%的NSCLC患者中发现了T790M获得性突变,这些患者对已批准的EGFR抑制剂产生抗性。因此,该模型适用于评估下一代EGFR抑制剂,例如与EGFR结合的化合物(无论发生哪些突变变化),或不可逆结合的化合物。NCI-H1975-luc的EGFR表达谱使其成为双重植入方法的目标模型,因为它可以评估EGFR靶向小分子的血脑屏障渗透性。这种评估可以通过多种方式进行。传统疗效基于对转移性脑病的BLI监测,再加上对皮下肿瘤的卡尺测量和/或转移灶与原发肿瘤相比的药效动力学和药代动力学分析,以评估药物浓度是否不同。在这两种情况下,都可以将转移性脑病反应与“原发性”皮下肿瘤反应进行比较。

与该模型的历史肿瘤生长一致,皮下肿瘤体积倍增时间约为7天,通常在植入后约25天达到评估尺寸(约900mm3)(图2)。一如预期,这种模型在颅内植入时同样可靠,BLI计算的肿瘤体积倍增时间为1.6天(图1和图像1)。

图1A:NCI-H1975-Luc转移性疾病进展平均BLI信号
图2A:NCI-H1975-Luc平均原发性(SC)肿瘤生长

图1A:NCI-H1975-Luc转移性疾病进展平均BLI信号

图2A:NCI-H1975-Luc平均原发性(SC)肿瘤生长

图像1:NCI-H1975-Luc转移性脑病进展的代表性图像

图像1:NCI-H1975-Luc转移性脑病进展的代表性图像

PC-9-Luc

PC-9-Luc于1989年分离自一名男性肺腺癌患者。据称,PC-9-Luc对吉非替尼和其他EGFR酪氨酸激酶抑制剂非常敏感。然而据显示,PC-9-Luc细胞长时间暴露于EGFR抑制剂可导致获得性T790M突变和细胞系出现耐药性。PC-9-Luc模型在评估T790M突变的演变、预防突变的潜在治疗方法或细胞系出现耐药性后的治疗方法方面很有价值。与NCI-H1975-Luc细胞系相似,科文斯开发了双重植入参数,可用于评估原发性肿瘤和转移性脑病。

与该模型的历史肿瘤生长一致,皮下肿瘤体积倍增时间约为4天,通常在植入后约20天达到评估尺寸(约1000mm3)(图4)。一如预期,该模型在颅内植入时同样可靠,其BLI计算的肿瘤体积倍增时间为2.6天(图3和图像2)。

图3:PC-9-Luc转移性疾病进展的平均BLI信号;图4:PC-9-Luc平均原发性(SC)肿瘤生长

图3:PC-9-Luc转移性疾病进展的平均BLI信号

图4:PC-9-Luc平均原发性(SC)肿瘤生长

图像2:PC-9-Luc转移性脑病进展的代表性图像

图像2:PC-9-Luc转移性脑病进展的代表性图像

联系科文斯科学家,索取完整的细胞系列表,或者进一步了解如何将我们的皮下、转移和原位模型以及我们的光学成像服务应用于您的临床前研究。


参考资料


1 Ho Jeong Lee、† Masaki Hanibuchi、† Sun-Jin Kim、† Hyunkyung Yu、Mark Seungwook Kim、Junqin He、Robert R. Langley、François Lehembre、Urs Regenass和Isaiah J. Fidler。马西替(一种内皮素受体的双重拮抗剂)与紫杉醇联合治疗小鼠实验性人乳腺癌和肺癌脑转移。Neuro Oncol. 2016年4月;18(4): 486-496。

2Cairncross JG、Kim JH、Posner JB。放射疗法治疗脑转移瘤。Ann Neurol. 1980;7(6):529-541。

 
请注意,所有动物护理和使用均根据动物福利法规在AAALAC认可的研究中心进行,并经过IACUC协议审查和批准。

让我们开始对话

联系我们

NCI-H1975-Luc and PC-9-Luc: two models for evaluating brain metastases from non-small cell lung cancer

Date: March 2021

Author: Erin Trachet, BS | Associate Director, Scientific Development

Lung cancer frequently metastasizes to other parts of the body. One of the most dangerous areas it can travel to is the brain, significantly reducing life expectancy. Unfortunately, these metastases are common. Up to 7% of people already have cancer cells in the brain when they are first diagnosed with non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC), and 20% to 40% of those with NSCLC will develop this complication during disease progression. Brain metastases occur in stage 4 lung cancer. Stage 4 lung cancer has a poor prognosis, with life expectancy usually being under a year1. Currently there are no targeted therapies specific for brain metastases, and the blood-brain barrier can pose a physiologic impediment to many cytotoxic drugs and antibody-based therapies. Surgical tumor resection and/or radiotherapy are the most used forms of treatment, but the overall increase in survival is small (~4-6 months) and the quality of life following the treatment can be very poor2. Clearly, more effective treatments are needed for this devastating disease. The literature reveals very few preclinical oncology models that facilitate the assessment of metastatic brain disease in the presence of a primary tumor. In recognition of this need, Preclinical Oncology (PCO) at Covance has developed two xenograft models to not only address metastatic brain disease via a direct intra-cranial implant, but also couples this with a subcutaneous “primary” tumor to effectively allow the evaluation of the response to treatment at both locations.   

