Image d'arrière-plan Covance

Services

Essais cliniques

Travaillons ensemble pour proposer des solutions innovantes centrées sur le patient qui redéfinissent les possibilités du développement de médicaments. Découvrez comment accélérer le recrutement des patients et optimiser la conception du protocole tout en réduisant la charge pour le patient, ce qui augmentera la rétention.

Femme en train d'utiliser un ordinateur portable

On en parle en ce moment

Connaissance des patients : concevoir des essais cliniques à l'époque du COVID-19

À l'ère du COVID-19, les patients ne peuvent pas attendre l'arrivée sur le marché de nouveaux vaccins et médicaments. C'est pour cela que même dans cette période difficile, Covance s'attache plus que jamais à comprendre la perspective des patients sur la participation aux essais cliniques. Alors que la distanciation est la nouvelle norme sociale, le besoin de comprendre les modifications des préférences associées à l'intérêt à participer à un essai clinique doit être pris en compte au moment de l'élaboration des protocoles.

Lire la suite
photo du virus du COVID-19

On en parle en ce moment

Développement clinique dans le traitement de la NASH pendant la pandémie de COVID-19

La pandémie de COVID-19 est à l'origine de défis sans précédent pour le développement clinique. Les restrictions sur les déplacements, la distanciation sociale et la peur d'attraper la maladie empêchent de réaliser les essais de façon conventionnelle. En règle générale, les visites de routine des patients et les visites de contrôle dans les établissements de santé sont désormais l'exception, les coordinateurs des études et le personnel des sites sont de plus en plus sollicités et, dans certains cas, les licenciements ont rendu certains sites incapables de poursuivre leurs activités habituelles. Pour aider à assurer la sécurité des patients tout en permettant aux essais d'avancer, les autorités réglementaires du monde entier ont publié des lignes directrices pour le secteur, les investigateurs et les comités d'examen institutionnels.

Lire la suite
photo d'une doctoresse rencontrant une patiente

On en parle en ce moment

LabCorp accélère l'adoption des essais cliniques décentralisés et développe son écosystème de technologies en faisant alliance avec Medable

LabCorp, l'un des leaders mondiaux des sciences de la vie bénéficiant d'une implantation solide dans le domaine des soins aux patients, a annoncé aujourd'hui que Covance, son entreprise de développement de médicaments, développe son écosystème de technologies pour accélérer l'adoption des essais cliniques décentralisés, souvent appelés essais cliniques hybrides ou virtuels. Covance développe son écosystème de technologies d'essais décentralisés grâce à une alliance avec Medable, un fournisseur de logiciels de premier plan dans le domaine des essais cliniques numériques.

Lire la suite

En chiffres

Au cours des 5 dernières années, les services de développement clinique de Covance ont travaillé dans les domaines suivants :

3 800

Études

64 000

Études d'investigateurs

660 000

Patients

photo d'un docteur

Article principal

Essais cliniques décentralisés – De bonnes pratiques pour concevoir un protocole flexible et résilient

Alors que les promoteurs du développement de médicaments incorporent des éléments centrés sur le patient dans leurs plans d'étude classiques, plusieurs facteurs doivent être pris en compte pendant la phase de planification de l'essai clinique. Qu'il s'agisse de télémédecine, de services infirmiers mobiles, de soutien de laboratoire, de centres de services aux patients, de gestion de produits expérimentaux ou d'une combinaison de ces éléments, il est important d'élaborer une stratégie opérationnelle qui permette une certaine souplesse et qui tienne compte de la surveillance complète de chaque point de connexion entre les patients, les fournisseurs de services et le promoteur.

Lire la suite

Avez-vous des questions ?

  • Qu'est-ce qu'un FSP, fournisseur de services fonctionnels ?

