科文斯即将更名为Labcorp药物研发

作为一家全球性公司,我们致力于为千百万人的福祉共同创新,持续为您带来更先进的医学突破。

MDA-MB-231-luc-D3H2LN:三阴性乳腺癌研究的重要模型

日期:2016年5月

作者:Erin Trachet,肿瘤学高级科学顾问/高级提案开发经理

联系临床前肿瘤科学团队以了解更多信息。


乳腺癌是女性中最常见的非皮肤癌。1/8的女性一生中都会患上浸润性乳腺癌,其中约10-20%的女性(每10人就有超过一人)被确诊患有三阴性亚型乳腺癌(ER-、PR-和HER2)。人们对研发可以治疗这种乳腺癌的新药产生了浓厚的兴趣。遗憾的是,只有少数临床前模型可以模拟这种表达模式。

其中一个模型是MDA-MB-231人乳腺腺癌细胞系,来自一名51岁白人女性的转移部位。该模型已被证明对癌症研究界非常有价值。已生成和优化亲代细胞系(MDA-MB-231)的克隆,以在原位植入时可靠且自发地转移至肺和淋巴结。原位植入可促成自然且更具临床相关性的转移过程。

自发转移性克隆系MDA-MB-231-luc-D3H2LN也已使用萤光素酶转染。这使研究人员能够定位和监测远处转移疾病。该模型使我们的客户能够评估其测试材料对原位肿瘤的影响,以及使用生物发光光学成像(BLI)评估转移流程。当植入乳腺脂肪垫中时,科文斯已验证MDA-MB-231-luc-D3H2LN可作为一种自发转移性模型。

下图(图1和2)显示了原发性肿瘤生长(传统测径仪测量)和转移性疾病向淋巴结的进展(以光子/秒为单位的BLI信号)。BLI图像(图3)显示了原位肿瘤被屏蔽时转移至淋巴结的进程。

图1:原发乳脂垫肿瘤负荷
图2:总腋窝淋巴结荧光素酶信号
图1:原发乳脂垫肿瘤负荷
图2:总腋窝淋巴结荧光素酶信号
图3:MDA-MB-231-luc-D3H2LN乳腺脂肪垫原位植入 - 淋巴结
图3:MDA-MB-231-luc-D3H2LN乳腺脂肪垫原位植入 - 淋巴结
 

在心内注射后,Labcorp还验证了MDA-MB-231-luc-D3H2LN可作为一种转移性骨模型。MDA-MB-231-luc-D3H2LN细胞自然会生长到骨骼上。利用生物发光成像将确保注射成功,并且治疗组中的动物可表现出相等的骨肿瘤负担。这提供了更具统计意义的更严谨的数据集。此外,监测疾病进展和对BLI治疗的反应有助于在整个实验过程中进行纵向评估。

下图(图4和5)显示了疾病的进展和对标准治疗方法的反应;以及匹配的生存(发病率/死亡率)图。BLI图像(图6)显示了随时间推移对照组小鼠的疾病进展。

图4:原发乳脂垫肿瘤负荷
图2:总腋窝淋巴结荧光素酶信号
图5:寿命
图4:原发乳脂垫肿瘤负荷
图5:寿命
图6:MDA-MB-231-luc-D3H2LN心内植入 - 裸小鼠
图6:MDA-MB-231-luc-D3H2LN心内植入 - 裸小鼠
 

联系我们以获取有关我们的肿瘤学模型的更多信息,或了解Labcorp如何为您的下一项研究提供帮助。

参考资料

 
请注意,所有动物护理和使用均根据动物福利法规在AAALAC认可的研究中心进行,并经过IACUC协议审查和批准。

让我们开始对话

联系我们

MDA-MB-231-luc-D3H2LN: A valuable model for triple-negative breast cancer research

AUTHOR:

Erin Trachet Sr., Scientific Advisor, Oncology / Sr. Manager, Proposal Development

DATE:

 May 2016


Breast cancer is the most common non-skin cancer among women. One in eight women will develop invasive breast cancer during her lifetime, and about 10-20% of those women (more than one out of every 10) will be diagnosed with a triple-negative sub-type (ER-, PR- and HER2-). There is intense interest in developing new drugs that can treat this kind of breast cancer. Unfortunately, there are only a few preclinical models that mimic this expression profile.

One of these models is the MDA-MB-231 human breast adenocarcinoma cell line; which was derived from a metastatic site in a 51 year old Caucasian woman. This model has proven to be very valuable to the cancer research community. Clones of the parental line (MDA-MB-231) have been generated and optimized to reliably and spontaneously metastasize to the lungs and lymph nodes when implanted orthotopically. The orthotopic implant allows the natural and more clinically relevant process of metastasis to occur.

The spontaneously metastasizing clonal line, MDA-MB-231-luc-D3H2LN has also been transfected with luciferase; which allows researchers to locate and monitor distal metastatic disease.  This model enables our client with the ability to evaluate the impact that their test material has on the primary orthotopic tumor, as well as, the metastatic process using optical imaging with bioluminescence (BLI). Covance has validated MDA-MB-231-luc-D3H2LN as a spontaneous metastatic model when implanted in the mammary fat pad.

The graphs (Figures 1 and 2) below show the primary tumor growth (traditional caliper measurements) and the progression of metastatic disease to the lymph nodes (BLI signal measured in photons/sec). The BLI images (Figure 3) show the progression of metastasis to the lymph nodes when the primary orthotopic tumor is shielded.

Fig. 1: Primary Mamary Fat Pat Tumor Burden
Fig. 1: Primary Mamary Fat Pat Tumor Burden
Fig. 2: Total Axillary Lymph Node Luciferase Signal
Fig. 2: Total Axillary Lymph Node Luciferase Signal

Fig 3: MDA-MB-231-luc-D3H2LN Mammary Fat Pad Orthotopic Implant – Lymph Nodes

Fig 3:  MDA-MB-231-luc-D3H2LN Mammary Fat Pad Orthotopic Implant – Lymph Nodes

 

Covance has also validated MDA-MB-231-luc-D3H2LN as a metastatic bone model following an intracardiac injection. The MDA-MB-231-luc-D3H2LN cells naturally hone to the bone. Utilizing bioluminescence imaging will ensure that the injections are successful and that treatment groups can be populated with animals displaying equivalent bone tumor burden. This provides a tighter dataset with greater statistical power. Furthermore the ability to monitor disease progression and response to therapy with BLI provides a longitudinal evaluation over the duration of the experiment.

The graphs (Figures 4 and 5) below show the progression of disease and the response to standard of care; along with the matching survival (morbidity/mortality) plot. The BLI images (Figure 6) show the disease progression in the control mice over time.

Fig. 1: Primary Mamary Fat Pat Tumor Burden
Fig. 1: Primary Mamary Fat Pat Tumor Burden
Fig. 5:  Lifespan
Fig. 5: Lifespan
Figure 6:  MDA-MB-231-luc-D3H2LN Intracardiac Implantation – Nude Mice
Figure 6: MDA-MB-231-luc-D3H2LN Intracardiac Implantation – Nude Mice

 

Please contact us for more information regarding our oncology models or to find out about how Covance can help you with your next study.

 

Note: Studies were performed in accordance with applicable animal welfare regulations in an AAALAC-accredited facility