非酒精性脂肪性肝炎(NASH)药物研发解决方案

运用我们的跨学科专业知识与项目经验的独特组合,解决未得到满足的紧迫NASH肝病治疗需求。

成熟的专业知识有助加快NASH药物研发进程。

  • 通过更加智能的地点选择,招募和留住重要患者

  • 借助我们在肝活检、生物标记物、新型成像技术和长期结果研究方面的丰富经验

  • 在您的NASH计划中获得全面的医疗、科学和法规支持

横幅广告图案:非酒精性脂肪性肝炎(NASH)教育中心:白皮书、文章、网络研讨会等
您的需求

全程助您应对NASH挑战。

要满足当今NASH(非酒精性脂肪肝)治疗领域亟待满足的需求,单凭向市场中推出理想的候选药物并不足够。加快您的NASH计划需要专业化的支持,其涵盖下列多个关键成功因素:

  • 制定战略性临床研发计划
  • 设计定制化试验方案
  • 寻找专业的地点解决肝活检、成像和生物标记物需求

让Covance帮助您执行全面的战略,应对NASH领域的独特挑战,满足您在各个研发阶段的要求。 

积极主动的研究员和积极参与的患者。

不要让场地选择和患者招募难题阻碍您的进程。我们通过因地制宜的招募计划,利用我们强大的推荐人网络、重要的意见领袖和患者倡导小组,确保您的NASH药物研发工作按时推进。

通过我们专有的Xcellerate® 信息学平台,包括业内最大的临床知识库以及跨越全球26个国家600多个场地的外展,我们将帮助您找到适合您试验需求的地点,实现您的快速研究启动目标,并采用持续的计划,主动留住患者。  

值得信赖的全球合作伙伴。

NASH在诊断、评估、管理和推进过程中存在诸多不确定性,但有一点确凿无疑:拥有NASH相关经验的专业合作伙伴可以提高您攻克这种疾病的机率。

依靠我们在2型糖尿病、肥胖症和脂类领域的全球试验记录,以及在肝活检、新型生物标记物、成像方法和结果试验宣告方面的专业知识,在您的计划中提供宝贵的洞察力。我们可以共同为您的NASH研究创造新的可能,开创一条更加周全高效的研发道路。

我们的能力

您的近期目标,我们的长期承诺。

NASH代表了一个快速发展的领域,多种潜在治疗方案仍在酝酿之中,还有更多方案初露端倪,但均未推向市场。Covance认识到可借此重要机会,充分利用我们的法规、医疗、科学和运营专业知识,实地转化研究结果。

我们的投入首先是积极参与NASH科学社区Liver Forum及其他糖尿病相关专业协会,以便从多个角度了解发起人的需求。作为我们持续承诺(即改变观点,对发起人和患者产生影响)的一部分,我们已准备好随时实现您的近期NASH目标。

照亮您的合规之路。

监管机构支持加快研发可解决尚未得到满足的医疗需求(例如NASH)的药物。通过众多不同的方法缩短您的产品获得营销批准的时间,依靠我们的专业知识帮助您选择和整合最优化的战略。

我们与NASH专家合作,对适应症作出指导并对提交材料提供建议,以符合全球、地区及当地的审批要求。依托战略性临床前和临床试验方法,我们可以全面支持您的审批流程,为您的新型NASH产品创造最大价值。

提供洞见。运用经验。

作为一家每年支持几百家发起人开展新型研发的全球CRO,我们知道如何将药物推进到临床试验阶段以及推向市场。NASH研发依靠成熟的流程,以及额外的战略:

  • 应用适应性试验设计,提高研究效率,推进您的计划
  • 将专业化运营经验与新型成像方法及协同肝活检解释进行整合
  • 通过基于研究风险的监查模式,识别和管理风险
  • 满足快速研究启动时间要求及留住患者
  • 支持全球测试和生物标记物研发
  • 利用先进的信息学工具和使用电子数据采集表格

