使用细胞因子/细胞毒性测试套组通过流式细胞术进行肿瘤浸润淋巴细胞的功能分析

作者:

David Draper,博士

日期:

2020年8月

促炎性细胞因子反应与颗粒酶B和CD107a(LAMP-1)的表达相结合是免疫肿瘤学领域中的重要生物标记物1-3。基于细胞的检测方法可以对这些靶标在肿瘤来源的效应淋巴细胞中的表达进行量化,从而为候选药物的作用机理提供洞见。科文斯的临床前肿瘤学小组提供了一种新的现成检测方法,该方法利用细胞因子/细胞毒性标准流式细胞术测试套组对T细胞、自然杀伤(NK)和自然杀伤T细胞(NKT)亚群中的这些终点进行定量。本技术聚焦展示了如何将Cytokine/Cytotoxicity™测试套组整合到体内研究中,并结合常规免疫表型分析,帮助在临床前药物研发过程中建立可靠的数据集。

包括IFNγ、TNFα和IL-2在内的细胞因子通过促进肿瘤微环境中先天性和适应性免疫细胞活化以及T细胞增殖而具有抗肿瘤活性。通过直接或间接机制以T细胞活化来抑制肿瘤生长的体内治疗方法通常会增加肿瘤浸润T细胞的频率,这些细胞被转变为始发态以强烈响应离体刺激。已证实NK和NKT细胞在始发态和后续的IFNγ/TNFα产生方面发生类似的作用。除了产生细胞因子外,体内治疗还可以诱导效应淋巴细胞获得增强的细胞毒性,从而通过直接的细胞间接触机制使肿瘤细胞裂解。该流程由来自免疫细胞内部储存的溶细胞颗粒的穿孔蛋白和颗粒酶的表达和释放介导。这些毒素会破坏细胞膜并诱导靶肿瘤细胞凋亡。此外,脱颗粒还与效应细胞表面的CD107a表达相吻合,因此可以用作细胞毒活性的标记物。

综合来看,可剖析上述特征以审视肿瘤微环境中淋巴细胞亚群的活化状态。细胞因子/细胞毒性测试套组通过结合使用T细胞、NK和NKT细胞特异性抗体的细胞表面免疫表型分析与细胞因子和颗粒酶B表达的细胞内染色来进行这些测量(表1)。

表1:细胞因子/细胞毒性测试套组

抗体/染料

描述

CD45

全造血系细胞标记物

CD3

泛T细胞标记物

CD4

CD4+ T细胞标记物

CD8

CD8+ T细胞标记物

CD49b/CD335

天然杀伤细胞/天然杀伤T细胞标记物

IFNγ

促炎性细胞因子

TNFα

促炎性细胞因子

IL-2*

T细胞活化剂

粒酶B

细胞毒性标记物

CD107a

脱颗粒标记物

活性染料

死细胞排除

*IL-2可用其他细胞因子替代,包括IL-4和IL-17a

 

放射和抗mCTLA-4治疗后4T1-luc肿瘤衍生效应细胞中细胞因子和颗粒酶B的分析

使用小鼠4T1-luc乳腺癌模型在该数据集中证明了细胞因子/细胞毒性测试套组测量细胞因子和颗粒酶B的效用。图1显示了用于描绘T细胞和NK细胞亚群的设门策略。与我们所有的临床前肿瘤流式细胞术测试套组一样,分析的起点为排除死细胞和随后对CD45+免疫细胞进行描绘,以鉴定目标免疫亚群(未显示)。在PPMA/离子霉素刺激后,IFNγ、TNFα、IL-2和颗粒酶B表达的代表图谱如图所示。 

图1:通过流式细胞术对淋巴细胞亚群中促炎性细胞因子和粒酶B设门
图1:通过流式细胞术对淋巴细胞亚群中促炎性细胞因子和粒酶B设门

4T1-luc肿瘤微环境具有高度的免疫抑制作用,其特征是存在大量的粒细胞髓样来源的抑制细胞浸润(未显示)。4T1-luc是已知对检查点抑制疗法有抗性的模型。但是,与小型动物放射研究平台(SARRP,Xstrahl)的放射治疗联合使用时,抗mCTLA-4会改善4T1-luc肿瘤的生长抑制(图2A,左)。与同种型对照组相比,在任何体内治疗条件下,流式细胞术均未显示肿瘤中T细胞或NK细胞计数增加,因此肿瘤生长抑制可能不是由于治疗诱导的效应细胞募集增加所致(图2A,右)。然而,PMA/离子霉素对肿瘤来源细胞的离体刺激显示,CD8+ T细胞具有更高的产生IFNγ的能力。另外,与对照组相比,NK细胞的颗粒酶B表达水平更高(图2B)。这些数据表明,放射和抗mCTLA-4联合治疗增强了CD8+ T细胞和NK细胞的活化状态。这证明了在针对功效和免疫表型的研究中纳入机制标记物的价值。