    FSP est le sigle de « functional service provider » (fournisseur de services fonctionnels) et consiste à fournir des solutions globales personnalisées qui permettent aux clients de gérer efficacement leur portefeuille d'essais cliniques. Il s'agit notamment de mettre en place des personnes de qualité, des processus intelligents et une expertise technique approfondie pour travailler directement aux activités d'un client. Un nombre croissant d'entreprises biotechnologiques et pharmaceutiques se tournent vers ce modèle pour réduire leurs frais et rendre leurs opérations plus simples et efficaces. Covance FSPx® est un fournisseur de services fonctionnels de confiance qui vous propose des solutions personnalisables avec une collaboration étroite et un engagement en matière de qualité. En savoir plus sur le FSP.

  • Que sont les essais cliniques décentralisés, les essais cliniques virtuels et les essais cliniques hybrides ?

    Le besoin de passer d'une approche centralisée à un modèle d'essai clinique davantage centré sur le patient est à l'origine d'innovations qui allègent la charge pour le patient en réduisant les déplacements nécessaires, puisque davantage de services peuvent être réalisés chez les patients ou près de chez eux, et qui incorporent de nouvelles façons d'identifier et de recruter les participants aux essais. Cette approche a d'abord été appelée « essais virtuels », pour signifier que les centres investigateurs n'y jouent qu'un rôle mineur, mais le secteur pharmaceutique s'est vite rendu compte que la plupart des essais auraient besoin d'une approche hybride, qui inclut à la fois les technologies traditionnelles et les innovations. À présent, on désigne généralement ce genre d'essais sous le nom d'essais cliniques décentralisés ou ECD. Nous proposons un écosysteme centré sur le patient de ressources aux emplacements pratiques, toutes connectées par une plateforme technologique unique. Un exemple d'ECD est notre solution qui relie les centres de services aux patients de LabCorp aux États-Unis, des partenariats internationaux avec des pharmacies réputées, ainsi que des fournisseurs de services de prélèvements sanguins et de soins infirmiers à domicile, avec une plateforme technologique de pointe. Nous pouvons associer le recrutement des patients par centre avec une communication directement tournée vers les patients sur le Web. En savoir plus sur les ECD.

  • À quel moment faut-il penser aux essais de phase IV lors du développement d'un médicament ?

    Les essais de phase IV sont menés dans le « monde réel ». C'est pour cette raison qu'ils peuvent compléter, et dans certains cas, remplacer les essais de phase III. Si votre médicament est pour une maladie rare, orpheline ou potentiellement mortelle ou dans le cas où un essai de phase III serait considéré comme peu éthique, un essai de phase IV peut être préférable pour les autorités réglementaires. Pour les thérapies cellulaires et géniques avancées, les essais de phase IV et les études de suivi au long terme doivent être envisagés. En savoir plus sur les essais de phase IV.

  • Comment est-il possible d'associer des études/essais de phase IV avec des essais de phase IIIb pour explorer de nouvelles indications ?

    Explorer de nouvelles indications pour des produits déjà autorisés exige de recueillir suffisamment de données de sécurité et d'efficacité pour satisfaire les autorités réglementaires. Selon l'indication visée, une étude de phase IV peut être suffisante pour générer les données de vie réelle nécessaires. Cependant, lorsque des recherches plus approfondies sont nécessaires, un essai clinique de phase IIIb ou un essai de phase IV peuvent s'avérer indispensables. Notre objectif est d'optimiser l'efficacité en travaillant avec vous pour déterminer l'approche la plus adaptée à votre produit et à l'indication visée.

  • Comment Covance utilise-t-elle des données exclusives pour améliorer les résultats des études cliniques ?