通过我们专门致力于NASH的医疗和法规团队、深厚的科学经验以及重要的运营解决方案以克服研发障碍,我们将帮助您在竞争中独树一帜。

我们了解NASH,知道如何先人一步。现在,与我们联系,了解我们如何为您的重要研究揭示新的机会。

相关服务

与Covance专家建立联系

如果您有问题想联系我们的NASH专家,请点击下面的按钮。 

档案

Claudia Filozof,医学博士,哲学博士
执行医学总监,CVMER(心血管、代谢、内分泌、肾病)组

Filozof博士于2014年加入Covance,负责NAFLD/NASH项目的医学监管和咨询。她是营养和代谢领域的专业认证医生,在糖尿病、肥胖症和相关代谢紊乱,包括非酒精性脂肪性肝病和脂肪性肝炎(NAFLD/NASH)等方面拥有广泛的专业知识。她的职业生涯涵盖了近20年的学术研究和15年的医药行业服务。

自2011年以来,Filozof博士主持了肥胖症、脂类、糖尿病领域的多个研发项目,并一直积极参与NASH的相关工作。她是肝脏论坛AASLD*脂肪性肝炎工作组和EASD** NAFLD小组的成员,发表了有关肥胖症、脂类、糖尿病和NASH的多篇文章。

*AASLD - 美国肝病研究学会

**EASD - 欧洲糖尿病研究协会

Peter-Alfinito-网络

Peter Alfinito,博士
策略和规划高级主管,CVMER(心血管、代谢、内分泌、肾病)组

自2015年加入Covance以来,Alfinito博士一直领导临床计划设计、试验场地识别和方案可行性研究工作,以优化研究安排,最大限度地降低成本及最大化招募潜力。在加入Covance之前,他曾服务于IMS Health和数家大型制药公司,包括默克研究实验室、Bristol-Myers Squibb和Wyeth制药公司,积累了药物研发方面的广泛背景,在临床研发、转化医学和药物筛选团队担任过领导职务。

通过担任基础研究科研人员和临床研发策略师的从业经验,Alfinito博士获得了宝贵的科学和运营洞察力,能够帮助构建数据驱动型策略,为研究提供经济高效和优化的解决方案。 

Margery-Connelly-网络

Margery A. Connelly,博士,MBA
NMR研发策略主管,LabCorp

Connelly博士于2013年加入LabCorp,在学术研究和制药行业拥有超过20年经验。过去三年来,她运用自己的科学专业知识开展基于NMR的新型生物标记物的研发和临床验证,用于多种疾病指征,包括心血管疾病、炎症和代谢疾病,如代谢综合症、糖尿病、肥胖症、非酒精性脂肪性肝病(NAFLD)、非酒精性脂肪性肝炎(NASH)和肝纤维化等。

她丰富的工作经验包括在强生公司担任8 1/2年领导职位,负责确定和验证2型糖尿病和心脏衰竭目标,并管理动脉粥样硬化、糖尿病和肥胖症小分子及大分子项目新型疗法药物筛选的所有阶段;以及在LabCorp工作4年,主管从研发启动到IVD推出的NMR测定/产品渠道。  Connelly博士还在石溪大学担任过研究助理教授,传授药理学、病理和免疫学方面的医学和研究生课程。

Richard-Williams-网络

Richard N. Williams,哲学博士,法学博士
全球监管事务执行策略师

自2013年加入Covance以来,Williams博士一直为客户提供与临床前或临床研究设计和监管机构互动相关的全球、区域或地方性法规策略咨询服务。他在心血管和代谢病领域拥有丰富的经验,涵盖NASH、T1DM和T2DM,并在战略性药物研发方面积累了超过20年经验。

除了在多个治疗领域成功领导和管理过项目之外,他还与美国、欧洲、日本及印度的监管机构进行直接接触。他倡导将当代科学应用于战略性药物研发,并且是美国临床药理学和实验治疗学会、美国基因与细胞治疗学会及美国心脏协会等多个科学协会的活跃成员。Williams博士尤其注重商业与科学的整合,特别是不断变化的全球产品研发形势。

Non-Alcoholic Steatohepatitis (NASH) Liver Disease Drug Development Solutions

Address the urgent unmet need for NASH liver disease treatments with our unique combination of cross-functional expertise and programmatic experience.

