内分泌干扰物

作物保护

内分泌干​​扰物(ED)是一种干扰人体内分泌系统并产生不良影响的物质。这些不良影响可能影响发育、生殖、神经功能或免疫系统,从而影响个体动物、种群和生态系统。全球各地越来越多的监管机构要求对表明某种物质可能引起内分泌干扰的终点进行评估。 

科文斯一直处于ED测试的最前沿,在欧洲、美国和世界各地监管机构相关的ED测试方法的采用和验证方面处于领先地位。通过增强在科学和法规领域保持领先的能力与实力,您当前和未来的需求将得到满足。与我们开展合作,让我们帮助您攻克ED测试在科学、技术和法规方面的复杂难题。

ED_image
  • 将战略科学方案与法规洞察相结合以优化ED测试,并使我们能够立足于强大的证据,建立令人信服的法规论证
  • 凭借广泛的体外和体内测试能力,提供全球监管机构(包括EPA、EFSA和ECHA)所接受的稳定可靠的数据
  • 尖端技术可解决与甲状腺激素分析有关的棘手问题

您的需求:

内分泌干​​扰物(ED)方案在计划、运行和解读方面可能存在技术挑战

ED筛查测试的开展和解读可能具有挑战性。法规终点因监管机构而异,并且在不断发展。若要优化测试方案的性价比和效率,您需要高水平的技术专长和出色的科学洞见。明智的研究设计可最大程度地提高数据价值,并减少ED测试方案中的繁冗工作。但是,要找到具有合适的专业知识和能力的合作伙伴可能是一个挑战。

制定条理清晰的论证以说服监管机构可能很困难

仅对结果进行分类还不够,您还需要以监管机构要求的方式来解释计算机模拟、体外和体内ED数据。

可靠的分析方法(尤其是甲状腺激素测量方法)尚未推广

ED测试的一大挑战是在非常低的浓度下准确测量甲状腺激素水平。许多ED检测方法都需要测量胎儿或幼崽中的血清甲状腺激素T3和T4。在此类幼小动物中,甲状腺激素水平可能处于较低的pg/mL水平。这是标准分析方法的检测极限,而标准分析方法会破坏测试结果的可靠性。您需要一个有能力测量如此低水平甲状腺激素的合作伙伴。

与内分泌干扰物终点有关的历史对照数据

若要有效地解读ED测试结果,您需要将它们与对照数据进行比较。最好的比较数据是多年来收集的历史数据。对于某些新的终点(例如甲状腺激素水平)而言,此类历史数据可能无法获取或不可靠。 


我们的能力

设计符合您需求的最佳ED测试策略

科文斯可以灵活地与您合作,以帮助阐明并满足您的需求。借助从在欧盟和美国的多次申报中获得的ED测试洞见,我们的专家可以利用他们的相关知识为您提供支持。无论您是需要有关ED测试策略的科学指导,还是只是一组高标准的ED测试,我们都可以为您提供帮助。点击下方链接了解我们的ED测试能力以及如何将其应用于全球所有监管机构: 

 

支持您跨越与内分泌干扰物有关的复杂法规雷区

利用法规专家、科学家、分析化学家和数据建模人员的经验和洞见,建立重要的证据论据以支持您的物质的ED概况。通过采取综合方法,科文斯可提出能够经受住监管审查的科学论据。在此处查找有关我们所提供的全面支持的更多信息: 

尖端的甲状腺激素测量技术

科文斯自主研创出一种方法,该方法可灵敏而准确地评估较低pg/mL浓度的甲状腺激素T3和T4。该技术涉及UHPLC-MS/MS的使用,并且已被广泛应用于需要进行甲状腺功能评估的一系列OECD和EPA研究中。通过提供可靠且可证实的甲状腺激素结果,克服ED筛查的常见障碍。科文斯可向我们的合作伙伴提供这种行业领先的创新技术。

可靠的历史数据对照支持对结果的验证

科文斯在1990年代开始从事内分泌干扰物测试。这使我们能够积累专业知识、洞见、技术和历史数据集,让您可以从中受益。我们的历史数据集对于甲状腺激素测定尤其重要,并反映了我们在ED测试领域的创新。

Endocrine Disruptors

Crop Protection

An endocrine disruptor (ED) is a substance that interferes with the body’s endocrine system producing adverse effects. These adverse effects may influence development, reproduction, neurological function or the immune system – impacting individual animals, populations and ecosystems. Regulators across the globe increasingly require assessment of endpoints that signal a substance’s potential to cause endocrine disruption. 