    • Seule Covance associe l'une des principales sources de résultats de laboratoire anonymisés au monde et des données sur les patients avec des données sur les investigateurs de la majorité des essais cliniques internationaux qui fournissent des renseignements pour améliorer l'efficacité du développement clinique des médicaments.
    • Les données de LabCorp : en utilisant les données de vie réelle des laboratoires cliniques anonymisées de plus de 150 millions de patients, nous pouvons estimer quelles populations répondent aux critères d'éligibilité de votre protocole et modéliser précisément l'impact des critères d'inclusion/exclusion du protocole sur le nombre de patients pouvant participer.
    • Données de laboratoire central de Covance : Covance génère plus de données d'essais cliniques que n'importe qui d'autre dans le monde. Nos données exclusives internationales nous permettent de prédire les performances futures des investigateurs et leur capacité à mener plusieurs études.
    • Patient Direct : nous avons accès à ~150 millions de patients et disposons d'une base de données en pleine expansion de personnes qui nous ont autorisé à les contacter directement pour participer à des essais cliniques. En savoir plus.

  • Qu'est-ce que la solution de pharmacologie clinique intégrée de Covance ?

    Le développement de médicaments est un parcours complexe dans lequel il n'est pas toujours facile de progresser. Dans l'environnement actuel, avec des médicaments et des cibles toujours plus complexes, il est essentiel de penser au-delà de l'unité pharmacologique clinique classique afin d'optimiser le développement en phase clinique précoce. Une plateforme de développement intégrée, qui inclut les ressources, les expériences, l'expertise et les infrastructures nécessaires pour concevoir et exécuter des études cliniques précoces est une solution efficace pour limiter les risques. Une équipe multidisciplinaire qui comprend le marché et la molécule peut concevoir une stratégie réglementaire et un plan de développement clinique précoce qui vise à déterminer efficacement s'il vaut la peine ou non de continuer à développer un médicament candidat. L'utilisation efficace de la plateforme intégrée permet de déterminer si le médicament atteint ou non des degrés suffisants dans le compartiment physiologique concerné, s'il interagit avec la cible visée comme prévu et s'il a des effets secondaires imprévus ou gênants. Ceci demande de plus en plus, non seulement une expertise solide en pharmacologie clinique, mais aussi l'accès à des tests de biomarqueurs et à un personnel de gestion de projet capable de guider un protocole sereinement, qu'il s'agisse de cohortes de volontaires sains dans une unité de pharmacologie clinique ou de cohortes de patients sur plusieurs sites d'investigation. En savoir plus sur la pharmacologie clinique.

Informations Covance

Consultez la documentation pour en savoir plus sur notre secteur d'activité.

S'abonner

Suivez les actualités les plus récentes de Covance

En savoir plus

SERVICES

Clinical Trials

Let’s partner to deliver patient-centric, innovative solutions that redefine the possibility of drug development. Learn how to accelerate patient recruitment and optimize protocol design while reducing patient burden and increasing retention.

Trending Topics

A Transformational Approach to Clinical Trials

LabCorp Transforms the Clinical Trial Experience to Streamline its Drug Development Process

Company goes beyond decentralized clinical trials to deliver seamless tech-enabled, patient-centric enterprise solutions. LabCorp now offers a comprehensive and fully integrated patient, site, and customer experience for DCTs.

Blog

Patient Intelligence: Designing Clinical Trials in the COVID-19 Era

In the age of COVID-19, patients can't wait for new vaccines and therapies to come to the market. That is why even in these challenging times, Covance has been focused more than ever on understanding the patient perspective on clinical trial participation. As social distancing has become the new normal, the need to understand changes in preferences associated with interest in trial participation should be taken into account when developing protocols.

Webinar

NASH Clinical Development During the COVID-19 (Coronavirus) Pandemic

The COVID-19 pandemic has brought unprecedented challenges in clinical development. Travel restrictions, social distancing and the fear of contracting the disease are impeding conventional trial conduct. Typically, routine patient and monitoring visits to healthcare facilities are now the exception, study coordinators and site staff have increased demands on their time and, in some cases, layoffs have rendered some sites incapable of continuing as usual. To help keep patients safe and allow trials to progress, regulatory authorities worldwide have issued guidance for industry, investigators and institutional review boards.