Proven Expertise Accelerates NASH Drug Development.

  • Recruit and retain key patients with smarter site selection

  • Rely on strong experience with liver biopsies, biomarkers, novel imaging techniques and long-term outcome studies

  • Access comprehensive medical, scientific and regulatory support across your NASH program

banner graphic: Non-Alcoholic Steatohepatitis (NASH) Education Center: whitepapers, articles, webinars and more
Your Needs

Addressing NASH challenges from end to end.

Meeting today’s unmet needs in NASH (Non-Alcoholic Steatohepatitis) treatment requires more than an ideal drug candidate to reach the market. Accelerating your NASH program demands specialized support that encompasses several key success factors:

  • Forming a strategic clinical development plan
  • Designing a customized protocol
  • Finding specialized sites to work with liver biopsy, imaging and biomarker needs

Let Covance help you execute a comprehensive strategy that addresses the unique challenges of NASH and meets your requirements—at every stage of development. 

Motivated investigators. Engaged patients.

Don’t let site selection and patient recruitment challenges hamper your progress. We can keep your NASH drug development timeline on track through site-specific recruitment plans, drawing on our strong network of referral network, key opinion leaders and patient advocacy groups.

With our proprietary Xcellerate® Informatics Platform, including the industry’s largest clinical knowledgebase and outreach across more than 600 global sites across 26 countries, we’ll help you find the right locations for your trial to reach your rapid study start-up goals and employ ongoing initiatives that proactively manage patient retention.  

A proven global partner.

NASH holds many uncertainties in its diagnosis, evaluation, management and progression, but one thing is certain: a dedicated partner with relevant NASH experience can increase your chance of tackling this disease.

Count on our global history of trials in Type 2 Diabetes, Obesity and Lipids, along with expertise in liver biopsy, novel biomarkers, imaging methods and adjudication for outcomes trials to deliver valuable insights across your program. Together, we can create new possibilities for your NASH study and forge a path for more thoughtful, efficient development.

Our Capabilities

Your near-term goals. Our long-term commitment.

NASH represents a rapidly developing field with several potential therapeutic options in the pipeline and many more on the horizon, yet none have made it to market. At Covance, we recognized this opportunity to harness our regulatory, medical, scientific and operational expertise and transform results in the field.

Our investment started with active participation with the NASH scientific community, the Liver Forum and other diabetes-related professional associations to understand the needs of sponsors from multiple perspectives. We’re ready to meet your near-term NASH goals as part of our ongoing commitment to change the outlook and make a difference to sponsors and patients.

Illuminating your regulatory pathway.

Regulatory agencies support efforts to expedite the development of drugs that address unmet medical needs, like NASH. With many different approaches to reduce your product’s time to marketing approval, rely on our expertise to help you choose and incorporate the most optimal strategy.

We work with NASH experts to shepherd indications and advise submissions to meet global, regional and local approvals. Building off our foundation of strategic preclinical and clinical trial methodologies, we can fully support your approval process—and create the maximum value for your novel NASH product.

Delivering insights. Applying experience.

As a global CRO that supports novel development with hundreds of sponsors each year, we know how to advance compounds to the clinic and the market. NASH development relies on proven processes, along with additional strategies to:

  • Apply adaptive trial designs to improve study efficiency and advance your program
  • Incorporate specialized operational experience with novel imaging methods and coordinated interpretation of liver biopsies
  • Identify and manage risks with risk-based monitoring
  • Meet rapid study start-up timelines and retain patients
  • Support global testing and biomarker development
  • Leverage advanced informatics tools and employ electronic data collection forms

With our medical and regulatory team solely devoted to NASH, deep scientific experience and key operational solutions to overcome development hurdles, we’ll help you make an impact in this competitive landscape.