Covance has been at the forefront of ED testing, leading the field in the adoption and validation of ED testing approaches relevant to regulatory authorities in Europe, the US and around the world. By building capabilities and capacity that stay ahead of the scientific and regulatory curve, your current and future needs are catered for. Partner with us and let us help navigate you through the scientific, technical and regulatory complexity of ED testing.

ED_image
  • A strategic scientific approach combined with regulatory insight optimizes ED testing and allows us build compelling regulatory arguments from a strong evidence base
  • Extensive in vitro and in vivo testing capabilities deliver robust and credible data acceptable to regulators around the world including the EPA, EFSA and ECHA
  • Cutting-edge techniques answer the most challenging questions related to thyroid hormone analysis

Your Needs:

Endocrine disruptor (ED) programs can be technically challenging to plan, run and interpret

ED screening tests can be challenging to conduct and interpret. Regulatory endpoints vary between regulators and are constantly evolving. To optimize the value and efficiency of your testing program you need high levels of technical expertise and excellent scientific insight. Informed study design maximizes the value of your data and reduces redundancy in your ED testing program. However, finding appropriate expertise and capacity can be a challenge.

It can be difficult to craft coherent arguments that win over regulators

It’s not enough to catalogue your results, you need to interpret your in silico, in vitro and in vivo ED data in a way that’s relevant to regulators.

Reliable analytics, especially for thyroid hormone measurement, are not widely available

A major challenge in ED testing is the accurate measurement of thyroid hormones levels at very low concentrations. Many ED assays require the measurement of serum thyroid hormones T3 and T4 in fetuses or pups. In such young animals, thyroid hormone levels may be in the low pg/mL level. This is at the detection limits of standard analytical approaches, which undermines the reliability of your test results. You need a partner who has this capability to measure such low levels.

Historic control data relevant to endocrine disruptor endpoints

To interpret the results from ED tests effectively you need to compare them to control data. The optimum comparator is to historic data gathered over years. For some new endpoints, like thyroid hormone levels, such historic data may not be available or may be unreliable. 


Our Capabilities

Designing the optimum ED testing strategy matched to your needs

Covance can partner with you in a flexible way to help clarify and address your needs. With ED testing insight gained from multiple EU and US submissions, our experts can leverage their knowledge to support you. Whether you need scientific guidance on an ED testing strategy or simply a set of ED tests run to high standards, we can help. Click the link below to explore our ED testing capabilities and how they can be utilized for all global regulators: 

 

Supporting you through the complex regulatory minefield related to endocrine disruptors

Leverage the experience and insights of regulatory experts, scientists, analytical chemists and data modellers to build weight of evidence arguments supporting your substance’s ED profile. By taking an integrated approach, Covance can make scientific arguments that stand up to regulatory scrutiny. Find out more about the comprehensive support on offer here: 

Cutting-edge techniques in thyroid hormone measurement

Covance has pioneered an in-house method that is sensitive and accurate for assessing thyroid hormones T3 and T4 down to low pg/mL concentrations. The technique involves the use of UHPLC-MS/MS and it has been widely applied to a range of OECD and EPA studies requiring thyroid function assessment. This overcomes a common barrier to ED screening by providing reliable and verifiable thyroid hormone results. Covance can offer this innovative and industry-leading technique to our partners.

Reliable historic data controls support verification of your results

Covance started working in endocrine disruptor testing in the 1990s. This has enabled us to build expertise, insight, techniques and historic data sets that you can benefit from. Our historic data sets are especially important for thyroid hormone assays and reflect our innovation in this area of ED testing.