细胞培养

大规模培养
档案
档案

科文斯可以促进细胞系生长和扩展,以便植入数百只小鼠中,或者按照您所需的细胞浓度将其置入所需数量的小瓶中冷冻。我们拥有14个CO2孵化器、三个全尺寸生物安全柜、两个自动细胞计数仪,以及在培养皿、烧瓶、滚瓶、旋转瓶和多层烧瓶中培养数百种不同细胞系的丰富经验。

细胞形态
档案

科文斯可以使用Olympus CKX53F倒置荧光相称显微镜和1.4MP CCD摄像头来监测培养细胞的细胞形态。在治疗之前、期间及之后、长时间或在植入前的特定时间查看细胞图片,以验证细胞是否正常生长。

细胞生长/致瘤性
档案

 

我们可以监测您的细胞的长期生长,并比较不同的细胞变体、在不同培养基中细胞的生长或使用不同治疗方法的细胞的生长。我们有两台Luna自动细胞计数器,可以准确区分活细胞和死细胞并对每个种群进行计数。我们的细胞培养团队拥有丰富经验,可以培养多种类型的细胞,包括肿瘤细胞、原代细胞和神经球。我们的团队还拥有执行集落形成测定的经验,可检测转化细胞的致瘤潜力以及蛋白质对体外转化细胞的肿瘤抑制作用。我们的流式细胞仪团队拥有使用CFSE染色监测混合淋巴细胞反应中受刺激的T细胞或T细胞增殖的经验。

高内涵成像分析
档案
档案

科文斯具有使用Cytation 3成像酶标仪对细胞进行染色并获取荧光图像的能力。捕获图像后,我们会使用专门的软件对细胞核进行计数,对活细胞与死细胞进行计数,将染色细胞计为阳性与阴性,并测量图像中每种颜色的大小、圆度、面积、周长和强度。

支持图像的细胞系生成
档案
档案

萤火虫(P. pyralis)萤光素酶是一种在D-萤光素存在的情况下产生生物性发光的酶。使用慢病毒转导系统将萤光素酶2(luc2)基因的DNA与嘌呤霉素抗性基因一起掺入细胞的基因组中。培养细胞时,将嘌呤霉素添加到培养基中,从而仅选择具有插入的荧光素酶基因的细胞。一旦将带有luc的细胞注射到小鼠或大鼠中并施用D-荧光素,就可以使用科文斯的IVIS® Spectrum体内成像系统检测产生的光。从稳定地转导细胞到选择转导的细胞,再到测量细胞的光输出,体外服务团队在执行流程的每个步骤方面都有丰富的经验。

阅读有关萤光素的博客文章

 
细胞毒性/增殖测定
档案

细胞毒性/增殖测定法被广泛用于筛选复方库中的细胞毒性。如果您对开发以快速分裂的癌细胞为靶标的治疗剂感兴趣,我们可以测试您的细胞毒性化合物。在您投资药物制剂之前,我们还可以从最初的高通量药物筛选中筛选“命中”,以查看有害的细胞毒作用。 Covance can measure the toxicity of your compound in your choice of over 400 cell lines that we have available. We provide graphs and IC50 values for each cell line and compound.

Cell Culture

Large-scale culture
file
file

Covance can grow and expand your cell lines for implantation into hundreds of mice or freeze as many vials as necessary at the cell concentration you need. We have fourteen CO2 incubators, three full-sized biosafety cabinets, two cell automated cell counters, and a vast amount of experience growing hundreds of different cell lines in dishes, flasks, roller bottles, spinner flasks, and multi-layered flasks.

Cell morphology
file

Covance can monitor the cell morphology of your cells in culture using an Olympus CKX53F inverted fluorescence microscope with phase contrast and a 1.4MP CCD camera. View pictures of your cells before, during, and after treatment, over extended periods of time, or at specific time points before implantation to verify that the cells are growing normally.

Cell growth/tumorigenicity
file

 

We can monitor the growth of your cells over time and compare different cell variants, cells grown in different media, or cells grown with different treatments. We have two Luna Automated Cell Counters that can accurately distinguish the live from the dead cells and count each population. Our cell culture team has a vast amount of experience culturing multiple types of cells including tumor cells, primary cells, and neurospheres. The team also has experience performing colony formation assays to detect the tumorigenic potential of transformed cells and the tumor suppressive effects of proteins on transformed cells in vitro. Our flow cytometry team has experience monitoring the proliferation of stimulated T-cells or T-cells in mixed lymphocyte reactions using CFSE staining.

High-content image analysis
file
file

Covance has the ability to stain cells and acquire fluorescent images using the Cytation 3 Imaging Plate Reader. Once the images have been captured, we have specialized software that can count nuclei, count live vs dead cells, count stained cells as positive vs. negative, and measure the size, circularity, area, perimeter, and intensity of each color in the images.

Image-enabled cell line generation
file
file

Firefly (P. pyralis) luciferase is an enzyme that produces bioluminescence in the presence of D-luciferin. The DNA for the luciferase 2 (luc2) gene, along with a puromycin resistance gene, is incorporated into the genome of the cells using a lentiviral transduction system. While culturing the cells, puromycin is added to the medium to select only the cells with the inserted luciferase gene. Once the luc-enabled cells are injected into a mouse or rat and D-luciferin is administered, the light produced can be detected with Covance's IVIS® Spectrum in vivo imaging system. The in vitro services team has experience performing every step of the process from stably transducing cells, to selecting the transduced cells, to measuring the light output of the cells.

Read our related blog article regarding luciferase

 
Cytotoxicity / proliferation assay
file

Cytotoxicity/proliferation assays are widely used to screen for cytotoxicity in compound libraries. If you are interested in developing a therapeutic agent that targets rapidly dividing cancer cells, we can test your cytotoxic compounds. We can also screen “hits” from initial high-throughput drug screens for unwanted cytotoxic effects before you invest in your agent as a pharmaceutical. Covance can measure the toxicity of your compound in your choice of over 400 cell lines that we have available. We provide graphs and IC50 values for each cell line and compound.