图2 - 细胞因子细胞毒性测试套组
图2:对4T1-luc模型中效应细胞的促炎性反应分析。对已形成4T1-luc肿瘤(n=6/组)的BALB/c小鼠给予抗mCTLA-4(克隆9D9)、局灶辐射(“RAD”;SARRP,Xstrahl Inc.)、两者联合或同种型对照抗体治疗。将肿瘤分离成单细胞悬液(gentleMACS™,Miltenyi Biotec),并在数据采集之前用荧光抗体标记。对于细胞因子和颗粒酶B分析,在存在布雷菲德菌素A的情况下,用PMA/离子霉素离体刺激肿瘤衍生细胞5小时。培养后,收集细胞并进行免疫染色以检测细胞内靶标。在Attune™ NxT(ThermoFisher Scientific)流式细胞仪上采集数据,然后使用Flowjo软件(BD)进行分析。

 

抗mCTLA-4治疗后CT26肿瘤衍生效应细胞中的脱颗粒分析

CD107a在脱颗粒过程中在细胞表面表达,并且是通常用于测量治疗诱导的细胞毒活性影响的标记物。细胞因子/细胞毒性测试套组用于检查抗mCTLA-4对小鼠CT26大肠癌模型中淋巴细胞的细胞毒性和肿瘤生长的影响。用抗mCTLA-4治疗的CT26荷瘤小鼠产生了74%的肿瘤生长抑制反应(图3A)。为研究细胞毒性,在用PMA/离子霉素对肿瘤衍生细胞进行离体刺激后,测量了CD8+ T细胞、NK和NKT细胞中CD107a和颗粒酶B的表达。代表表达图谱如图3B所示。分析表明,与同型对照治疗的动物相比,抗mCTLA-4治疗触发了所有三个亚群中CD107a表达的增加。这与NK和NKT细胞中颗粒酶B表达水平的降低相吻合。数据表明,在脱颗粒过程中,NK和NKT细胞中储存的颗粒酶B被耗尽。请注意,CD8+ T细胞颗粒酶B的表达在两组之间没有差异,这可能是治疗和脱颗粒率触发的颗粒酶B再次表达平衡所致。综合来看,该表型与治疗诱导的细胞毒性增强和直接杀死肿瘤细胞的潜力相一致。

图3 - 细胞因子细胞毒性测试套组
图3:CT26模型中的细胞毒性分析。向已形成CT26肿瘤(n=10/组)的BALB/c小鼠给予抗mPD-1(克隆RMP1-14)或同种型对照抗体。如上所述进行离体刺激和免疫表型测定。

 

定制 - 配置测试套组以定制细胞因子反应

细胞因子/细胞毒性测试套组已经过预先配置以测量促炎性细胞因子。该测试套组也可以定制以检测其他细胞因子反应。例如,辅助性CD4+ T细胞分化为不同的CD4+效应子表型,其中包括Th1、Th2和Th17。这些亚群在肿瘤发病机理中具有不同的作用。Th1细胞的特征在于释放的IFNγ,而Th2和Th17的特征在于产生IL-4和IL-17。细胞因子/细胞毒性测试套组可进行定制以纳入IL-4和IL-17A,从而促进对肿瘤微环境中辅助T细胞分化的治疗诱导效应进行机理分析。

如要了解有关如何将细胞因子/细胞毒性测试套组整合到临床前肿瘤学研究中的更多信息,请与科文斯的科学家联系。

请注意,所有动物护理和使用均根据动物福利法规在AAALAC认可的研究中心进行,并经过IACUC协议审查和批准。

 

1. Clynes, R. A.和Desjarlais, J. R.(2019)。癌症治疗中重定向的T细胞毒性。 《Annual Review of Medicine》70,437-450。

2. Miller, J. S.和Lanier, L. L.(2019)。癌症免疫治疗中的自然杀伤细胞。 《Annual Review of Cancer Biology》3,77-103。

3. Bae, E. A.、Seo, H.、Kim, I. K.、Jeon, I.和Kang, C. Y.(2019)。NKT细胞在癌症免疫治疗中的作用。 《Archives of Pharmacal Research》,1-6。

Functional Analysis of Tumor Infiltrating Lymphocytes by Flow Cytometry Using the Cytokine/Cytotoxicity™ Panel

