科文斯即将更名为Labcorp药物研发

We are one global company innovating for millions—together, bringing you even more advanced medical breakthroughs.

CT26-Luc:结肠癌原位鼠模型:对免疫肿瘤学研究的意义

简介

利用免疫系统固有的抗肿瘤活性对抗癌症的疗法的出现代表着肿瘤疗法的一种范式转变,这种转变永久改变了我们未来对抗癌症的方式。 

结直肠癌(CRC)在整个癌症疾病中比例可观,占所有癌症病例的10%;2018年,全球新增CRC病例超过100万,导致逾50万人死亡1。对于非转移性结肠癌,临床治疗包括外科手术切除和辅助化疗,以及针对转移性CRC2的靶向治疗。近期的临床研究表明,在无法切除、具有高度微卫星不稳定性(MSI-H)的转移性,或错配修复缺陷(dMMR)的大肠癌患者中,免疫检查点抑制可发挥强大效果3。由于临床功效强大,2020年夏季,针对人PD-1免疫检查点蛋白的单克隆抗体Keytruda已通过批准,用作满足这三个标准的CRC患者的一线治疗4。由于针对CRC的免疫疗法带来了新的希望,就需要采用针对该疾病的高度转化性临床前模型来评估新型免疫肿瘤学药物的有效性。 

评估针对免疫系统的疗法的功效需要临床前肿瘤模型,这种模型要具有完好的免疫系统,以便使用受试试剂进行操控。同基因肿瘤模型代表着这样一种策略,即,使小鼠衍生的癌细胞生长,以在肿瘤细胞来源、具有免疫活性的小鼠品系中形成肿瘤。我们已广泛使用CT26.WT鼠结肠癌作为Balb/c雌性小鼠皮下肿瘤模型来评估免疫肿瘤学药物的功效——请阅读下文,了解我们以往的模型相关工作(其他数据可应要求提供):

我们认识到皮下肿瘤模型的实验和转化局限性——与原位器官产生的肿瘤相比,它具有不同的肿瘤微环境,包括但不限于会影响免疫治疗反应的不同免疫细胞概况5,6。将肿瘤细胞植入原位组织中(称为原位肿瘤植入物)旨在消除皮下研究的局限性并增加模型的潜在可转化性。 

在此模型中,我们将提供能证明可靠且可复制的原位鼠肿瘤模型的数据,这种模型采用CT26.WT结肠癌、可靠的植入手术方法并且能够验证对检查点抑制的反应。 

所有动物研究均已获得实验动物关怀与使用委员会的批准,并按照AAALAC认可的计划中的实验动物关怀与使用指南进行,所有研究均有预先确定的人道安乐死标准。

CT26.WT-luc肿瘤的原位生长 

为了能够纵向评估原位肿瘤的进展,CT26.WT鼠结肠癌细胞被稳定转染以表达萤火虫荧光素酶,该酶能够通过生物发光成像(BLI)进行无创监测。原始态Balb/c小鼠皮下接种得到的CT26.WT-luc细胞,并形成皮下肿瘤。如Fiegle等人7的操作,将皮下肿瘤切除并切成碎片,然后移植到原始态Balb/c小鼠的盲肠上。从肿瘤植入后三天开始,每周两次通过BLI评估小鼠的肿瘤生长情况,持续四周,以纵向监测肿瘤生长情况(图1)。记录体重、每日临床观察结果和尸检结果。

图1. 原位植入Balb/c小鼠的CT26.WT-luc衍生肿瘤的生长动力学

档案
图1 - 通过20 Balb/c小鼠的生物发光成像对原位植入CT26.WT-luc肿瘤片段后的肿瘤负荷进行纵向监测。植入后三天开始检测生物性发光,展示了小组平均值(A)和个体值(B)。

 

肿瘤负荷进展稳健并且变化很小。基于BLI和尸检,肿瘤植入率为95%,未观察到自发消退。BLI衍生肿瘤体积倍增时间(Td)为1.5天,研究的中位时间为21天。

与疾病进展相关的常见临床观察结果是由于肿瘤生长和体重增加引起的腹胀(数据未显示)。尸检显示盲肠上有大量原发肿块,肝和腹壁上有小结节。观察到结肠上的原发性肿瘤与结肠具有大规模血管整合,表明肿瘤进行了有效的血管募集。我们的下一个方法是利用此模型确定免疫肿瘤学药物的功效。