Furthermore, being able to assess the pharmacokinetic and/or pharmacodynamics (PK/PD) of targeted therapies in both implant locations at the same time is important. Treatment with targeted therapies could have significantly different penetration and absorption rates which will alter PK/PD assessment across either tissue. Given the unique environment in the brain and the obstacle that the blood brain barrier presents comparison across the two location can be a powerful tool to assess the impact of treatment on established metastatic disease and primary tumor.  

PCO has optimized the dual disease induction parameter for two human non-small cell lung carcinoma cell lines; NCI-H1975-luc and PC-9-luc. Both cell lines have been transfected with luciferase to allow for bioluminescence imaging (BLI) to monitor the disease progression for the cells implanted intra-cranially.  The subcutaneous “primary” tumors are shielded to prevent overlapping signals. In all studies that involved animals, protocols were conducted according to animal welfare regulations in an AAALAC-accredited facility with IACUC protocol review and approval.

NCI-H1975-Luc

NCI-H1975-Luc was established from a female non-smoker. This cell line is of interest to the research community because of its EGFR-L858R/T790M mutational status. The T790M acquired mutation is found in 50-60% of NSCLC patients that become resistant to approved EGFR inhibitors. Therefore, this model is suitable for evaluating next generation EGFR inhibitors, such as compounds that bind to EGFR regardless of the mutational changes that have occurred, or compounds that bind irreversibly. The EGFR expression profile of NCI-H1975-luc has made it a model of interest for the dual implant method because it allows for the assessment of blood brain barrier penetration of an EGFR targeted small molecule. This evaluation can be done multiple ways; traditional efficacy based on BLI monitoring of the metastatic brain disease coupled with caliper measurements of the subcutaneous tumors and/or pharmacodynamic and pharmacokinetic analysis of the metastatic lesion compared to the primary tumors to assess if drug concentration is different. In either scenario the metastatic brain disease response can then be compared to the “primary” subcutaneous tumor response.

Consistent with the historical tumor growth for this model, the subcutaneous tumor volume doubling time is about 7 days and typically reaching evaluation size (~900mm3) in approximately 25 days post implant (Figure 2). As expected, the model is just as reliable when implanted intra-cranially, with a BLI calculated tumor volume doubling time of 1.6 days (Figure 1 and Image 1).

Figure 1A: NCI-H1975-Luc Mean BLI Signal for Metastatic Disease Progression
Figure 2A: NCI-H1975-Luc Mean Primary (SC) Tumor Growth

Figure 1A: NCI-H1975-Luc Mean BLI Signal for Metastatic Disease Progression

Figure 2A: NCI-H1975-Luc Mean Primary (SC) Tumor Growth

Image 1: NCI-H1975-Luc Representative Images of Metastatic Brain Disease Progression

Image 1: NCI-H1975-Luc Representative Images of Metastatic Brain Disease Progression

PC-9-Luc

PC-9-Luc was isolated from a male lung adenocarcinoma patient in 1989. PC-9-Luc has been reported to be very sensitive to gefitinib and other EGFR tyrosine kinase inhibitors. However, it has been shown that prolonged exposure of PC-9-Luc cells to EGFR inhibitors can result in the acquisition of the T790M mutation and a resistant cell line. The PC-9-Luc model is valuable when evaluating the evolution of the T790M mutation, potential treatments for preventing the mutation, or treatment following the establishment of the resistant cell line. Similar to the NCI-H1975-Luc cell line, Covance has developed the dual implant parameters that allow for the evaluation of both the primary tumor and metastatic brain disease.

Consistent with the historical tumor growth for this model, the subcutaneous tumor volume doubling time is about 4 days and typically reaches evaluation size (~1000mm3) in approximately 20 days post implant (Figure 4). As expected, the model is just as reliable when implanted intra-cranially, with a BLI calculated tumor volume doubling time 2.6 days (Figure 3 and Image 2). 

Figure 3: PC-9-Luc Mean BLI Signal for Metastatic Disease Progression; Figure 4: PC-9-Luc Mean Primary (SC) Tumor Growth

Figure 3: PC-9-Luc Mean BLI Signal for Metastatic Disease Progression

Figure 4: PC-9-Luc Mean Primary (SC) Tumor Growth

Image 2: PC-9-Luc Representative Images of Metastatic Brain Disease Progression

Image 2: PC-9-Luc Representative Images of Metastatic Brain Disease Progression

Contact the scientists at Covance to request the full cell line list or to learn more about how our subcutaneous, metastatic and orthotopic models, coupled with our optical imaging services, can be applied to your preclinical research.


References


1 Ho Jeong Lee,† Masaki Hanibuchi,† Sun-Jin Kim,† Hyunkyung Yu, Mark Seungwook Kim, Junqin He, Robert R. Langley, François Lehembre, Urs Regenass, and Isaiah J. Fidler. Treatment of experimental human breast cancer and lung cancer brain metastases in mice by macitentan, a dual antagonist of endothelin receptors, combined with paclitaxel. Neuro Oncol. 2016 Apr; 18(4): 486–496.

2Cairncross JG, Kim JH, Posner JB. Radiation therapy for brain metastases. Ann Neurol. 1980;7(6):529–541.

 
Note: Please note that all animal care and use was conducted according to animal welfare regulations in an AAALAC-accredited facility with IACUC protocol review and approval.

Let's start a conversation

Contact Us