科文斯即将更名为Labcorp药物研发

We are one global company innovating for millions—together, bringing you even more advanced medical breakthroughs.

EMT6-Luc:转移性进展和治疗效果的体内监测

作者:

Sheri Barnes,博士 | 科研助理总监

日期:

2021年2月

乳腺癌是美国女性中最常见的癌症,是导致癌症死亡的第二大原因。根据美国癌症协会的统计,2020年确诊的新增病例数约为279,100,42,690例患者死亡。1早期检测和更完善的治疗方案已使5年的总生存率从1975年的75%提升到如今的90%或以上。2尽管生存统计数据良好,但转移性疾病在乳腺癌中很常见,并且通常是导致死亡的原因。因此,重要的是继续开发影响转移性疾病的乳腺癌改良疗法。

通过免疫疗法成功治疗乳腺癌仍然是一项挑战,但是新出现的临床数据令人鼓舞。3 为帮助开展乳腺癌免疫治疗的临床前研究,科文斯于2018年开发了原位EMT6同基因乳腺肿瘤模型。 EMT6模型源自BALB/c小鼠中的移植增生性肺泡转移性肺结节。4随着使用此模型生成进一步数据,我们观察到尸检时可见的肺转移灶发生在多达40%的对照小鼠中。由于转移在乳腺癌患者中很常见,利用这一发现很重要,因此生成荧光素酶EMT6细胞系(EMT6-Luc)以通过体内生物发光成像(BLI)监测胸转移。对于此项目,所有动物护理和使用均根据动物福利法规在AAALAC认可的研究中心进行,并经过IACUC协议审查和批准。

在本篇聚焦文章中,我们将通过对原始肿瘤的卡尺测量和胸腔区域的BLI测量,将最初植入乳腺脂肪垫(MFP)的EMT6-Luc模型的初始功效研究中的数据呈现出来,以监测转移性疾病的进展。图1显示了EMT6和EMT6-Luc模型的对照肿瘤生长。对于亲代和EMT6-Luc模型,MFP肿瘤的倍增时间中位数为5.5天,从而带来两至三周的治疗时间窗以引发受试药物的抗肿瘤活性。

图1. 将原位(乳腺脂肪垫)植入雌性Balb/c小鼠的EMT6 (A)和EMT6-Luc (B)的个体对照生长。
图1. 将原位(乳腺脂肪垫)植入雌性Balb/c小鼠的EMT6 (A)和EMT6-Luc (B)的个体对照生长。

为确定EMT6-Luc对检查点阻断的反应,使用抗mPD-1或抗mPD-L1治疗携带EMT6-Luc肿瘤的小鼠。与对照相比,对检查点阻断的反应适中(图2),EMT6-Luc中对抗mPD-1的反应与亲代细胞系产生的数据相似(表1)。与亲代细胞系相比,EMT6-Luc对抗mPD-L1的反应似乎略有改善(表1),但增加反应荧光素酶标签对在测试条件下的抗肿瘤功效的总体影响似乎很小。

图2. 个别EMT6-Luc肿瘤体积测量显示抗mPD-1 (B)和抗mPD-L1 (C)与同种型对照(A)相比的抗肿瘤功效。 每种抗体每周两次以10 mg/kg的剂量给药。
图2. 个别EMT6-Luc肿瘤体积测量显示抗mPD-1 (B)和抗mPD-L1 (C)与同种型对照(A)相比的抗肿瘤功效。每种抗体每周两次以10 mg/kg的剂量给药。
表1. EMT6和EMT6-Luc肿瘤模型对抗mPD-1和抗mPD-L1检查点抑制的差异化反应。 进展时间增加终点基于从开始治疗到动物退出研究之间增加的天数(与未治疗的肿瘤相比)。
表1. EMT6和EMT6-Luc肿瘤模型对抗mPD-1和抗mPD-L1检查点抑制的差异化反应。进展时间增加终点基于从开始治疗到动物退出研究之间增加的天数(与未治疗的肿瘤相比)。

 