News

LabCorp Accelerates Adoption of Decentralized Clinical Trials, Expands Technology Ecosystem Through Alliance with Medable

LabCorp, a leading global life sciences company that is deeply integrated in guiding patient care, today announced that Covance, its drug development business, is expanding its technology ecosystem to accelerate the adoption of decentralized clinical trials, often referred to as hybrid and virtual clinical trials. Covance is expanding its decentralized trials technology ecosystem through an alliance with Medable, a leading software provider for digital clinical trials.

By the Numbers

3,800 Studies
64,000 Investigator Studies
660,000 Patients

Covance Clinical Development Services activity during the last 5 years.

Featured Article

Decentralized Clinical Trials – Best Practices for Designing a Flexible, Resilient Protocol

As drug development sponsors are incorporating patient-centric elements into their traditional clinical trial designs, there are several factors to consider during the study planning phase. Whether using telemedicine, mobile nursing services, laboratory support, patient service centers, investigational product management or a combination of these elements, it is important to develop an operational strategy that allows for flexibility and accounts for complete oversight of each connection point between patients, service providers and the sponsor.

Have Questions?

  • What is an FSP?

    FSP stands for functional service provider and is about delivering customized global solutions that enable clients to efficiently manage their clinical trial portfolio. This includes putting quality people, intelligent processes, and deep technical expertise in place to work directly on a client’s business. An increasing number of pharmaceutical and biotech companies are turning toward this model to decrease their overhead and make their operations leaner and more efficient. Covance FSPx® is the functional service provider you can rely on to deliver customizable solutions through strong collaboration and commitment to quality. Learn more about FSP.

  • What are Decentralized Clinical Trials, Virtual Clinical and Hybrid Clinical Trials?

    The need to transition from a site-centric approach to a more patient-centric clinical trial model led to innovations that reduce patient burden by reducing the amount of travel needed, allowing more services to be performed at or near the patients’ homes and incorporate new ways of identifying and enrolling trial participants. First called “virtual trials,” meaning investigator sites would play little role, the industry rapidly learned that most trials would involve a hybrid approach, including both traditional and novel technologies. Now this spectrum of trials is usually termed “Decentralized Clinical Trials” or DCT for short. We deliver a patient-centric ecosystem of conveniently located resources all connected by a single technology platform. An example of a DCT model is our solution that includes connecting LabCorp’s U.S.-based Patient Service Centers, global partnerships with reputable retail pharmacies, as well as home health phlebotomy and nursing service providers, with a best-in-class technology platform. We can pair site-based patient recruitment with web-based direct-to-patient outreach. Learn more about DCTs.

  • When should Phase IV trials be considered for drug development?

    Phase IV trials are conducted “in the real world.” As such, they can complement, and in certain circumstances, replace Phase III trials. If your drug is for a rare/orphan indication, a life-critical condition or where a Phase III trial would be considered unethical, a Phase IV trial may be preferable for regulators. For advanced cell and gene therapies, Phase IV trials and accompanying long-term follow-up studies should be considered. Learn more about Phase IV trials.

  • How can Phase IV studies/trials, and Phase IIIb trials be combined to explore new indications?

    Exploring new indications for previously approved products requires an appropriate level of safety and efficacy data to be collected to satisfy regulators. Depending upon the target indication, a Phase IV study may suffice to generate the real-world evidence (RWE) needed. However, where more thorough investigation is required, a Phase IIIb clinical trial or a Phase IV trial may be required. Our aim is to maximize efficiency by working with you to determine the most appropriate approach for your product and target indication.

