流式细胞仪绝对计数 - 最大限度地提高免疫表型数据解释的准确性

在这篇技术文章中,我们将介绍绝对计数的原理,以及该服务与肿瘤免疫表型分析结合使用时的优势。

作者:

David Draper博士 | 科研助理总监

日期:

 2018年7月

绝对计数是一种让流式细胞术科学家量化组织内的细胞总数的应用,并可用作免疫细胞对肿瘤浸润的测量。在这篇技术文章中,我们将介绍绝对计数的原理,以及该服务与肿瘤免疫表型分析结合使用时的优势。

在测试新型免疫调节疗法时,准确测量肿瘤微环境(TME)内免疫反应动态变化的能力至关重要。虽然配置强大的免疫表型测试套组对于精确描述子集必不可少,但是报告这些终点的方法可能会影响最终解释数据的方式。一个常见的指标是“ CD45+细胞的百分比”,它衡量每个亚型的相对分布占免疫细胞总数的百分比。1,2这种方法非常有价值,因为它有助于量化治疗对具有不同促肿瘤和抗肿瘤活性的亚型比例的影响。例如,CD8+ T细胞比例增加,而调节性T细胞相应减少,则表明治疗降低了TME中调节性T细胞介导的免疫抑制。

然而,使用分布测量作为唯一的指标存在局限性。这在下例中得到了证明。在这项研究中,用抗mCTLA-4检查点抑制剂治疗了CT26荷瘤小鼠,该抑制剂可显著抑制肿瘤生长(图1)。为了研究其作用机理,我们首先使用流式细胞仪分析了总CD45+细胞中肿瘤衍生的CD3+和CD11b+细胞(分别为T细胞和髓样细胞)(见图2)。解读数据的人可能会从该数据得出结论,CTLA-4阻断既触发T细胞数量增加,又引起髓样细胞减少。这表明治疗的机械活性是由抗肿瘤CD8+ T细胞数量的增加以及免疫抑制性髓样细胞的减少介导的。正如您将在下文中看到的,这个结论是不正确的。

  

图1:将CT26细胞皮下植入Balb/c小鼠的右腋窝。 当建立肿瘤时,开始给n=10只动物/组给药,并通过卡尺测量监测肿瘤的进展。 在第14日取样之前,每周两次给予抗体剂量。
图1:将CT26细胞皮下植入Balb/c小鼠的右腋窝。当建立肿瘤时,开始给n=10只动物/组给药,并通过卡尺测量监测肿瘤的进展。在第14日取样之前,每周两次给予抗体剂量。

 

绝对计数的串联计算通常用于克服上述限制。该终点可准确测量免疫亚群对肿瘤的浸润程度,通常报告为每质量单位的总细胞数。3,4,5将绝对计数添加到上述研究中后,很明显,实际上,抗mCTLA-4治疗后总的髓样细胞计数/克数没有变化(图2 )。取而代之的是,观察到的髓样细胞比例的降低更有可能是由所证明的绝对T细胞数量增加引起的。值得注意的重点是,当通过治疗触发目标子集分布的变化时,这不一定是由于该细胞子集绝对数的变化,而是可能由于不同子集的扩大或缩小而造成的。

  

图2:CT26肿瘤中T细胞和髓样细胞的分布与绝对计数的比较。 使用Student t检验(*p<0.05)进行统计分析。
图2:CT26肿瘤中T细胞和髓样细胞的分布与绝对计数的比较。使用Student t检验(*p<0.05)进行统计分析。

 

肿瘤相关巨噬细胞(TAM)和T细胞亚群的下游免疫表型分析进一步强调了包括绝对计数终点的价值。如图3所示,尽管分析显示M2 TAM在肿瘤中的比例有所降低,但绝对计数保持不变。因此,与最初的分析相反,绝对计数并不表明M2 TAM药效学对本研究的总体功效有贡献。而且,这是基于公开数据的更可靠的结论。最后,抗mCTLA-4治疗引发CD8+ T细胞和CD4+辅助T细胞的绝对数量增加。总而言之,这些数据证明了绝对计数对于准确量化组织衍生亚群的总细胞数必不可少。

