发育和生殖毒理学(DART)

化学测试

有充分的证据表明某些化学物质会影响动物的性功能、生育能力和发育。随着科学知识和技术的进步,监管机构要求提供根据3R(替代(Replacement)、减少(Reduction)、提炼(Refinement))从尽量减少动物使用的研究中得出的新型数据。因此,发育和生殖毒理学(DART)仍然是一个不断发展的领域,受到持续的公众监督。 

档案

为DART带来清晰说明和后勤保障

  • 超过40年的发育和生殖毒理学经验,积累了重要的科学洞见、经过验证的技术和全面的历史数据集。
  • 利用庞大而经验丰富的团队的专业知识,成功取得研究成果。该团队由研究主管、高级科学家、行为专家、专门的生殖毒性动物技术人员、生殖尸检专家和胎儿病理学家组成。
  • 通过AAALAC认证的尖端设施具有较高的动物福利标准,可确保您研究的完整性和可靠性。

 

您的需求

DART研究时间长、复杂且成本高昂,因此您需要仔细规划 

DART研究通常需要多组成体和后代以及各种各样的终点。诸如OECD 443之类的更复杂的研究具有额外的育种阶段,这可以由在研究过程中观察到的效应触发,从而进一步提高研究的复杂性。您将在DART研究上投入大量资金,因此您需要对能够满足法规要求的可靠结果充满信心。

某些终点难以可靠测量,而且缺乏历史数据集也难以解释

DART研究可能需要行为学、组织病理学、解剖学和化学终点。您需要一支经过验证的团队,具备必要的专业知识、设施和设备,以开展这些评估。后代和胎儿分析可能存在难度,因为化学检测方法必须检测幼年动物体内的低浓度物质。这对于内分泌干扰物终点的甲状腺激素检测尤其成问题。 此外,重要的是要确保较新的测试(例如内分泌干扰物终点)具有历史对照。

DART研究可能会带来令人头痛的后勤问题

DART研究非常复杂,因为它们涉及动物的交配以及多组成体和后代的管理。由于配对期间的交配日期有所不同,DART研究的后勤可能无法预测。研究开始可能需要几天时间,并且涉及与交配和产仔相关的测试需求高峰。这可能会导致您在研究过程中面临严重的资源挑战。

 


 

我们的能力

简化您的DART流程,以提升化学品通过法规申报的成功概率

我们理解DART研究对您的化学品取得商业成功的重要性。我们将与您合作,以经济高效的方式帮助您满足所有DART法规要求。这意味着要利用我们的研究主管和监管专家的科学创造力和战略洞察力来设计和规划联合研究方案。我们的研究规划专家和专业的生殖毒理学动物技术人员将高效地执行您的研究,并遵循较高的动物福利和GLP标准。无论您的DART需求如何,科文斯都能为您量身定制适合您的解决方案。

 

凭借组织病理学、行为测试和化学分析方面的专业知识提供可靠、可验证的数据

我们在组织病理学、动物行为和分析方面的专业知识意味着我们的团队具备检测所有DART终点的能力,并能够对其进行分析。作为多种DART评估(例如甲状腺激素分析)的领导者,我们的科学见解和创新方法将让您受益。

高质量的DART研究可提供可靠的研究结果

我们敬业的团队可以开展一系列DART研究,其中包括:

  • OECD 414:产前发育毒性研究
  • OECD 421:生殖/发育毒性筛选试验
  • OECD 422:结合重复剂量毒性研究与生殖/发育毒性筛选试验
  • OECD 416:两代生殖毒性
  • OECD 443:一代生殖毒性扩展研究(EOGRTS)

 

组织病理学能力 交配评估和行为能力 化学分析能力
  • 胎儿病理学,包括威尔逊切片和显微切割技术、骨和软骨染色
  • 计算机辅助精子评估(CASA)
  • 专业神经病理学和大脑形态测量
  • 男女生殖器官的专科病理学
  • 广泛、经过验证的行为测试
  • 专职的专家团队负责监测发情周期、交配和生育能力
  • 甲状腺激素检查(T3,T4)
  • TSH

Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology (DART)

Chemical Testing

There is well established evidence that some chemicals can impact the sexual function, fertility and development of animals. As scientific knowledge and technology advance, regulators demand new types of data derived from studies that minimize animal use in line with the 3Rs— Replacement, Reduction, Refinement. Developmental and reproductive toxicology (DART) is therefore still an evolving field which is under constant public scrutiny. 

file

Bringing clarity and logistical excellence to DART

  • Over 40 years’ experience in developmental and reproductive toxicology, building vital scientific insights, validated technologies and comprehensive historic datasets.
  • Leverage the expertise of a large and experienced team of study directors, senior scientists, behavioral specialists, specialized reprotoxicology animal technicians, repro necropsy specialists and fetal pathologists to deliver study success.
  • State-of-the-art, AAALAC-accredited facilities with high animal welfare standards ensuring the integrity and reliability of your studies.

 

Your Needs

DART studies are long, complex and expensive, so you need to plan them carefully 

DART studies often need multiple groups of adults and off-spring and a large range of varied endpoints. More complex studies, like OECD 443, have additional breeding phases that can be triggered by effects observed during the conduct of the study which adds to the already complicated nature of the study. You will be investing a lot in DART studies, so you need to be confident of reliable outcomes that will satisfy regulatory requirements.

Some endpoints are difficult to measure reliably, and lack of historic datasets makes interpretation difficult

Behavioral, histopathological, anatomical and chemical endpoints can be required for DART studies. You need a validated team with the necessary expertise, facilities and equipment to conduct these assessments. Analytics in offspring and fetuses can be difficult as chemical assays must detect the low concentrations that occur in young animals. This is especially problematic for thyroid hormone testing for endocrine disruptor endpoints. In addition, it is important to ensure Historical Control is available for newer tests like endocrine disruptor endpoints.

DART studies can give you logistical headaches

DART studies are complex because they involve the mating of animals and management of multiple groups of adults and offspring. As the day of mating during the pairing period varies, DART study logistics can be unpredictable. The study start may span several days and involve peaks in test requirements related to peaks in mating and littering. This can cause you serious resource challenges over the course of a study.

 


 

Our Capabilities

Simplifying your DART journey to optimize the regulatory success of your chemical

We understand the importance of DART studies to the commercial success of your chemical. We’ll work in partnership with you to help you meet all your regulatory DART requirements in a cost-effective way. That means using the scientific creativity and strategic insight of our study directors and regulatory experts to design and plan joined-up study programs. Our expert study planners and specialized reprotoxicology animal technicians will execute your study efficiently and to high animal welfare and GLP standards. Regardless of your DART needs, Covance can help tailor a solution suited to you.

 

Specialist expertise in histopathology, behavioral testing and chemical analytics delivers reliable, verifiable data

Our expertise in histopathology, animal behavior and analytics, means our team is equipped and capable of assaying all DART endpoints. As leaders in many DART assessments, for example, thyroid hormone analytics, you’ll benefit from our scientific insight and innovative approaches.

High quality DART studies delivering reliable study outcomes

Our dedicated teams can conduct a suite of DART studies including:

  • OECD 414: Prenatal developmental toxicity study
  • OECD 421: Reproduction/developmental toxicity screening test
  • OECD 422: Combined repeated dose toxicity study with the reproduction/developmental toxicity screening test
  • OECD 416: Two-generation reproduction toxicity
  • OECD 443: Extended one-generation reproductive toxicity study (EOGRTS)

 

Histopathological capabilities Mating assessments and behavioral capabilities Chemical analytic capabilities
  • Fetal pathology including Wilson’s sectioning and microdissection techniques, staining for bone and cartilage
  • Computer-assisted sperm assessment (CASA)
  • Specialist neuropathology and morphometric measurements of the brain
  • Specialist pathology of male and female reproductive organs
  • Extensive, proven behavioral testing
  • Dedicated team of experts involved in monitoring of oestrous cycles, mating performance and fertility
  • Thyroid hormone tests (T3, T4)
  • TSH