临床前和实验外科解决方案

验证原型的安全性和性能

开始设计下一个突破性医疗器材时,您在临床前开发阶段会面临新的考虑因素,例如: 

  • 考虑使用的材料是否安全且具有生物相容性? 
  • 可植入设备的原型是否能按照我们的预期植入并工作?  
  • 如何为我的商业团队和医生提供最好的培训?  
外科医生的照片

与我们的医疗器材研发专家合作,制定最佳的临床前策略。然后获取必要的临床前资源,以简化您的初始研发阶段。无论您要探索前景光明的设备概念、启动全面的测试计划还是开展单项研究,科文斯医疗器材和诊断解决方案都可以帮助您在最初的研发阶段证明您的医疗器材为合适之选:

确保医疗器材中的材料可以安全使用。


化学家的照片

探索设计方案并优化新产品的概念验证。 

正在工作的外科医生的照片

通过提供实操培训来提高销售人员/医师的技能。

人们在开会的照片
生物相容性测试

证明您的医疗器材是由生物相容性材料制成的,这是每个设备均须遵守的法规要求。首先,制定可靠计划,确定适用于特定设备的适当生物相容性研究,然后继续在我们通过EN 45011、ISO 17025、GLP或GMP认证的全球实验室之一开展研究,这些实验室可提供高质量的科学数据和分析支持。定制的测试路线图可确保您获得必要的数据,快速有效地推动医疗器材进入下一个研发阶段。

获取以下关键类别的全面生物相容性测试:

  • 急性全身毒性
  • 生物相容性/风险评估报告
  • 致癌性 
  • 化学检测方法(指纹检测方法以及溶出物和析出物测试)
  • 细胞毒性
  • 发育和生殖毒性
  • 遗传毒性
  • 血液相容性 
  • 植入(局部效应和毒性研究)
  • 体外刺激
  • 体内刺激
  • 材料介导的热原性
  • 敏化
  • 亚急性、亚慢性和慢性毒性
实验外科解决方案

有时您需要更多信息以优化产品概念,从而打造出最终原型。使用专用手术室开展早期外科手术测试,获得宝贵的见解。实验性研究将使您更好地了解如何改进设计或进一步发展概念。  

四个最尖端的外科手术间设备齐全,满足您的实验性手术要求。首先,在我们的指导下选择合适的高质量手术模型,这些模型均达到严格的科学和法规标准。另外还享有全面的支持,包括模型和手术室准备、尸检和病理学支持、术前洗消、器械准备和实验室测试,如果您的设备在测试过程中需要进行细微调整,您还可以享有工程实验室服务。 

确定最符合您研究需求的适当模型不一定是一项挑战。与我们的团队合作,评估和开发动物模型系统,或为各种类型的器材选择合适的人体解剖模型,包括:

  • 心血管
  • 牙科
  • 药物递释
  • 胃肠
  • 神经科
  • 眼科学
  • 骨科
  • 组织工程
  • 泌尿生殖系统
  • 神经科
  • 创伤愈合

与我们经验丰富的兽医团队合作,选择合适的模型并按照GLP或非GLP标准实施研究设计,以确保获得进行概念验证所需的信息。 

  • GLP:根据急性或慢性研究方案开展GLP研究。在整个测试过程中,与项目经理密切合作,包括方案开发和模型选择、存活阶段,以及撰写最终研究报告以进行法规申报。 
  • 非GLP:并非每项研究均要求按照严格的GLP标准进行。对于探索性研究,非GLP测试是一种经济实惠的方法,可获得有助于快速做出决策的见解,从而为您的早期设计提供信息。您的研究仍在类似于GLP的条件下进行,并可根据要求提供可选的报告和病理学资料。  

借助尸体研究,可以更准确地评估医疗器材在人体中的功能。通过观察您的医疗器材与最终将在生物体内接触的骨骼、肌肉和器官之间的相互作用,获得宝贵的经验。可通过核准的供应商提供完整尸体、部分尸体和/或相关组织以达到您研究的严格规格要求,同时减少研究所需的非人类模型数量。  