AUTHOR:

David Draper, PhD

DATE:

August 2020

Pro-inflammatory cytokine responses coupled with the expression of granzyme B and CD107a (LAMP-1), are valuable biomarkers in the immuno-oncology space1-3. Cell-based assays that can quantify the expression of these targets in tumor-derived effector lymphocytes provide insights into the mechanism of action of drug candidates. Covance’s Preclinical Oncology Group offers a new off-the-shelf assay that utilizes the Cytokine/Cytotoxicity standard flow cytometry panel to quantify these endpoints in T cells, natural killer (NK) and natural killer T cell (NKT) subsets. This technology spotlight demonstrates how the Cytokine/Cytotoxicity™ panel can be incorporated into in vivo studies and, combined with conventional immunophenotyping, help build robust data sets during preclinical drug development.

Cytokines including IFNγ, TNFα, and IL-2 have anti-tumor activity by promoting innate and adaptive immune cell activation and T cell proliferation in the tumor microenvironment. In vivo therapies that inhibit tumor growth by way of T cell activation, through direct or indirect mechanisms, often increase the frequency of tumor-infiltrating T cells that are primed to respond vigorously to ex vivo stimulation. Similar effects have been demonstrated to occur in NK and NKT cells with respect to priming and subsequent IFNγ/TNFα production. In addition to cytokine production, in vivo treatment can induce effector lymphocytes to acquire heightened cytotoxic properties that enable tumor cell lysis by direct cell-to-cell contact mechanisms. This process is mediated by the expression and release of perforins and granzymes from cytolytic granules stored inside the immune cells. These toxins disrupt the cell membrane and induce apoptosis in the target tumor cell. Furthermore, degranulation coincides with the expression of CD107a on the surface of the effector cell and can thus be used as a marker for cytotoxic activity.

Together, the signatures described above can be profiled to examine the activation state of lymphocyte subsets in the tumor microenvironment. The Cytokine/Cytotoxicity panel enables these measurements by combining cell surface immunophenotyping using T cell, NK, and NKT cell-specific antibodies with intracellular staining for cytokines and granzyme B expression (Table 1).

Table 1: Cytokine/Cytotoxicity™ Panel

Antibody/Dye

Description

CD45

Pan-hematopoietic cell marker

CD3

Pan-T cell marker

CD4

CD4+ T cell marker

CD8

CD8+ T cell marker

CD49b/CD335

Natural killer/Natural killer T cell marker

IFNγ

Pro-inflammatory cytokine

TNFα

Pro-inflammatory cytokine

IL-2*

T cell activator

Granzyme B

Cytotoxicity marker

CD107a

Degranulation marker

Viability Dye

Dead cell exclusion

*IL-2 can be substituted with other cytokines including IL-4 and IL-17a

 

Analysis of Cytokines and Granzyme B in 4T1-luc Tumor Derived Effector Cells Following Radiation and Anti-mCTLA-4 Therapy

The utility of the Cytokine/ Cytotoxicity panel to measure cytokines and granzyme B is demonstrated in this data set using the murine 4T1-luc mammary carcinoma model. Figure 1 shows the gating strategy used to delineate T cell and NK cell subsets. As with all of our preclinical oncology flow cytometry panels, analysis begins with dead cell exclusion and subsequent delineation of CD45+ immune cells to identify immune subsets of interest (not shown). Representative profiles of IFNγ, TNFα, IL-2 and granzyme B expression following PMA/ionomycin stimulation are shown. 

Figure 1: Gating of pro-inflammatory cytokines and granzyme B in lymphocyte subsets by flow cytometry
Figure 1: Gating of pro-inflammatory cytokines and granzyme B in lymphocyte subsets by flow cytometry

The 4T1-luc tumor microenvironment is highly immunosuppressive and is characterized by the presence of a large granulocytic myeloid-derived suppressor cell infiltrate (not shown). 4T1-luc is a model known to be resistant to checkpoint inhibition therapies. However, when combined with radiation, delivered by the Small Animal Radiation Research Platform (SARRP, Xstrahl), anti-mCTLA-4 improves tumor growth inhibition of 4T1-luc tumors (Figure 2A, left). Tumor growth inhibition is likely not due to a treatment-induced increase in effector cell recruitment as flow cytometry does not demonstrate increased T cell or NK cell counts in the tumor following any in vivo treatment condition, when compared to the isotype control group (Figure 2A, right). However, ex vivo stimulation of tumor-derived cells with PMA/ionomycin reveal that CD8+ T cells have an enhanced capacity to produce IFNγ. In addition, NK cells express higher levels of granzyme B, compared to controls (Figure 2B). These data suggest that combined treatment with radiation and anti-mCTLA-4 enhance the activation state of CD8+ T cells and NK cells. This demonstrates the value of including mechanistic markers in studies where efficacy and immunophenotyping are being pursued.