除了通过原发性MFP肿瘤测量评估对治疗的反应外,荧光素酶细胞系还可以通过评估体内BLI信号的部位来监测胸腔转移的发展。图3说明了胸腔信号的发展。不出所料,通过BLI进行监测可提供有关转移发生程度的更多详细信息,以及使用抗mPD-1或抗mPD-L1治疗转移的任何延迟。在研究过程中,所有对照动物的胸腔BLI信号均升高,但这些动物在肉眼尸检时均未出现转移性结节(数据未显示)。虽然必须进行病理学评估以确认胸腔信号增加的病因,但在未治疗的动物中,尸检后对肺结节的历史观察结果强烈表明,信号增加是由于转移引起的,突显了该终点的价值。以此假设为基础,可以得出结论,用抗mPD-L1进行治疗可导致转移的发生与原发肿瘤生长的延迟相一致。应当指出的是,该模型中的转移不会导致健康情况下降,因为小鼠在转移对健康产生影响之前退出了原发性肿瘤研究。

图3. 体内BLI成像可通过胸部区域(A)或代表性BLI图像(B)中的平均肿瘤负荷来监测胸部信号随时间推移的发展。
图3. 体内BLI成像可通过胸部区域(A)或代表性BLI图像(B)中的平均肿瘤负荷来监测胸部信号随时间推移的发展。

 

在研究免疫肿瘤学模型时,了解肿瘤中的浸润性免疫细胞的组成也很重要。为此,检查了150-550 mm3的原始态肿瘤的浸润性T细胞和以总CD45+细胞百分比表示的髓样细胞(图4)。所有肿瘤的骨髓区室均匀分布在M2巨噬细胞、单核MDSC和粒细胞MDSC中。M1巨噬细胞浸润相对低于其他髓样来源的细胞,而且与EMT6肿瘤相比,在EMT6-Luc肿瘤中略高。CD4+和CD8+ T细胞的浸润最小,但在EMT6和EMT6-Luc肿瘤中保持一致,NK细胞在EMT6-Luc肿瘤中略有升高。这种组成表明了免疫抑制性微环境,这有助于解释为什么接受测试的免疫疗法均仅出现有限反应。

图4. 原始态EMT6和EMT6-Luc肿瘤中的淋巴(A)和骨髓(B)免疫细胞分布。
图4. 原始态EMT6和EMT6-Luc肿瘤中的淋巴(A)和骨髓(B)免疫细胞分布。

 

EMT6-Luc鼠类乳腺癌模型具有良好的免疫特性,可利用完整的小鼠免疫系统,并在免疫肿瘤学领域发挥强大的作用。这些数据支持使用MT6-Luc模型作为完善的临床前免疫肿瘤学模型,以评估原发性肿瘤的生长以及远处胸腔转移的形成。

联系科文斯,咨询我们的科学家,了解EMT6-Luc或我们的其他同系模型可如何用于您的下一项免疫肿瘤学研究。


参考文献:

1“美国癌症协会:癌症事实与统计”。 美国癌症协会 | 癌症事实与统计,cancerstatisticscenter.cancer.org/?_ga=2.5394928.293340281.1606765768-996476487.1605734560。

2 Howlader N、Noone AM、Krapcho M、Miller D、Brest A、Yu M、Ruhl J、Tatalovich Z、Mariotto A、Lewis DR、Chen HS、Feuer EJ、Cronin KA(eds)。SEER Cancer Statistics Review,1975-2017,国家癌症研究所。Bethesda,医学博士,https://seer.cancer.gov/csr/1975_2017/基于2019年11月提交的SEER数据,发布于SEER网站,2020年4月。

3Leal JHS和McArthur H。乳腺癌免疫疗法:从生物学到目前的临床应用。Eur. Med. J., 2020; 5(2): 113-124。

4Rockwell SC, Kallman, RF, Fajardo, LF。   连续移植小鼠乳腺肿瘤的特征及其组织培养适应性衍生物。 J. Natl. Can. Inst., 1972; 49(3): 735-749。

EMT6-Luc: In vivo monitoring of metastatic development and treatment efficacy

AUTHOR:

Sheri Barnes, PhD | Associate Director, Scientific Development

DATE:

February 2021

Breast cancer is the most common cancer among women in the United States and is the second leading cause of cancer death in women.  According to the American Cancer Society, approximately 279,100 new cases were diagnosed in 2020, and 42,690 patient deaths occurred.1 Early detection initiatives and improved treatment options have increased the 5-year overall survival rate from 75% in 1975, to 90% or higher today.2 However despite the favorable survival statistics, metastatic disease is common in breast cancer and is often the cause of death.  For this reason, it is important to continue developing improved treatments for breast cancer that impact metastatic disease. 

Successful treatment of breast cancer by immunotherapy continues to be a challenge, but emerging clinical data is encouraging.3   To help enable preclinical research of immunotherapy in breast cancer, Covance developed the orthotopic EMT6 syngeneic breast tumor model in 2018.  The EMT6 model was derived from a transplanted hyperplastic alveolar metastatic lung nodule in BALB/c mice.4   As further data was generated with this model, observations of metastatic foci in the lung visible upon gross necropsy occurred in up to 40% of control mice.  As metastasis is common in breast cancer patients, it was important to take advantage of this finding, so a luciferase enabled EMT6 cell line (EMT6-Luc) was generated to monitor thoracic metastasis by bioluminescence imaging (BLI) in vivo.  For this project, animal care and use was conducted according to animal welfare regulations in an AAALAC-accredited facility with IACUC protocol review and approval.

In this spotlight, we present data from our initial efficacy study with the EMT6-Luc model implanted into the mammary fat pad (MFP), both by caliper measurement of the primary tumor and by BLI of the thoracic area to monitor metastatic disease progression.  Control tumor growth for the EMT6 and EMT6-Luc models are shown in Figure 1.  For both parental and EMT6-Luc models, the median doubling time of MFP tumors is 5.5 days, allowing for a therapeutic window of two to three weeks with which to evaluate anti-tumor activity of test agents. 

Figure 1.  Individual control growth of EMT6 (A) and EMT6-Luc (B) implanted orthotopically (mammary fat pad) into female Balb/c mice.
Figure 1. Individual control growth of EMT6 (A) and EMT6-Luc (B) implanted orthotopically (mammary fat pad) into female Balb/c mice.

To determine the response of EMT6-Luc to checkpoint blockade, mice bearing EMT6-Luc tumors were treated with anti-mPD-1 or anti-mPD-L1.  Responses to checkpoint blockade were moderate compared to control (Figure 2) and responses to anti-mPD-1 in EMT6-Luc were similar to those data generated with the parental line (Table 1).  Response to anti-mPD-L1 seems slightly improved in the EMT6-Luc compared to the parental line (Table 1), but the overall impact of the addition of the luciferase tag with regard to anti-tumor efficacy under the conditions tested appear minimal.  

Figure 2.  Individual EMT6-Luc tumor volume measurements showing anti-tumor efficacy of anti-mPD-1 (B) and anti-mPD-L1 (C) compared to isotype control (A).  Each antibody was dosed twice weekly at 10 mg/kg.
Figure 2. Individual EMT6-Luc tumor volume measurements showing anti-tumor efficacy of anti-mPD-1 (B) and anti-mPD-L1 (C) compared to isotype control (A). Each antibody was dosed twice weekly at 10 mg/kg.
Table 1.  Differential responses of EMT6 and EMT6-Luc tumor models with response to checkpoint inhibition by anti-mPD-1 and anti-mPD-L1.  Increased Time to Progression endpoint is based on the increase in number of days, compared to untreated tumors, between initiation of treatment and the day of animal exit from the study.
Table 1. Differential responses of EMT6 and EMT6-Luc tumor models with response to checkpoint inhibition by anti-mPD-1 and anti-mPD-L1. Increased Time to Progression endpoint is based on the increase in number of days, compared to untreated tumors, between initiation of treatment and the day of animal exit from the study.

