糖尿病、内分泌和肾脏疾病

揭示糖尿病和内分泌药物研发的新机遇。

攻克糖尿病,迎接日益艰巨的挑战

  • 利用我们在应对不断变化的法规形势方面的丰富经验,保持竞争优势。

  • 在竞争激烈的领域中招募到合适的患者

  • 更快阐释临床前试验结果,帮助作出更明智的临床试验决策

网络研讨会:药物研发过程中的肾脏生物标记物
您的需求

我们的独特视角为糖尿病临床研究带来更多新的可能。

Covance的内分泌专家将利用他们在糖尿病和血脂异常方面的丰富经验,帮助您制定精简高效的解决方案。无论您是小型生物技术公司还是大型制药公司,我们均竭诚与您合作,帮助您实现特定的研发目标。

更快找到治疗方案

随着糖尿病患者日益增多,寻找治愈良方的竞争也愈演愈烈。我们专攻治疗领域的专家可以利用专为您定制的成熟策略,帮您加快进程,更快实现研发目标。  让我们助您率先到达终点。

  • 利用临床前试验作用机制研究,更快作出更明智的临床决策。

  • 将定制的葡萄糖钳夹技术用于健康的普通志愿者和/或1型或2型糖尿病患者,对胰岛素分泌进行量化。 

  • 通过将临床前试验安全性评估与概念验证研究进行整合,加快项目进程。

  • 利用我们在全球大型心血管试验方面的丰富经验和运作能力,提供终点裁定。

  • 开展适当的试验、提交预临床试验研究申请,通过将市场准入及法规策略融入早期设计,帮您更快速地获得市场认可。

涵盖实验室和临床试验阶段的全面测试解决方案,对包括糖尿病在内的内分泌研究的最终结果起着决定作用。我们将通过确保在我们的五个全球NGSP 1级认证中心实验室贯彻全标准化方法,帮助您取得成功,同时给您提供极其精准的全球数据,用于A1C测试。将我们领先的测试能力与我们专有的Xcellerate®知识库相结合,可优化您的试验场所选择和患者招募流程,让您的糖尿病研发项目事半功倍。 

揭示能够助您扩大业务的新机遇

我们和您一样热爱科学。从探索2型糖尿病药物在治疗1型糖尿病方面的新功效,到积极寻求生物制剂、生物仿制药、设备及新颖胰岛素给药系统的潜在机遇,我们始终掌握着糖尿病和内分泌药物研发领域的尖端技术。我们的目标是提供能帮助您走向成功的Solutions Made Real®解决方案。 

我们的一体化服务

利用点对点解决方案扩展您的团队

我们针对糖尿病和内分泌药物研发提供一整套的全面解决方案。从先导药物优化到商业化,我们将竭诚为您服务,最大化您研发项目的投资回报率(ROI)。

认识我们的专家

与Covance专家建立联系

如果您有问题想联系我们的糖尿病/内分泌学专家,请点击下面的按钮。 

Barry-Goldstein-网络

Barry J. Goldstein,医学博士,美国内分泌学院院士
副总裁兼全球治疗领域负责人

Barry Goldstein博士于2013年加入Covance,担任心血管、代谢、糖尿病、内分泌和肾脏疾病全球治疗领域负责人。他是经专业认证的内分泌和糖尿病医生,在学术界和业界拥有超过25年的临床和基础研究经验。

他的丰富经验包括在杰弗逊医学院建立了强大的II-IV期糖尿病和内分泌临床试验研究单位,作为主研究者(PI)或者联合主研究者开展了近100项临床试验。Goldstein博士也是糖尿病研究和临床实践领域公认的领导者之一。他曾担任《糖尿病》《JCEM》杂志副主编,并曾担任NIH、ADA和JDRF的许多补助金评审小组以及行业科学咨询小组的成员。他发表过超过220篇论文、社论、专题研究、教科书章节以及担任联合编辑的文献。

Barbara S. Gillespie(医学博士、MMS、FASN)的照片

Barbara S. Gillespie(医学博士、MMS、FASN)
Covance肾脏疾病部门副总裁兼治疗主管
北卡罗来纳大学医学院肾病和高血压部门客座教授

Gillespie博士于2017年加入Covance。此前,她在Quintiles公司担任领导职务十多年之后,包括在首席医疗和科学官办公室工作、担任全球肾病治疗负责人以及美国内科医疗团队北美负责人。她目前获得了肾脏病专业认证。

Gillespie博士还在肾脏健康计划董事会以及国家肾脏基金会(NKF)慢性肾脏病(CKD)登记处科学顾问委员会任职。她是利益相关方委员会成员,也是FDA/EMA/NKF肾脏终点研讨会特邀嘉宾(2018年3月)。凭借广泛的肾脏病学领域经验,Gillespie博士目前在位于北卡罗来纳州罗利的NaphCare担任肾病和透析服务副医疗主管。