Figure 2 - Cytokine-Cytotoxicity Panel
Figure 2: Analysis of the pro-inflammatory response in effector cells in the 4T1-luc Model. BALB/c mice with established 4T1-luc tumors (n=6/group) were dosed with anti-mCTLA-4 (clone 9D9), focal radiation (“RAD”; SARRP, Xstrahl Inc.), a combination of the two, or isotype control antibodies. Tumors were dissociated into single cell suspensions (gentleMACS™, Miltenyi Biotec), and labeled with fluorescent antibodies prior to data acquisition. For cytokine and granzyme B analysis, tumor-derived cells were stimulated ex vivo with PMA/ionomycin for 5 hours in the presence of brefeldin A. Following incubation, cells were collected and immunostained for intracellular targets. Data was acquired on an Attune™ NxT (ThermoFisher Scientific) flow cytometer and then analyzed using Flowjo software (BD).

 

Analysis of Degranulation in CT26 Tumor Derived Effector Cells Following Anti-mCTLA-4 Therapy

CD107a becomes expressed on the cell surface during degranulation and is a marker commonly used to measure treatment-induced effects on cytotoxic activity. The Cytokine/Cytotoxicity™ panel was used to examine the effects of anti-mCTLA-4 on lymphocyte cytotoxicity and tumor growth in the murine CT26 colorectal carcinoma model. CT26 tumor-bearing mice treated with anti-mCTLA-4 respond with a 74% tumor growth inhibition (Figure 3A). To examine cytotoxicity, CD107a and granzyme B expression was measured in CD8+ T cells, NK, and NKT cells following ex vivo stimulation of tumor-derived cells with PMA/ionomycin. Representative expression profiles are shown in Figure 3B. Analysis reveals that anti-mCTLA-4 treatment triggers an increase in CD107a expression in all three subsets compared to isotype control treated animals. This coincides with a decrease in granzyme B expression levels in NK and NKT cells. The data suggests that granzyme B stores in NK and NKT cells are depleted during degranulation. Note that CD8+ T cell granzyme B expression was not different between groups, perhaps because of an equilibrium in the de novo expression of granzyme B triggered by treatment and the rate of degranulation. Taken together this phenotype is consistent with a treatment-induced enhancement in cytotoxicity and potential for direct tumor cell killing activity.

Figure 3 - Cytokine-Cytotoxicity Panels
Figure 3: Analysis of Cytotoxicity in the CT26 Model. BALB/c mice with established CT26 tumors (n=10/group) were dosed with anti-mPD-1 (clone RMP1-14) or isotype control antibodies. Ex vivo stimulation and immunophenotyping were performed as described above.

 

Customization – Panel Configuration to Customize Cytokine Responses

The Cytokine/Cytotoxicity™ panel is pre-configured to measure pro-inflammatory cytokines. The panel can also be customized to examine other cytokine responses. For example, helper CD4+ T cells differentiate into different CD4+ effector phenotypes, which include Th1, Th2, and Th17. These subsets have different roles in tumor pathogenesis. Th1 cells are characterized by the release of IFNγ, whereas Th2 and Th17 can be characterized by the production of IL-4 and IL-17, respectively. The Cytokine/Cytotoxicity™ panel can be customized to include IL-4 and IL-17A to facilitate mechanistic analysis of treatment-induced effects on helper T cell differentiation in the tumor microenvironment.

To learn more about how the Cytokine/Cytotoxicity™ panel can be incorporated into your preclinical oncology research, contact the scientists at Covance.

Please note that all animal care and use was conducted according to animal welfare regulations in an AAALAC-accredited facility with IACUC protocol review and approval.

 

1. Clynes, R. A., & Desjarlais, J. R. (2019). Redirected T cell cytotoxicity in cancer therapy. Annual Review of Medicine70, 437-450.

2. Miller, J. S., & Lanier, L. L. (2019). Natural killer cells in cancer immunotherapy. Annual Review of Cancer Biology3, 77-103.

3. Bae, E. A., Seo, H., Kim, I. K., Jeon, I., & Kang, C. Y. (2019). Roles of NKT cells in cancer immunotherapy. Archives of Pharmacal Research, 1-6.