 

In addition to evaluating response to treatment by primary MFP tumor measures, the luciferase enabled cell line also allows for monitoring the development of thoracic metastasis by assessing BLI signal localization in vivo.  The development of thoracic signal is illustrated in Figure 3.  As expected, monitoring by BLI offers additional granularity on the extent to which metastasis occurs, as well as any delay in metastatic involvement with treatment of anti-mPD-1 or anti-mPD-L1.  All control animals exhibited increasing thoracic BLI signal during the study, but none of these animals exhibited metastatic nodules upon gross necropsy (data not shown).  While pathological evaluation is necessary to confirm the etiology of increasing thoracic signal, historical observations of lung nodules upon necropsy in untreated animals strongly suggest that the increasing signal is due to metastases, highlighting the value of this endpoint.  Taking this assumption, one can conclude that treatment with anti-mPD-L1 resulted in delayed onset of metastasis in agreement with the delay in primary tumor growth.  It should be noted that metastasis in this model does not cause a decline in health, as mice exit the study for primary tumor burden prior to health impact from metastatic involvement.

Figure 3.  In vivo BLI imaging to monitor development of thoracic signal over time by mean tumor burden in the thoracic region (A) or representative BLI images (B).
Figure 3. In vivo BLI imaging to monitor development of thoracic signal over time by mean tumor burden in the thoracic region (A) or representative BLI images (B).

 

When interrogating models for immuno-oncology purposes, it’s also important to know the composition of infiltrated immune cells into a tumor.  To this end, naïve tumors between 150-550 mm3 were examined for infiltrated T cells and myeloid cells expressed as percentages of total CD45+ cells (Figure 4).  The myeloid compartment across all tumors was evenly distributed across M2 macrophages, monocytic MDSCs, and granulocytic MDSCs.  M1 macrophage infiltrate was comparatively lower than other myeloid derived cells and was slightly higher in EMT6-Luc tumors compared to EMT6 tumors.  The infiltrate of CD4+ and CD8+ T cells was minimal yet consistent in both EMT6 and EMT6-Luc tumors with a slight elevation of NK cells in the EMT6-Luc tumors. This composition is suggestive of an immunosuppressive microenvironment which could help explain the limited response of the immunotherapy regimens tested.  

Figure 4.  Lymphoid (A) and myeloid (B) immune cell distribution in naïve EMT6 and EMT6-Luc tumors.
Figure 4. Lymphoid (A) and myeloid (B) immune cell distribution in naïve EMT6 and EMT6-Luc tumors.

 

The EMT6-Luc murine breast carcinoma model has a favorable immune profile that takes advantage of the complete mouse immune system and serves as a powerful tool in the immuno-oncology space.  These data support use of the EMT6-Luc model as a robust preclinical immuno-oncology model for assessment of both primary tumor growth as well as formation of distant thoracic metastases.

Please contact Covance to speak with our scientists about how EMT6-Luc, or one of our other syngeneic models, can be used for your next immuno-oncology study.


References:

1 “American Cancer Society: Cancer Facts & Statistics.” American Cancer Society | Cancer Facts & Statistics, cancerstatisticscenter.cancer.org/?_ga=2.5394928.293340281.1606765768-996476487.1605734560.

2 Howlader N, Noone AM, Krapcho M, Miller D, Brest A, Yu M, Ruhl J, Tatalovich Z, Mariotto A, Lewis DR, Chen HS, Feuer EJ, Cronin KA (eds). SEER Cancer Statistics Review, 1975-2017, National Cancer Institute. Bethesda, MD, https://seer.cancer.gov/csr/1975_2017/, based on November 2019 SEER data submission, posted to the SEER web site, April 2020.

3Leal JHS and McArthur H.  Breast cancer immunotherapy:  From biology to current clinical applications. Eur. Med. J., 2020; 5(2): 113-124.

4Rockwell SC, Kallman, RF, Fajardo, LF.  Characteristics of a Serially Transplanted Mouse Mammary Tumor and Its Tissue-Culture-Adapted Derivative. J. Natl. Can. Inst., 1972; 49(3): 735–749.