药物警戒自动化

尽管使用药物警戒自动化技术来实现转型的概念适用于业务的各个方面,但我们所处的阶段要求创新技术必须与时俱进,并实现引人注目的业务主张。

考虑到药物警戒(PV)系统的战略作用以及越来越多的安全性数据源和AE报告,技术解决方案已成为安全性运营中的重要组成部分。如果各公司能够认识到整合颠覆性新技术的重要性,并运用这些技术从根本上转变药物安全性的进展,他们将在管理产品安全性和保持经济效益方面取得更大成功。

网络播客:


利用自动化开辟前进的道路

PV自动化工具涵盖从基础到机器人过程自动化,再到认知和人工智能(图1)的广泛范围,其提供的广泛技术解决方案可用于在整个PV过程中提高运营效率。科文斯了解这些自动化工具的益处以及我们的客户可如何利用这些工具。

PV自动化路线图

图1 - 科文斯 PV自动化工具与路线图

工作流程的基本自动化涉及任务的自动跟踪和监控,并实现连续的指标采集(例如文献跟踪工具、工作流程管理)。

科文斯的文献跟踪工具是一个综合的文献摘要库,可跟踪整个文献监控工作流程。它提供了实时仪表板,并支持通过指向整页原文的链接在线查看摘要。

案例处理辅助工具(C-PAT)是一款高度可定制的机器人过程自动化(RPA)工具,用于辅助将案例数据输入到Argus、ARISg或任何自定义数据库中。该工具可以自动为结构化的源文档输入案例数据,并确保提高质量和效率。此外还可以作为一个平台实现一键案例处理,涉及从案例获取到案例提交的单轮手动交互。

我们的收件处理辅助工具(I-PAT)可完成案例处理的所有收件活动。这需要在两个系统上进行三级重复搜索、解析信息并自动将数据输入来自源文档结构化字段的数据库。信息采集自消费者呼叫中心、社交媒体和其他面向消费者的平台,并由我们的全球案例管理团队使用。

医学评审辅助工具将自动化过程提高到了认知自动化一级。它可支持医学审查员或安全性医师审查安全性源文档和其他安全性数据。该工具运用自然语言处理功能来帮助识别药物事件对,同时利用现有的医学术语分类,例如《药事管理的标准医学术语集》(medDRA)和《世界卫生组织药物字典》(WHODD)。

人工智能由工具和系统组成,这些工具和系统能够在利用诸如机器学习和深度学习等人工智能技术处理不断增长的安全性数据时进行自我学习和自我训练。将这种AI工具与RPA及认知计算相结合,有望以最少的人工干预或无人工干预实现端到端自动化。

运营效益

  • 预期效率提高达50%,通过提高生产率显著节省成本
  • 高度可定制且独立于数据库
  • 通过标准化输入提高质量
  • 100%合规且周转时间缩短(TAT)
  • 自动化案例受理和案例处理

战略优势

  • 通过应用适当的数据和系统互操作性标准来整合安全数据,实施最佳实践和技术概念(包括工作流程管理技术)以确保适当的透明度和可访问性,并运用针对性自动化增强PV,实现PV流程和安全性数据管理的标准化和自动化
  • 主动PV和风险最小化:通过实施数据挖掘技术加强安全性分析、报告和调查,以识别和预测正在出现的安全性信号。更快的信号判定、报告和管理可提供实时安全性摘要,从而促进及时了解整个产品组合的安全性风险,并及时采取措施,将安全性风险降至最低。
  • 与监管机构、处方医生及患者进行公开透明的数据共享将建立公众的信任和信心,鼓励整个行业进一步开放,并促进对替代产品的公正比较。这将增进信赖与合作,并最终减少ADR

Pharmacovigilance Automation

While the notion of using pharmacovigilance automation technology to enable transformation applies to all aspects of business, we are at a stage where innovative technology is a necessity to be relevant and enable a compelling business proposition.

Given the strategic role of pharmacovigilance (PV) systems and the growing numbers of safety data sources and AE reports, technology solutions are already a vital cog in safety operations. Companies that recognize the importance of integrating newer, disruptive technologies and use them to fundamentally alter the drug safety continuum will see greater success in managing the safety of their products and maintaining cost-effectiveness.

Podcast:


Forging the Path Forward with Automation

PV automation tools range from basic to robotic process automation, to cognitive and artificial intelligence (Figure 1), offering a wide variety of technology solutions that can be utilized to drive operational efficiencies across the PV continuum. At Covance, we understand the benefits that these automation tools offer and how our clients can take advantage of them.

The PV automation roadmap

Figure 1 – Covance PV Automation Tools and Roadmap

Basic Automation of a process workflow involves automatic tracking and monitoring of tasks and enables continuous metrics collection (e.g. literature tracking tool, workflow management).

The Literature Tracking Tool from Covance is a comprehensive repository for literature abstracts and tracks the entire literature monitoring workflow. It provides real time dashboards and enables online review of the abstracts with links to the original full page article.

The Case Processing Assist tool (C-PAT) tool is a highly customizable Robotic Process Automation (RPA) tool for assisted case data entry into Argus, ARISg or any custom database. It automates case data entry for structured source documents and ensures improved quality and efficiency. It also serves as a platform to attain one touch case processing involving a single round of manual interaction from case intake through case submission.

Our Intake Processing Assist Tool (I-PAT) tool completes all in-take activities for case processing. This entails a three level duplicate search on two systems, parsing the information & automated data entry in to the database from the structured fields of the source documents. The information is collected from consumer call centers, social media and other consumer facing platforms and is used by our Global Case Management team.

The Medical Review Assist tool takes the automation process one level up to Cognitive Automation. It supports the medical reviewer or safety physician in reviewing safety source documents and other safety data. The tool applies natural language processing to help identify drug event pairs while leveraging existing medical terminology classifications such as Medical Dictionary for Regulatory Activities (medDRA) and World Health Organization Drug Dictionary (WHODD).

Artificial Intelligence consists of tools and systems that leverage artificial intelligence technologies like machine learning and deep learning to self-learn and self-train as they process a growing volume of safety data. Such AI tools coupled with RPA and cognitive computing hold the promise of end to end automation with minimal or no human intervention.

Operational Benefits

  • Significant cost savings via enhanced productivity with expected efficiency gains of up to 50%
  • Highly customizable and database agnostic
  • Improved quality through standardized inputs
  • 100% regulatory compliance and faster turnaround time (TAT)
  • Automated case intake and case processing

Strategic Benefits

  • Standardization and automation of PV processes and safety data management through integration of safety data by application of appropriate data and system interoperability standards, implementation of best practices and technological concepts including work flow management technology to ensure appropriate transparency and accessibility of safety information and targeted automation for enhanced PV.
  • Proactive PV and risk minimization to identify and predict emerging safety signals by implementation of data mining techniques to bolster safety analytics, reporting and investigation. Faster signal adjudication and reporting and management provides real-time safety summaries, promoting timely awareness of safety risks across the portfolio and timely execution of safety risk minimization activities.
  • Open and transparent data sharing with regulators, prescribers and patients will build public trust and confidence, encourage greater openness across the industry, and promote impartial comparisons of alternative products. This will drive more trust, collaboration and ultimately fewer ADRs