Darlene-Deecher-网络

Darlene C. Deecher,博士
CVMER*运营、策略和规划执行主管

Darlene Deecher博士于2013年加入Covance,带来超过20年的应用研究和临床研发经验。Deecher博士是改善药物筛选和研发流程,促使资产加速通过制药管道以满足登记注册要求这一领域公认的领导者之一。

她的丰富经验包括在青少年糖尿病研究基金会担任高级研究副总裁期间,管理葡萄糖控制和糖尿病并发症药物与设备研究及运营的所有方面,包括预防策略。她还曾在惠氏制药有限公司工作了15年,担任负责妇女健康、内分泌和神经科学治疗组合中各种资产的药物筛选、研发、生命周期策略、商业化及市场推广的高级领导团队的成员,领导化合物的推进工作并在新疗法的研发和推广期间与注册机构密切合作。 

Michael-Cressman-网络

Michael D. Cressman,整骨医学博士
CVMER*资深医学主管

Michael Cressman博士于2012年加入Covance,他是一名专业认证肾病专家,在心血管、代谢和肾脏疾病领域的临床试验方面有着超过30年的经验。他的经验包括在阿斯利康公司担任多个领导职务,其中包括瑞舒伐他汀临床研发全球医疗负责人和肾脏安全知识小组主席,该跨学科专家小组由肾脏病理学、生理学、生物统计学或者肾脏相关监管方面的专家组成。他还曾担任匹兹堡大学医学中心临床药理学中心的医学副教授。

Cressman博士撰写了许多与心血管风险评估、高血压治疗、血脂异常及糖尿病肾病(DKD)有关的出版物,并且在与FDA和其它监管机构就广泛的肾脏相关问题进行沟通方面拥有非常丰富的经验。  

Jennifer-Ennis-网络

Jennifer Ennis,医学博士
LabCorp下属Litholink公司医学主管

Jennifer Ennis博士于2009年加入Litholink,负责监督LabCorp针对慢性肾脏疾病、心血管疾病和糖尿病管理的临床决策支持工具的医学和临床方面工作。

Ennis博士是专业认证内科和肾病医生,同时也是伊利诺伊大学芝加哥分校肾脏医学部门的临床助理教授。除了临床和教学职责以外,她还从事慢性肾脏疾病的临床研究,并撰写了多篇摘要和经过同行评审的出版物。

*CVMER - 心血管、代谢、内分泌、肾病

Diabetes, Endocrinology and Nephrology

Revealing new possibilities in diabetes and endocrinology drug development.

Defeating diabetes. Taking on a growing challenge.

  • Stay ahead of the game by leveraging our deep experience in a changing regulatory environment

  • Access the right patients in a highly competitive field

  • Translate preclinical findings sooner to help make smarter clinical decisions

Webinar: Kidney Biomarkers in Drug Development
Your Needs

Our unique perspective shapes possibilities in diabetes clinical research.

At Covance, our endocrinology professionals leverage their extensive diabetes and lipid disorder experience to help you create streamlined solutions. Whether you are a small biotech or a large-sized pharmaceutical company, we work relentlessly to enable you to achieve specific development milestones.

Finding the cure—faster.

As the prevalence of diabetes continues to grow, the race to find a cure is intensifying. Our therapeutically-focused experts can help you accelerate the process with proven strategies designed to help you reach your development milestones sooner.  Let us help you cross the finish line first.

  • Reach smarter clinical decisions faster with preclinical mechanism-of-action studies

  • Quantify insulin secretion with customized glucose clamps in healthy normal volunteers and / or patients with Type 1 or Type 2 diabetes 

  • Speed timelines by integrating preclinical safety assessments with proof-of-concept studies

  • Leverage our experience and operational capabilities in global cardiovascular outcome mega-trials with endpoint adjudication

  • Start the right trials, pre-IND, and accelerate your market approval by incorporating Market Access and regulatory strategies into early phase designs

In endocrine studies, including diabetes, results depend on comprehensive testing solutions – from the lab to the clinic. We help you achieve success by ensuring fully standardized methodology across all of our five global NGSP Level 1 certified central laboratories, to provide you with exceptionally accurate worldwide data for A1C testing. Couple our testing leadership with our proprietary Xcellerate® knowledgebase that helps you optimize site selection and recruitment, and you’ll have a diabetes program that works harder for you. 

Revealing new opportunities to grow your business.

Like you, we are passionate about science. From exploring novel uses for Type 2 diabetes drugs in treating Type 1 disease to proactively addressing potential opportunities for biologics, biosimilars, devices and novel insulin delivery systems, we stay on the cutting edge of diabetes and endocrinology drug development. Our goal is to deliver Solutions Made Real® that set you up for success. 