We know NASH and what it takes to get ahead. Now, get to know us to discuss how we can reveal new opportunities for your critical studies.

Meet Our Experts

Connect With a Covance Expert

If you have a question for one of our NASH experts, please click the button below. 

file

Claudia Filozof, MD, PhD
Executive Medical Director, CVMER (cardiovascular, metabolic, endocrine, renal) group

Dr. Claudia Filozof joined Covance in 2014 and is responsible of the medical oversight and consultant for NAFLD/NASH projects. She is board-certified in nutrition and metabolism and has broad expertise in diabetes, obesity and related metabolic disorders, including in non-alcoholic fatty liver disease and steatohepatitis (NAFLD/NASH). Her career spans almost 20 years in academia and 15 years of service in the pharmaceutical industry.

Dr. Filozof led multiple development programs in obesity, lipids, diabetes and has been actively involved in NASH since 2011. She is a member of the liver forum, AASLD* steatohepatitis working group and EASD** NAFLD group and has published multiple manuscripts in obesity, lipids, diabetes and NASH.

*AASLD – American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases

**EASD – European Association for the Study of Diabetes

Peter-Alfinito-WEB

Peter Alfinito, PhD
Senior Director, Strategy and Planning, CVMER (cardiovascular, metabolic, endocrine, renal) group

Since joining Covance in 2015, Dr. Peter Alfinito has led clinical plan design, site identification and protocol feasibility to optimize study placement, minimize cost and maximize recruitment potential. Prior to Covance, he worked for IMS Health and several large pharmaceutical companies including Merck Research Laboratories, Bristol-Myers Squibb and Wyeth Pharmaceuticals, where he cultivated a broad background in drug development with leadership roles in clinical development, translational medicine and drug discovery groups.

Through his career experience as a basic research scientist and clinical development strategist, Dr. Alfinito has gained valuable scientific and operational insight to help build data-driven strategies to deliver efficient, cost-effective and optimized solutions for studies. 

Margery-Connelly-WEB

Margery A. Connelly, PhD, MBA
Strategic Director, NMR R&D, LabCorp

Joining LabCorp in 2013, Dr. Margery Connelly has over 20 years of experience in academia and the pharmaceutical industry. She has spent the last three years applying her scientific expertise toward the development and clinical validation of new NMR-based biomarkers for various disease indications, including cardiovascular disease, inflammation and metabolic disorders such as metabolic syndrome, diabetes, obesity, NAFLD, non-alcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH) and liver fibrosis.

Her deep experience includes leadership roles during her 8 1/2 years at Johnson & Johnson, identifying and validating type 2 diabetes and heart failure targets and managing all stages of discovery of novel treatments for atherosclerosis, diabetes and obesity for both small and large molecule programs as well as four years at LabCorp, overseeing the NMR assay/product pipeline, from R&D initiation to IVD launch.  Dr. Connelly also taught medical and graduate level courses in pharmacology, pathology and immunology as a research assistant professor at Stony Brook University.

Richard-Williams-WEB

Richard N. Williams, PhD, JD
Executive Strategist, Global Regulatory Affairs

Since joining Covance in 2013, Dr. Richard Williams has advised clients on global, regional or local regulatory strategy associated with preclinical or clinical study design and regulatory agency interactions. He has substantial experience in the cardiovascular and metabolic space, including NASH, T1DM and T2DM, and has more than 20 years of experience in strategic drug development.

In addition to leading and managing successful programs in multiple therapeutic areas, he has also interacted directly with regulatory agencies in the United States, Europe, Japan and India. He is an advocate for applying contemporary science to strategic drug development and is active member in several scientific societies such as the American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics, the American Society for Gene & Cell Therapy and the American Heart Association. Dr. Williams is especially interested in the integration of business with science, particularly with regard to the changing global landscape for product development.