  

图3:CT26肿瘤中的M1和M2 TAM、CD8+ T细胞和CD4+辅助细胞的分布与绝对计数测量。 使用Student t检验(*p<0.05)进行统计分析。
图3:CT26肿瘤中的M1和M2 TAM、CD8+ T细胞和CD4+辅助细胞的分布与绝对计数测量。使用Student t检验(*p<0.05)进行统计分析。

肿瘤相关巨噬细胞(TAM)和T细胞亚群的下游免疫表型分析进一步强调了包括绝对计数终点的价值。如图3所示,尽管分析显示M2 TAM在肿瘤中的比例有所降低,但绝对计数保持不变。因此,与最初的分析相反,绝对计数并不表明M2 TAM药效学对本研究的总体功效有贡献。而且,这是基于公开数据的更可靠的结论。最后,抗mCTLA-4治疗引发CD8+ T细胞和CD4+辅助T细胞的绝对数量增加。总而言之,这些数据证明了绝对计数对于准确量化组织衍生亚群的总细胞数必不可少。

  

图4:采用科文斯绝对计数流式试剂组的设门策略,用于测量吸出的样本量、总活细胞和CD45+活细胞的绝对计数。
图4:采用科文斯绝对计数流式试剂组的设门策略,用于测量吸出的样本量、总活细胞和CD45+活细胞的绝对计数。

 

图4说明了如何计算绝对细胞计数。微球区域可量化流式细胞仪采集的微球数量,以测量吸出的样品量。使用活性染料(排除死细胞)分析细胞圈选。然后,在排除死细胞之后,测量CD45的表达,以计算掉落在CD45+活细胞圈选中细胞的百分比。然后,使用以下公式计算通过流式细胞仪检测到的CD45+免疫细胞的总数。最后,由于已知肿瘤的起始量,因此可以反算出肿瘤细胞数/克数。

  

绝对计数方程

 

可根据要求提供上述研究的完整数据集。它描述了检查点阻断对CT26肿瘤中以下子集的计数和分布的影响;以及用于进行这些测量的流式试剂组。

  • 粒细胞髓样抑制细胞

  •  单核细胞衍生的抑制细胞

  • 树突状细胞

  • 肿瘤相关巨噬细胞(M1和M2)

  • B细胞

  • 天然杀伤细胞

  • 天然杀伤T细胞

  • CD8+ T细胞

  • CD4+辅助T细胞

  • 调节性T细胞

联系科文斯科学家,索取完整的数据集,或进一步了解我们的绝对计数服务以及如何将其应用于您的临床前研究。

1Kadić, Elma等人。"通过多参数单细胞大规模细胞计数分析确定冷冻保存对肿瘤标本中免疫细胞亚群的描绘的影响。" BMC免疫学 18.1 (2017): 6。

2Lewis, Katherine E.等人。"白介素-21与PD-1或CTLA-4的结合可增强小鼠肿瘤模型的抗肿瘤免疫力。" Oncoimmunology 7.1 (2018): e1377873.

3Muroyama, Yuki等人。"立体定向放射治疗增加了肿瘤微环境中的功能抑制性调节性T细胞。" 癌症免疫学研究 5.11 (2017): 992。

4Balza, Enrica等人。"肿瘤坏死因子和美法仑的肿瘤诱导的治疗性T细胞反应取决于自然杀伤细胞和树突状细胞的早期触发。" 欧洲免疫学杂志 47.4 (2017): 743-753。

5Buisseret、Laurence等人。 "肿瘤浸润淋巴细胞的组成、组织和PD-1/PD-L1的表达与乳腺癌相关。" Oncoimmunology 6.1 (2017): e1257452.


注意:研究是根据适用的动物福利法规在AAALAC认可的研究中心进行的

Absolute counts by flow cytometry — maximize the accuracy of your immunophenotypic data interpretation

In this Tech Spotlight we will present the principles of absolute counting and the advantages this service provides when used in combination with tumor immunophenotypic analysis.