您可以使用成像设备来记录植入设备的位置和性能。

  • 心脏导管插入实验室
  • 透视镜
  • 普通超声 
  • ICE(心内超声心动图)
  • IVUS(血管内超声) 
  • 腹腔镜塔
  • TEE(经食道超声检查)
  • 经胸超声
教学和培训资源

使用非人体和人体解剖模型(组织或尸体),通过实操临床培训来提升销售团队的销售能力和研究者的技能,以建立与您的医疗器材相关的知识或技能。

通过使用我们的22,000平方英尺设施、四间宽敞的手术室和多种工具,为您的团队提供最佳的学习环境,帮助您轻松实现培训目标。您的培训师将分享技巧,帮助您的医学专业人士达到确保成功所需的专业知识水平。

科文斯医疗器材和诊断解决方案教学中心可根据您的课程设置提供集成式培训空间。首先开展引人入胜的教学会议,然后进入手术室进行实操手术培训,最后是反馈或问答环节。全方位的培训计划均可在一个教学中心完成:

  • 生物技能实验室
  • 基于尸体的培训
  • 临床培训
  • 临床试验研究者培训
  • 教学培训
  • 教学计划
  • 实习培训
  • 基于模型的非临床培训 
  • 产品发布
  • 研发市场调查和产品评估
  • 申办方设计、针对特定产品的教学课程
  • 外科医生对外科医生的培训
  • 专题研讨会

使用最尖端的音频/视频设备培训大型团体,这些设备可从每个手术套间向邻近的内部观察室提供多个摄像机视图和显示选项。

  • 距旧金山国际(SFO)机场15分钟路程
  • 四个最尖端的外科手术间
  • 使用成像设备查看手术结果
  • 音频/视频功能,可支持大型团体现场观看
  • 一般外科支持小组
  • 可开展小组学习、社交和用餐的相邻空间
  • 餐饮支持协调

每种医疗器材和诊断产品都有所不同。无论您需要支持您完成研发每个阶段还是一项研究的合作伙伴,科文斯医疗器材和诊断解决方案都可以帮助您取得下一次突破,并实现相关目标。

Preclinical & Experimental Surgery Solutions

Verify the safety and performance of your prototype

Contact Us

Comprehensive biocompatibility tests

State-of-the-art surgical OR suites

Training locations and resources

Embarking on a journey to design the next medical device breakthrough brings new considerations in the preclinical stage of development, such as: 

  • Are the materials being considered safe and biologically compatible? 
  • Does an implantable device prototype fit and work the way we intended?  
  • How can I best train my commercial team and physicians? 

Craft the optimal preclinical strategy by collaborating with our medical device development specialists. Then access the preclinical resources necessary to make your initial development stage easier. Whether you are exploring a promising device concept, initiating a comprehensive testing plan or conducting a single study, Covance Medical Device and Diagnostic Solutions can help you prove out your device in its earliest stage of development:


Biocompatibility Testing

Proving your device is made of biologically compatible materials is a regulatory requirement of every device. Start with a solid plan that identifies the right biocompatibility studies for your specific device, and then move forward conducting your studies at one of our EN 45011, ISO 17025, GLP or GMP certified global laboratories that deliver high-quality scientific data and analytical support. Your customized testing roadmap ensures you get the data required to progress your device to the next stage of development, quickly and efficiently.

Access a full range of biocompatibility testing in the following critical categories:

  • Acute systemic toxicity
  • Biocompatibility/risk assessment reporting
  • Carcinogenicity 
  • Chemical assays (fingerprint assays and extractable & leachable testing)
  • Cytotoxicity
  • Developmental and reproductive toxicity
  • Genotoxicity
  • Hemocompatibility 
  • Implantation (local effects and toxicity studies)
  • In vitro irritation
  • In vivo irritation
  • Material mediated pyrogenicity
  • Sensitization
  • Sub-acute, sub-chronic and chronic toxicity

Experimental Study Solutions

Sometimes you need more information to optimize your product concept to get to your final prototype. Gain valuable insight with an early surgical test using a built-for-purpose operating room (OR). An experimental study will provide you with a better understanding of how you can enhance your design or develop your concept further.  

