Colo-205 comme modèle d'imagerie translationnelle pour le cancer colorectal

Date : mars 2017

Author: Chris Bull, Sr. Scientific Advisor, Imaging

Contactez l'équipe scientifique en oncologie préclinique pour en savoir plus.


Comme nous l'avons mentionné dans notre présentation du modèle HT-29 en octobre dernier, le cancer colorectal (CCR) est la deuxième cause de décès liés à un cancer aux États-Unis, hommes et femmes confondus. Le taux de mortalité due au CCR a baissé au cours des dernières décennies et il y a actuellement plus d'un million de survivants du CCR aux États-Unis. Cependant, 95 000 nouveaux cas y ont tout de même été diagnostiqués en 2016.

Parmi ces nouveaux cas de CCR, environ 10 % des patients sont caractérisés par une mutation du gène de la sérine/thréonine protéine kinase du protooncogène B-Raf (BRAF) entraînant une modification de la valine-glutamate au niveau du résidu 600 (V600E). 1 BRAF est un acteur à l'importance reconnue dans la voie de la protéine kinase activée par des agents mitogènes (MAPK) et connu pour avoir des effets profonds sur la croissance, la prolifération et la différenciation cellulaires2. Sur le plan clinique, les inhibiteurs BRAF ont montré une remarquable capacité à inhiber le métabolisme des tumeurs, comme le montre la tomographie par émission de positrons 18F-désoxyglucose (18FDG-PET)3.

Tableau 1 : modèles de cancer colorectal

Colon C2BBe1, Caco-2, Colo-205, Colo-205-Luc #2,  DLD-1, HCC2998, HCT 116-Luc, HCT-116, HCT-15, HCT-8, HT-29-Luc, HT-29, LoVo, LoVo-6-Luc1, LS 174T, LS411N, SW-480SW-620 Homme
C26C51CT26.WT Souris

At Labcorp, we have a number of CRC models (see Table 1) and Colo-205 represents one of our most highly utilized lines with the BRAF mutation. Nous avons également appliqué 18FDG-PET en phase préclinique pour tester les applications translationnelles. La figure 1 montre l'efficacité de l'inhibiteur BRAF contre Colo-205 sous-cutané chez la souris nude. Il a également été montré que Colo-205 est avide de 18FDG-PET et une modulation du métabolisme tumoral peut être observée avec le traitement BRAF (figures 2 et 3).

Fig 1 : croissance sous-cutanée de Colo-205 après traitement par un inhibiteur BRAF
Fig 1 : croissance sous-cutanée de Colo-205 après traitement par un inhibiteur BRAF
Fig. 2 : moyenne de la valeur de fixation standardisée (SUV) du FDG-PET après traitement avec un inhibiteur BRAF

Fig. 2 : moyenne de la valeur de fixation standardisée (SUV) du FDG-PET après traitement avec un inhibiteur BRAF

Fig. 3 : images d'une tumeur Colo-205 sous-cutanée par FDG-PET

Fig. 3 : images d'une tumeur Colo-205 sous-cutanée par FDG-PET

Références

1Tejpar S., Bertagnolli M., Bosman F., et al. Prognostic and predictive biomarkers in resected colon cancer: current status and future perspectives for integrating genomics into biomarker discovery. Oncologist. 2010;15(4):390–404.

2Matallanas D., Birtwistle M., Romano D. et al. Raf family kinases: old dogs have learned new tricks. Genes Cancer. 2011;2(3):232–260. 

3Marked, homogeneous, and early [18F]fluorodeoxyglucose-positron emission tomography responses to vemurafenib in BRAF-mutant advanced melanoma. J. Clin. Oncol. 30, 1628–1634 (2012).

Remarque : Veuillez noter que toute la prise en charge des animaux et l'utilisation de ceux-ci ont été effectuées conformément à la réglementation sur le bien-être des animaux dans un établissement accrédité par l'AAALAC, avec examen et approbation du protocole de l'IACUC.

Entamons le dialogue

Nous contacter

Colo-205 as a translational imaging model for colorectal cancer

Date: March 2017

Author: Chris Bull, Sr. Scientific Advisor, Imaging

Contact the preclinical oncology scientific team to learn more. 


As mentioned in our HT-29 Model Spotlight last October, colorectal cancer (CRC) is the second leading cause of cancer-related deaths in the United States for men and women combined. The death rate from CRC has been declining over the past several decades and there are now more than one million CRC survivors in the United States. However, there were still 95,000 new cases diagnosed in 2016.

Of these new CRC cases, about 10 percent of patients are characterized by a mutation in the B-Raf protooncogene serine/threonine kinase (BRAF) gene resulting in a valine-to-glutamate change at the residue 600 (V600E).1 BRAF is a known important player within the Mitogen-activated protein kinase (MAPK) pathway and known to have profound effects on cell growth, proliferation, and cell differentiation.2 Clinically, BRAF inhibitors have been shown to have remarkable ability to inhibit tumor metabolism as measured by 18F-deoxyglucose positron emission tomography (18FDG-PET).3

Table 1: Colorectal Cancer Models

Colon C2BBe1, Caco-2, Colo-205, Colo-205-Luc #2,  DLD-1, HCC2998, HCT 116-Luc, HCT-116, HCT-15, HCT-8, HT-29-Luc, HT-29, LoVo, LoVo-6-Luc1, LS 174T, LS411N, SW-480SW-620 Human
C26C51CT26.WT Mouse

At Labcorp, we have a number of CRC models (see Table 1) and Colo-205 represents one of our most highly utilized lines with the BRAF mutation. We have also applied preclinical 18FDG-PET to test translational applications. Figure 1 illustrates efficacy of a BRAF inhibitor against subcutaneous Colo-205 in nude mice. Colo-205 has also shown to be 18FDG-PET avid and tumor metabolism modulation can be observed with BRAF treatment (Figures 2 and 3).

Fig 1: Subcutaneous Growth of Colo-205 Following Treatment with a BRAF Inhibitor
Fig 1: Subcutaneous Growth of Colo-205 Following Treatment with a BRAF Inhibitor
Fig. 2: FDG-PET SUV Mean Following Treatment with a BRAF Inhibitor

Fig. 2: FDG-PET SUV Mean Following Treatment with a BRAF Inhibitor

Fig. 3: Images of FDG-PET Colo-205 Subcutaneous Tumor

Fig. 3: Images of FDG-PET Colo-205 Subcutaneous Tumor

References

1Tejpar S, Bertagnolli M, Bosman F, et al. Prognostic and predictive biomarkers in resected colon cancer: current status and future perspectives for integrating genomics into biomarker discovery. Oncologist. 2010;15(4):390–404.

2Matallanas D, Birtwistle M, Romano D, et al. Raf family kinases: old dogs have learned new tricks. Genes Cancer. 2011;2(3):232–260. 

3Marked, homogeneous, and early [18F]fluorodeoxyglucose-positron emission tomography responses to vemurafenib in BRAF-mutant advanced melanoma. J. Clin. Oncol. 30, 1628–1634 (2012).

Note: Please note that all animal care and use was conducted according to animal welfare regulations in an AAALAC-accredited facility with IACUC protocol review and approval.

Let's start a conversation

Contact Us