AUTHOR:

David Draper, PhD | Associate Director, Scientific Development

DATE:

 July 2018

Absolute counting is an application that allows flow cytometry scientists to quantify the total number of cells within tissue and can be used as a measurement of tumor infiltration by immune cells. In this Tech Spotlight we will present the principles of absolute counting and the advantages this service provides when used in combination with tumor immunophenotypic analysis.

The ability to accurately measure dynamic changes in the immune response within the tumor microenvironment (TME) is critical when testing new immune modulating therapies. While the configuration of robust immunophenotyping panels is necessary to delineate subsets with precision, the method by which these endpoints are reported can impact how the data is ultimately interpreted. A common readout is “% of CD45+ cells,” which measures the relative distribution of each subset as a percent of total immune cells.1,2 This method is valuable because it helps quantify the effect that therapy has on the proportion of subsets with different pro- and anti-tumor activities. For example, an increase in the proportion of CD8+ T cells with a corresponding decrease in regulatory T cells indicates that treatment has reduced regulatory T cell-mediated immuno-suppression in the TME.

The use of distribution measurements as a sole readout however, has limitations. This is demonstrated in the example below. In this study, CT26 tumor-bearing mice were treated with an anti-mCTLA-4 checkpoint inhibitor that resulted in marked tumor growth inhibition (Figure 1). To examine the mechanism of action, we first used flow cytometry to profile the distribution of tumor-derived CD3+ and CD11b+ cells (T cells and myeloid cells, respectively) among the total CD45+ cells (see figure 2). The interpreter might conclude from this data that CTLA-4 blockade triggered both an increase in the number of T cells and a simultaneous decrease in myeloid cells. This would suggest that mechanistic activity of treatment is mediated by an expansion in the number of anti-tumor CD8+ T cells as well as a contraction of immuno-suppressive myeloid cells. As you’ll see below, this conclusion would be incorrect.

  

Fig. 1: CT26 cells were implanted subcutaneously into the right axilla of Balb/c mice. Dosing of n=10 animals/group was initiated when tumors were established, and tumor progression was monitored by caliper measurements. Antibody doses were administered twice weekly prior to sampling on day 14.
Fig. 1: CT26 cells were implanted subcutaneously into the right axilla of Balb/c mice. Dosing of n=10 animals/group was initiated when tumors were established, and tumor progression was monitored by caliper measurements. Antibody doses were administered twice weekly prior to sampling on day 14.

 

Tandem calculation of absolute counts is often used to overcome the limitation described above. This endpoint accurately measures the infiltration of tumors by immune subsets and is typically reported as total cell numbers per unit of mass.3,4,5 When the absolute counts are added to the study above, it becomes clear that in fact the total myeloid cell count/gram of tumor did not change following anti-mCTLA-4 therapy (Figure 2). Instead, the observed decrease in the proportion of myeloid cells is more likely caused by the demonstrated increase in absolute T cell numbers. The takeaway message is that when a change in distribution of a target subset is triggered by therapy, it is not necessarily due to a change in absolute numbers of that cell subset and instead may occur as a consequence of the expansion or contraction of a different subset.

  

Fig. 2: Distribution versus absolute count measurements of T cells and myeloid cells in CT26 tumors. Statistical analysis was performed using a Student’s t-test (*p<0.05).
Fig. 2: Distribution versus absolute count measurements of T cells and myeloid cells in CT26 tumors. Statistical analysis was performed using a Student’s t-test (*p<0.05).

 

Downstream immunophenotypic analysis of tumor-associated macrophages (TAMs) and T cell subsets further emphasizes the value of including absolute count endpoints. As shown in Figure 3, although analysis revealed that the proportion of M2 TAMs decreased in the tumor, the absolute counts remained unchanged. Therefore, in contrast to the initial analysis, the absolute counts do not indicate that M2 TAM pharmacodynamics contributes to the overall efficacy in this study. And, this is a more reliable conclusion based on the available data. Finally, anti-mCTLA-4 therapy triggered an increase in the absolute numbers of both CD8+ T cells and CD4+ helper T cells. Taken together, these data demonstrate how absolute counts can be essential to accurately quantify the total cell numbers for tissue-derived subsets.