Access four surgical OR suites that are fully equipped for your experimental surgery requirements. Start with guidance on selecting the right high-quality surgical models that meet exacting scientific and regulatory standards. Plus, enjoy full support, including model and OR preparation, necropsy and pathology support, surgery scrub, instrument preparation and laboratory tests, and even an engineering lab should your device require minor adjustments during testing. 

Determining the appropriate model best suited to your study needs doesn’t have to be a challenge. Collaborate with our team to evaluate and develop animal model systems or select appropriate human anatomic models for various device types, including:

  • Cardiovascular
  • Dental
  • Drug delivery
  • Gastrointestinal
  • Neurologic
  • Ophthalmology
  • Orthopedic
  • Tissue engineering
  • Urogenital
  • Neurologic
  • Wound healing
 

Partner with our highly skilled veterinary team to choose the appropriate model and implement your study design under GLP or non-GLP standards, ensuring you get the information you need to progress your proof of concept. 

  • GLP: Conduct your GLP study under acute or chronic research protocols. Work closely with a program manager throughout the testing process, including protocol development and model selection, in-life phase, and authoring the final study report for regulatory submission. 
  • Non-GLP: Not every study requires the rigor of a GLP study. For exploratory research, non-GLP testing is an affordable approach to get quick decision-making insight to inform your early design. Your study is still performed under conditions similar to GLP and optional report and pathology are available upon request.  

Cadaver studies make it easier to assess the function of your device within the human body, potentially with more accuracy. Gain valuable experience visualizing your device in conjunction with the bones, muscles and organs that it ultimately will come into contact with in the living body. Full cadavers, partial cadavers and/or relevant tissues are available to support your study to exacting specifications, via approved vendors, while reducing the number of non-human models required for research.  

You have access to imaging equipment for documenting the placement and performance of your implanted device.

  • Cardiac catheterization lab
  • Fluoroscopy
  • General ultrasound 
  • ICE (intracardiac echocardiography)
  • IVUS (intravascular ultrasound) 
  • Laparoscopic towers
  • TEE (transesophageal ultrasound)
  • Transthoracic ultrasound

Education and Training Resources

Advance your sales team’s marketing efforts and investigator skills with hands-on clinical education to build knowledge or skills related to your medical device - using non-human and human anatomical models (tissue or cadavers).

With access to our 22,000 square foot facility, four spacious surgical suites and a synergy of tools, providing your team with the best learning environment to achieve your training objectives is a whole lot easier. Your trainers can share techniques that provide your medical professionals with the level of expertise needed to ensure success.

The Covance Medical Device and Diagnostic Solutions education site gives you access to an integrated training space that flexes to your curriculum. Start with an engaging didactic session, move into the OR for hands-on surgical training and end with a feedback or Q&A session. It’s all possible at one site for a full range of training programs:

  • Bioskills labs
  • Cadaver-based training
  • Clinical trainings
  • Clinical trial investigator training
  • Didactic training
  • Educational programs
  • Hands-on workshops
  • Nonclinical model-based training 
  • Product launches
  • R&D market surveys and product evaluations
  • Sponsor-designed, product-specific instructional courses
  • Surgeon-to-surgeon training
  • Symposia

Training options for larger groups

Train larger groups using state-of-the-art audio/visual equipment that provides multiple camera views and display options from each of the OR suites into onsite adjacent viewing rooms.

Conveniently located and filled with learning amenities

  • Located 15 minutes from the San Francisco International (SFO) airport
  • Four state-of-the-art surgical OR suites
  • Access to imaging equipment for viewing surgical results
  • Audio/visual capabilities for onsite viewing by larger groups
  • General surgical support team
  • Adjacent space for group learning sessions, networking and meal breaks
  • Catering support coordination

Let's Start the Conversation

Contact Us