原位CT26.WT-luc肿瘤模型的检查点抑制 

如前所述,对原始态Balb/c小鼠进行了CT26.WT-luc肿瘤片段的手术植入。手术后三天通过BLI对动物进行分期,并根据BLI值将其分配到治疗组中。通过腹膜内给予10mg/kg同种型对照抗体(克隆LTF-2)、抗mPD-L1(克隆10F.9G2)、抗mCTLA-4(克隆9D9)或抗mPD-1(克隆RMP1-14)对动物进行治疗,每周两次,持续两周。所有抗体均购自BioXCell(美国新罕布什尔州莱巴嫩)。动物监测方法包括每周两次的BLI肿瘤负荷测量、每周三次的体重测量、每日临床观察以及最终尸检观察。

档案
图2 - 原位植入的CT26.WT-luc肿瘤对检查点阻断抗体的反应。在对指定疗法的反应中,通过BLI(A)和动物个体BLI值(B-E)评估的小组平均肿瘤负荷。

 

给予同型对照抗体对肿瘤负荷或疾病进展没有影响(图2A,2B)。  接受同种型对照抗体的动物的肿瘤倍增时间为2.2天,研究的中位时间为28天。给予抗mPD-L1(图2A,2C)导致一次完全消退(在背景BLI值以上没有可检测到的肿瘤负荷)。抗mCTLA-4治疗(图2A,2D)导致第23日ΔT/ΔC为0.1%和五次局部消退(BLI值小于治疗第一天的一半),尸检时没有明显可见的疾病。给予抗mPD-1(图2A,2E)不会导致肿瘤消退或无肿瘤幸存者。

图3. CT26.WT-luc原位肿瘤对检查点抑制的反应的生物发光成像

档案
图3 - 原位植入雌性Balb/c小鼠的CT26.WT-luc衍生肿瘤经免疫检查点阻断治疗的生物发光成像。展示的动物代表每个相应组的中位BLI值。

 

根据先前的先导性生长实验(数据未显示),肿瘤负荷局限于腹部并随时间推移增加(图3)。抗mCTLA-4治疗导致疾病相关体重增加的发作延迟(数据未显示)。相比同种型对照抗体,使用抗mPD-L1或抗mCTLA-4治疗的寿命更长,分别为12.5和23.6天。终末尸检显示,在接受抗mPD-L1和抗mCTLA-4治疗的动物中,分别有1/8和5/8没有肿瘤或其他病变的迹象。

正在进行的工作是评估皮下和原位CT26.WT植入位置之间在肿瘤免疫细胞浸润、组织学特征和形态以及响应检查点阻断的免疫活性方面的差异。

综上所述,我们已经证明了CT26.WT-luc结肠癌原位模型为评估高度转化性植入位置的免疫肿瘤药物提供了一个强大的平台。 联系我们的科学家,详细了解CT26。WT-luc和其他鼠原位肿瘤模型,以及我们如何运用这些工具来推进您的肿瘤学研究。


参考资料

1Bray F等人。2018年全球癌症统计:GLOBOCAN估测36种癌症在全球185个国家的发病率和死亡率。CA Cancer J Clin 2018; 68:6, 394-424。

2Kuipers E等人。结直肠癌。Nat Rev Dis Primers. 2015; 1: 15065。

3Tintelnot J, Stein A. 结直肠癌免疫治疗:可用的临床证据、挑战和新方案。World J Gastroenterol. 2019; 25:29, 3920-3928。

4食品及药物管理局。FDA批准了MSI-H/dMMR转移性结直肠癌患者的一线免疫治疗。新闻稿,2020年6月29日。

5Devaud C等人。不同解剖部位的组织可以塑造和改变肿瘤的微环境,从而影响对治疗的反应。Mol Ther. 2014; 22:1, 18-27。

6Zhao X、Li L、Starr TK、Subramanian S。肿瘤部位影响结肠癌小鼠模型的免疫反应。Oncotarget 2017; 8:33, 54775-54787。

7Fiegle E、Doleschel D等人。CTLA-4和PDL-1双重阻断在结肠癌的高度侵袭性原位小鼠模型中抑制肿瘤生长和肝转移。Neoplasia 2019; 21:9, 932-944。

作者:

Patrick Allison,博士 | 科研科学家

日期:

2020年12月

CT26-Luc: An orthotopic murine model of colon cancer: implications for immuno-oncology studies

Introduction

The advent of therapies harnessing the intrinsic anti-tumor activity of the immune system against cancer represents a paradigm shift in oncology therapeutics that has permanently changed the future of how we fight cancer. 