  • How does Covance utilize proprietary data to improve clinical study outcomes?
    • Only Covance combines one of the world’s largest sources of de-identified lab results and patient intelligence data with investigator data from the majority of global clinical trials that provide insights to increase efficiencies and effectiveness in clinical drug development.
    • LabCorp Data – using LabCorp’s real-world, de-identified clinical laboratory data on over 150 million patients, we can assess populations who meet your protocol’s eligibility criteria and accurately model the impact that the protocol inclusion/exclusion criteria will have on the patient pool size.
    • Covance Central Labs Data – Covance generates more clinical trial data than anyone else in the world. Our global proprietary data helps us predict future investigator performance and capacity to run multiple studies.
    • Patient Direct – we have access to ~150 million patients and have a rapidly growing database of people who have given us permission to reach out directly to them for participation in clinical studies. Learn more.
  • What is the Covance Integrated Clinical Pharmacology Solution?

    Drug development is a complex and challenging pathway to navigate. In today’s environment with ever more complex drugs and drug targets, it is essential to think beyond the four walls of a traditional clinical pharmacology unit in order to optimize early clinical development. An integrated development platform, including the resources, experience, expertise and infrastructure necessary to design and execute early clinical studies is an effective way of mitigating risk. A multidisciplinary team that understands the market and the molecule can devise a regulatory strategy and an early clinical development plan that aims to efficiently determine whether or not a drug candidate should continue to be developed. Effective use of the integrated platform allows for efficient determination of whether or not the drug achieves sufficient levels in the relevant physiologic compartment, whether it interacts with its intended target as anticipated and whether it has any unanticipated or otherwise untoward biological effects. Increasingly, this requires not only strong clinical pharmacology expertise, but also access to biomarker testing and project management staff that can guide a protocol seamlessly from cohorts of normal healthy volunteers in a clinical pharmacology unit to cohorts of patients at multiple investigative sites. Learn more about clinical pharmacology.

Covance Insights

How the RACE for Children Act Impacts Pediatric Oncology Drug Development
How the RACE for Children Act Impacts Pediatric Oncology Drug Development
Videos & Webinars Play Video
View this webinar to get insights spanning rare diseases, regulatory strategy, oncology and pediatric drug development. Find out about the current pediatric oncology drug development landscape and an industry-focused view of applicable regulations and the RACE for Children Act.
Read More
Mobile Health and Hybrid/Virtual Trials in Diabetes
Mobile Health and Hybrid/Virtual Trials in Diabetes
Videos & Webinars Play Video
The management landscape for Diabetes Mellitus (both Type 1 and Type 2) has changed drastically. Innovations in the mobile health technology space have allowed patients with diabetes to have improved glycemic control with more data available to them and their providers. Clinical trials in diabetes have also improved data capture, safety and accessibility using new mobile health platforms, specifically hybrid and virtual trial technology. This educational webinar will provide an overview of the mobile health technology space, highlighting current innovations and challenges. The discussion will be moderated by Dr. Barry Goldstein following presentations by Dr. Manasi Jaiman and Dr. Bola Oyegunwa.
Read More
Inflammatory Bowel Disease clinical studies and the importance of patient centricity
Inflammatory Bowel Disease clinical studies and the importance of patient centricity
Blogs
In today's exceptionally crowded clinical trial environment of inflammatory bowel disease (IBD), patient-centric practices can help your study of Crohn's disease (CD) or ulcerative colitis (UC) stand out to both patients and sites. Learn about your options to increase your trial's patient centricity, encourage recruitment and promote ongoing patient retention.
Read More
Addressing the Challenges of Data Management for Pharmaceutical and Biotechnology Companies: Introducing Laboratory FSPx
Addressing the Challenges of Data Management for Pharmaceutical and Biotechnology Companies: Introducing Laboratory FSPx
Blogs
The process of ensuring clinical trial records are accurate and fully reconciled between laboratory and clinical data sources can be a point of frustration for today's pharmaceutical and biotechnology companies. Whether the data is coming from a contract research organization (CRO), a central laboratory or third-party laboratories, the need for timely availability of clean data based on unique sponsor format/industry requirements has become extremely complex.
Read More

Subscribe now

Stay up to date with the latest news from Covance

Learn More