  

Fig. 3: Distribution versus absolute count measurements of M1 and M2 TAMs, CD8+ T cells, and CD4+ helper cells in CT26 tumors. Statistical analysis was performed using a Student’s t-test (*p<0.05).
Fig. 3: Distribution versus absolute count measurements of M1 and M2 TAMs, CD8+ T cells, and CD4+ helper cells in CT26 tumors. Statistical analysis was performed using a Student’s t-test (*p<0.05).

Downstream immunophenotypic analysis of tumor-associated macrophages (TAMs) and T cell subsets further emphasizes the value of including absolute count endpoints. As shown in Figure 3, although analysis revealed that the proportion of M2 TAMs decreased in the tumor, the absolute counts remained unchanged. Therefore, in contrast to the initial analysis, the absolute counts do not indicate that M2 TAM pharmacodynamics contributes to the overall efficacy in this study. And, this is a more reliable conclusion based on the available data. Finally, anti-mCTLA-4 therapy triggered an increase in the absolute numbers of both CD8+ T cells and CD4+ helper T cells. Taken together, these data demonstrate how absolute counts can be essential to accurately quantify the total cell numbers for tissue-derived subsets.

  

Fig. 4: Gating strategy to measure the volume of sample aspirated, absolute counts of total live cells, and live CD45+ cells, using the Covance absolute counting flow panel.
Fig. 4: Gating strategy to measure the volume of sample aspirated, absolute counts of total live cells, and live CD45+ cells, using the Covance absolute counting flow panel.

 

Figure 4 illustrates how absolute cell counts are calculated. The Bead Region quantifies the number of beads acquired by the flow cytometer to enable the measurement of sample volume that is aspirated. The Cell Gate is analyzed using a viability dye, which excludes dead cells. And after dead cell exclusion, CD45 expression is measured to calculate the percentage of cells that fall in the Live CD45+ Cells gate. The total number of CD45+ immune cells detected by the cytometer is then calculated using the formula below. Finally, because the starting tumor mass is known, the cell counts/gram of tumor can be back-calculated.

  

Absolute Count Equation

 

The full data set for the above study is available by request. It describes checkpoint blockade effects on the counts and profile of the following subsets in CT26 tumors; as well as, the flow panels that were used to make these measurements.

  • Granulocytic myeloid-derived suppressor cells

  •  Monocytic myeloid-derived suppressor cells

  • Dendritic cells

  • Tumor-associated macrophages (M1 and M2)

  • B cells

  • Natural killer cells

  • Natural killer T cells

  • CD8+ T cells

  • CD4+ helper T cells

  • Regulatory T cells

Contact the scientists at Covance to request the full data set or to learn more about our absolute counting service and how it can be applied to your preclinical research.


1Kadić, Elma, et al. “Effect of cryopreservation on delineation of immune cell subpopulations in tumor specimens as determined by multiparametric single cell mass cytometry analysis.” BMC immunology 18.1 (2017): 6.

2Lewis, Katherine E., et al. “Interleukin-21 combined with PD-1 or CTLA-4 blockade enhances antitumor immunity in mouse tumor models.” Oncoimmunology 7.1 (2018): e1377873.

3Muroyama, Yuki, et al. “Stereotactic radiotherapy increases functionally suppressive regulatory T cells in the tumor microenvironment.” Cancer immunology research 5.11 (2017): 992.

4Balza, Enrica, et al. “The therapeutic T‐cell response induced by tumor delivery of TNF and melphalan is dependent on early triggering of natural killer and dendritic cells.” European journal of immunology 47.4 (2017): 743-753.

5Buisseret, Laurence, et al. “Tumor-infiltrating lymphocyte composition, organization and PD-1/PD-L1 expression are linked in breast cancer.” Oncoimmunology 6.1 (2017): e1257452.


Note: Studies were performed in accordance with applicable animal welfare regulations in an AAALAC-accredited facility