Colorectal cancer (CRC) is a major contributor to the whole of cancer as a disease, representing 10% of all cases of cancer; over one million new cases of CRC were observed worldwide in 2018 resulting in over half a million deaths1. Clinical treatments involve surgical resection followed by adjuvant chemotherapy for non-metastasized colon cancer with more targeted therapies employed for metastatic CRC2. Recent clinical studies demonstrate strong results for immune checkpoint inhibition in the treatment of patients with unresectable, metastatic with high microsatellite instability (MSI-H), or mismatch repair deficient (dMMR) colorectal cancer3. Clinical benefit was so much so that Keytruda (monoclonal antibody targeting the human PD-1 immune checkpoint protein) was approved as a first line therapy for patients with CRC meeting these three criteria in the summer of 20204. With this new promise of immunotherapy against CRC, highly translational preclinical models of the disease are required to assess the effectiveness of novel immuno-oncology agents. 

Assessing the efficacy of therapeutics targeting the immune system require preclinical tumor models with intact immune systems present for manipulation by test agents. Syngeneic tumor models represent such a strategy, in which mouse derived cancer cells are grown to form a tumor in the immune competent mouse strain of the tumor cell origin. We have  extensively used CT26.WT murine colon carcinoma as a subcutaneous tumor model in female Balb/c mice to evaluate the efficacy of immuno-oncology agents - see our previous work in the model spotlights below (additional data available upon request):

We recognize the experimental and translational limitations of subcutaneous tumor models of holding a different tumor microenvironment compared to tumors rising from the organ of origin including, but not limited to, disparate immune cell profiles that can affect response to immunotherapy5,6. Implant of tumor cells into the tissue of origin, known as an orthotopic tumor implant, seeks to rectify the limitations of subcutaneous studies and increase the potential translatability of the model. 

In this model spotlight we will provide data that demonstrate a robust and reproducible orthotopic murine tumor model utilizing CT26.WT colon carcinoma, reliable surgical methods for implantation and validating response to checkpoint inhibition. 

All animal work was approved by the site Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee and was performed in conformance with the Guide for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals within an AAALAC-accredited program with humane euthanasia criteria predetermined on all studies.

Orthotopic Growth of CT26.WT-luc Tumors 

In order to be able to longitudinally assess tumor progression in the orthotopic location, CT26.WT murine colon carcinoma cells were stably transfected to express the firefly luciferase enzyme that enables non-invasive monitoring of growth by bioluminescence imaging (BLI). Naïve Balb/c mice were subcutaneously inoculated with the resulting CT26.WT-luc cells and allowed to establish subcutaneous tumors. Subcutaneous tumors were excised and dissected into fragments and grafted onto the cecum of naïve Balb/c mice as performed by Fiegle et al.7 Mice were assessed for tumor growth by BLI twice weekly for four weeks for longitudinal monitoring of tumor growth (Figure 1) beginning three days following tumor implant. Bodyweights, daily clinical observations, and terminal necropsy observations were recorded.

Figure 1. Growth kinetics of CT26.WT-luc derived tumors orthotopically implanted in Balb/c mice

file
Figure 1 – Longitudinal monitoring of tumor burden following the orthotopic implant of CT26.WT-luc tumor fragments by bioluminescence imaging of 20 Balb/c mice. Bioluminescence was initiated three days following implant, group mean (A) and individual values (B) are presented.

 

Progression of tumor burden was robust and minimally variable. The tumor engraftment rate was 95% based on BLI and necropsy, no spontaneous regressions were observed. The BLI derived tumor volume doubling time (Td) was 1.5 days and the median time on study was 21 days.

Common clinical observations associated with disease progression were abdominal distension due to tumor growth and bodyweight gain (data not shown). Necropsy revealed large primary masses on the cecum and small nodules on the liver and abdominal wall. Primary tumors on the colon were observed to have large vascular integration with the colon indicative of efficient vascular recruitment by the tumor. Our next approach was to utilize this model for determining efficacy of immuno-oncology agents.