Our Integrated Services

End-to-end solutions to extend your team.

We deliver a holistic suite of diabetes and endocrinology drug development solutions. From lead optimization through commercialization, we are personally invested in maximizing the ROI of your development program.

Meet Our Experts

Connect With a Covance Expert

If you have a question for one of our diabetes/endocrinology experts, please click the button below. 

Barry-Goldstein-WEB

Barry J. Goldstein, MD, PhD, FACE
Vice President & Global Therapeutic Area Head

Dr. Barry Goldstein joined Covance in 2013 as global therapeutic area head for cardiovascular, metabolic, diabetes, endocrinology and renal disease. He is board-certified in endocrinology and diabetes and has over 25 years of experience in clinical and basic research and development in both academia and industry.

His vast experience includes establishing a robust Phase II-IV clinical trials unit in diabetes and endocrinology at Jefferson Medical College where he was principal investigator (PI) or co-PI on nearly 100 clinical trials. Dr. Goldstein is also recognized leader in diabetes research and clinical practice; he is a past associate editor of Diabetes and JCEM and has served on many grant review panels for NIH, ADA and JDRF, as well as industry scientific advisory panels. His contributions to the literature include more than 220 papers, editorials, monographs, textbook chapters and co-editorships.

Photo of Barbara S. Gillespie, MD, MMS, FASN

Barbara S. Gillespie, MD, MMS, FASN
Vice President and Therapeutic Head of Nephrology, Covance
Adjunct Professor, University of North Carolina School of Medicine, Division of Nephrology and Hypertension

Dr. Gillespie joined Covance in 2017 after over a decade of leadership experience at Quintiles, where she held a variety of positions, including working in the Office of the Chief Medical and Scientific Officer, serving as Global Therapeutic Lead for Nephrology and also as North American Head of the US Internal Medicine team. She is currently board certified in nephrology.

Dr. Gillespie serves on the Board of Directors of the Kidney Health Initiative as well as on the Scientific Advisory Board for National Kidney Foundation (NKF) Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) Registry. She is on the Stakeholder Committee and an Invited Participant for FDA/EMA/NKF Workshop on Renal Endpoints (March 2018). Rounding out her broad nephrology experience, Dr. Gillespie currently works as Associate Medical Director of Nephrology and Dialysis Services at NaphCare in Raleigh, North Carolina.

Darlene-Deecher-WEB

Darlene C. Deecher, PhD
Executive Director CVMER* Operations, Strategy & Planning

Dr. Darlene Deecher joined Covance in 2013 and brings more than 20 years of applied research and clinical development experience. Dr. Deecher has been a recognized leader in improving drug discovery and development processes to accelerate assets through the pharmaceutical pipeline to meet registration requirements.

Her deep experience includes managing all aspects of drug and device research and operations in glucose control and diabetic complications, including prevention strategies, in her role as senior vice president of research at the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation. She also spent 15 years at Wyeth Pharmaceuticals as part of the senior leadership team responsible for discovery, development, life-cycle strategy, commercialization and market launch of various assets within the women’s health, endocrinology and neuroscience therapeutic portfolios, leading the efforts to advance compounds and work closely with registration agencies during the development and launch of new therapies. 

Michael-Cressman-WEB

Michael D. Cressman, DO
Senior Medical Director, CVMER* Group

Dr. Michael Cressman joined Covance in 2012 and is a board-certified nephrologist with more than 30 years of experience in clinical trials in the cardiovascular, metabolic and renal disease areas. His experience includes various leadership roles at AstraZeneca, including the global medical lead for rosuvastatin’s clinical development and chair of the renal safety knowledge group, which was an interdisciplinary group of experts in renal pathology, physiology, biostatistics or regulatory aspects relevant to the kidney. He also worked as an associate professor of medicine in the Center for Clinical Pharmacology at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center.

Dr. Cressman has authored numerous publications that are relevant to cardiovascular risk assessment, treatment of hypertension, dyslipidemia, and diabetic kidney disease (DKD) and considerable experience includes with interactions with the FDA and other regulatory agencies on a wide range of renal-related issues.  

Jennifer-Ennis-WEB

Jennifer Ennis, MD
Medical Director, Litholink Corporation, A LabCorp Company

Joining Litholink in 2009, Dr. Jennifer Ennis has overseen the medical and clinical aspects of LabCorp’s clinical decision support tools for management of chronic kidney disease, cardiovascular disease and diabetes.

Board-certified in internal medicine and nephrology, Dr. Ennis is also a clinical assistant professor of medicine in the section of nephrology at the University of Illinois at Chicago. In addition to her clinical and teaching responsibilities, she performs clinical research in chronic kidney disease and has authored several abstracts and peer-reviewed publications.

*CVMER – Cardiovascular, Metabolic, Endocrine, Renal