作为大肠癌转化成像模型的Colo-205

作者:

Chris Bull,成像高级科学顾问

日期:

2017年3月

如我们去年10月的HT-29模型聚焦所述,结直肠癌(CRC)是美国男性和女性癌症相关死亡的第二大主要原因。 在过去几十年中,CRC的死亡率一直在下降,现在美国有超过一百万CRC存活者。但是,2016年仍有95,000例新增病例确诊。

在这些CRC新增病例中,约10%患者的特征是B-Raf原癌基因丝氨酸/苏氨酸激酶(BRAF)基因发生突变,导致残基600(V600E)发生缬氨酸到谷氨酸的变化。已知1 BRAF是促分裂原活化蛋白激酶(MAPK)途径内的重要参与者,对细胞的生长、增殖和细胞分化具有深远影响。2临床上,通过18F-脱氧葡萄糖正电子发射断层扫描术(18FDG-PET)测量,BRAF抑制剂表现出抑制肿瘤代谢的显著能力。3

表1:结直肠癌模型

结肠 C2BBe1、Caco-2、Colo-205、Colo-205-Luc #2、DLD-1、HCC2998, HCT 116-Luc、HCT-116、HCT-15、HCT-8、HT-29-Luc、HT-29、LoVo、LoVo-6-Luc1、LS 174T、LS411N、SW-480SW-620 人类
C26C51CT26。WT 小鼠

科文斯拥有多种CRC模型(请参见表1),而Colo-205是我们最常用的BRAF突变株系之一。我们还将临床前18FDG-PET用于测试转化应用。图1说明了BRAF抑制剂对裸鼠皮下Colo-205的功效。Colo-205也表现出对18FDG-PET摄取强烈,并且使用BRAF治疗可以观察到肿瘤代谢调节(图2和3)。

图1:用BRAF抑制剂治疗后Colo-205的皮下生长
图1:用BRAF抑制剂治疗后Colo-205的皮下生长
图2:使用BRAF抑制剂治疗后的FDG-PET SUV平均数
图2:使用BRAF抑制剂治疗后的FDG-PET SUV平均数
图3:FDG-PET Colo-205皮下肿瘤的图像
图3:FDG-PET Colo-205皮下肿瘤的图像

 

联系科文斯,讨论您的下一项临床前CRC研究设计。


1Tejpar S、Bertagnolli M、Bosman F等人。结直肠癌切除术的预后性和预测性生物标记物:将基因组学整合到生物标记物筛选中的现状和未来展望。《Oncologist》。2010;15(4):390-404。

2Matallanas D、Birtwistle M、Romano D等人。Raf家族激酶:旧貌换新颜。《Genes Cancer》。2011;2(3):232-260。

3在BRAF突变的晚期黑色素瘤中对威罗非尼的标记、均质和早期[18F]氟脱氧葡萄糖-正电子发射断层显像反应。《J. Clin. Oncol》。30, 1628-1634 (2012)。


注意:研究是根据适用的动物福利法规在AAALAC认可的研究中心进行的

Colo-205 as a translational imaging model for colorectal cancer

Date: March 2017

Author: Chris Bull, Sr. Scientific Advisor, Imaging

Contact the preclinical oncology scientific team to learn more. 


As mentioned in our HT-29 Model Spotlight last October, colorectal cancer (CRC) is the second leading cause of cancer-related deaths in the United States for men and women combined. The death rate from CRC has been declining over the past several decades and there are now more than one million CRC survivors in the United States. However, there were still 95,000 new cases diagnosed in 2016.

Of these new CRC cases, about 10 percent of patients are characterized by a mutation in the B-Raf protooncogene serine/threonine kinase (BRAF) gene resulting in a valine-to-glutamate change at the residue 600 (V600E).1 BRAF is a known important player within the Mitogen-activated protein kinase (MAPK) pathway and known to have profound effects on cell growth, proliferation, and cell differentiation.2 Clinically, BRAF inhibitors have been shown to have remarkable ability to inhibit tumor metabolism as measured by 18F-deoxyglucose positron emission tomography (18FDG-PET).3

Table 1: Colorectal Cancer Models

Colon C2BBe1, Caco-2, Colo-205, Colo-205-Luc #2,  DLD-1, HCC2998, HCT 116-Luc, HCT-116, HCT-15, HCT-8, HT-29-Luc, HT-29, LoVo, LoVo-6-Luc1, LS 174T, LS411N, SW-480SW-620 Human
C26C51CT26.WT Mouse

At Labcorp, we have a number of CRC models (see Table 1) and Colo-205 represents one of our most highly utilized lines with the BRAF mutation. We have also applied preclinical 18FDG-PET to test translational applications. Figure 1 illustrates efficacy of a BRAF inhibitor against subcutaneous Colo-205 in nude mice. Colo-205 has also shown to be 18FDG-PET avid and tumor metabolism modulation can be observed with BRAF treatment (Figures 2 and 3).

Fig 1: Subcutaneous Growth of Colo-205 Following Treatment with a BRAF Inhibitor
Fig 1: Subcutaneous Growth of Colo-205 Following Treatment with a BRAF Inhibitor
Fig. 2: FDG-PET SUV Mean Following Treatment with a BRAF Inhibitor

Fig. 2: FDG-PET SUV Mean Following Treatment with a BRAF Inhibitor

Fig. 3: Images of FDG-PET Colo-205 Subcutaneous Tumor

Fig. 3: Images of FDG-PET Colo-205 Subcutaneous Tumor

References

1Tejpar S, Bertagnolli M, Bosman F, et al. Prognostic and predictive biomarkers in resected colon cancer: current status and future perspectives for integrating genomics into biomarker discovery. Oncologist. 2010;15(4):390–404.

2Matallanas D, Birtwistle M, Romano D, et al. Raf family kinases: old dogs have learned new tricks. Genes Cancer. 2011;2(3):232–260. 

3Marked, homogeneous, and early [18F]fluorodeoxyglucose-positron emission tomography responses to vemurafenib in BRAF-mutant advanced melanoma. J. Clin. Oncol. 30, 1628–1634 (2012).

Note: Please note that all animal care and use was conducted according to animal welfare regulations in an AAALAC-accredited facility with IACUC protocol review and approval.

Let's start a conversation

Contact Us