Checkpoint inhibition in the orthotopic CT26.WT-luc tumor model 

Naïve Balb/c mice were subjected to surgical implant of CT26.WT-luc tumor fragments as described previously. Animals were staged by BLI three days following surgery and distributed into treatment groups based on BLI values. Animals were treated by intraperitoneal administration of 10mg/kg  isotype control (clone LTF-2), anti-mPD-L1 (clone 10F.9G2), anti-mCTLA-4 (clone 9D9) or anti-mPD-1 (clone RMP1-14) twice weekly for two weeks. All antibodies were acquired from BioXCell (Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA). Animals were monitored by twice weekly BLI measurements for tumor burden, three times a week collection of bodyweights, daily clinical observations, and terminal necropsy observations.

file
Figure 2 – Response of orthotopically implanted CT26.WT-luc tumors to checkpoint blocking antibodies. Group mean tumor burden assessed by BLI (A) and individual animal BLI values (B-E) in response to indicated therapies.

 

Administration of the isotype control antibody did not have an effect on tumor burden or disease progression (Figure 2A, 2B).  Tumor doubling time of animals administered isotype control was 2.2 days, and the median time on study was 28 days. Administration of anti-mPD-L1 (Figure 2A, 2C) resulted in one complete regression (no detectable tumor burden above background BLI values). Anti-mCTLA-4 treatment (Figure 2A, 2D) resulted in a day 23 ΔT/ΔC of 0.1% and five partial regressions (BLI value less than half that of the first day of treatment) with no visibly detectable disease at necropsy. Administration of anti-mPD-1 (Figure 2A, 2E) did not result in regressions or tumor free survivors.

Figure 3. Bioluminescence imaging of CT26.WT-luc orthotopic tumor response to checkpoint inhibition

file
Figure 3 – Bioluminescence imaging of CT26.WT-luc derived tumors orthotopically implanted into female Balb/c mice treated with immune checkpoint blockade. Animals presented are representative of the median BLI value for each respective group.

 

Tumor burden was localized to the abdomen and increased over time (Figure 3) as expected based on previous pilot growth experiments (data not shown). Treatment with anti-mCTLA-4 resulted in delayed onset of disease related bodyweight gain (data not shown). Administration of anti-mPD-L1 or anti-mCTLA-4 provided an increase of life span benefit over isotype control of 12.5 and 23.6 days, respectively. Terminal necropsy revealed no evidence of tumors or other lesions in 1 out of 8 animals administered anti-mPD-L1, and 5 out of 8 animals administered anti-mCTLA-4.

Ongoing work is evaluating the differences between subcutaneous and orthoptic CT26.WT implant locations with respect to tumor immune cell infiltrate, histologic characteristics and morphology, along with immunologic activation in response to checkpoint blockade.

Taken together, we’ve demonstrated the CT26.WT-luc orthotopic model of colon cancer provides a robust platform for evaluating immuno-oncology agents in a highly translational implant location. Contact our scientists  to learn more about the CT26.WT-luc, and other murine orthotopic tumor models, and how we can apply these tools to advance your oncology pipeline.


References

1Bray F, et al. Global cancer statistics 2018: GLOBOCAN estimates of incidence and mortality worldwide for 36 cancers in 185 countries. CA Cancer J Clin 2018; 68:6, 394-424.

2Kuipers E, et al. Colorectal Cancer. Nat Rev Dis Primers. 2015; 1: 15065.

3Tintelnot J, Stein A. Immunotherapy in colorectal cancer: available clinical evidence, challenges and novel approaches. World J Gastroenterol. 2019; 25:29, 3920-3928.

4Food and Drug Administration. FDA approves first-line immunotherapy for patients with MSI-H/dMMR metastatic colorectal cancer. Press Release, June 29 2020.

5Devaud C, et al. Tissues in different anatomical sites can sculpt and vary the tumor microenvironment to affect responses to therapy. Mol Ther. 2014; 22:1, 18-27.

6Zhao X, Li L, Starr TK, Subramanian S. Tumor location impacts immune response in mouse models of colon cancer. Oncotarget 2017; 8:33, 54775-54787.

7Fiegle E, Doleschel D, et al. Dual CTLA-4 and PDL-1 blockade inhibits tumor growth and liver metastasis in a highly aggressive orthotopic mouse model of colon cancer. Neoplasia 2019; 21:9, 932-944.

AUTHOR:

Patrick Allison, PhD | Scientist, Scientific Development

DATE:

December 2020