为英国脱欧做好准备

担心脱欧会对您的患者、临床试验或药物研发产生影响?由于欧盟和英国的最终脱欧协议持续存在不确定性,因此准备工作至关重要,从而让您的复方制剂、设备、测试、临床试验和制造工艺顺利完成平稳过渡。 

2019年4月11日,欧盟委员会和英国商定将脱欧期限推后六个月,新的脱欧日期为2019年10月31日。

科文斯及其母公司LabCorp 3年来一直为“无协议”脱欧进行积极规划。

我们自2016年6月以来开始关注脱欧进展。2017年中,公司正式组建了脱欧工作组。自那时起,我们便与行业协会开展合作,直接呼吁英国和欧盟政府通过强有力的合作,将对我们行业的潜在影响降至最低。 

破裂的墙壁上有脱欧蓝色欧盟旗帜和半面英国国旗

科文斯脱欧准备的关键要素包括……

供应链

  • 我们针对关键的供应需求进行评估、预备库存、储存和/或进行资源配置
  • 我们的哈罗盖特(英国)和约克(英国)中心已获得经认证的经营者(AEO)身份。这是一种值得信赖的贸易商认证形式,将减少对我们的货物/材料进行边境检查的需要,并在边境贸易中断的情况下加快我们货物的清关速度。
  • 我们已经评估了往返英国(人类生物样本以及动物样本)的进出口延误的风险,并且得出结论,我们的英国出口程序和进口程序,或欧盟27国以外的中心实验室活动无需做出调整。
  • 我们的中心实验室活动于瑞士日内瓦进行。瑞士和英国已签署一项协议,以保证维持两国之间的当前贸易条件。
  • 我们持有并继续扩大库存,帮助哈罗盖特、约克和利兹(临床研究)中心应对10月31日之后的2个月的贸易中断期。我们在Envigo交易中收购的其他早期开发和化学解决方案中心(位于艾尔、汉丁顿和史哈德)也采取了类似的措施。
  • 我们将继续与英国监管机构紧密联系,以利用通过与科文斯进行的试点项目开发的新程序来支持动物样本的运输。
  • 与可靠的快递公司建立关系,这些公司可在必要时为运输中的临床试验样本补充干冰储备。连带的,我们已经准备好了10月31日及之后的公路运输应急计划,其中包括必要的替代运输方式。

法规

  • 化学、生产与控制(CMC)商品发布测试相关的法规考虑因素通过美国和欧盟之间相互承认的协议(2019年7月全面实施)得以缓解,这使我们的格林菲尔德(美国)中心成为开展测试以支持欧盟产品发布的可行替代之选。
  • 我们已经添加了运输文件,用于来自欧盟27个国家的货物清关程序。
  • 我们评估了增加临床研究中心的试剂盒库存水平的需要,并得出结论,我们可采取若干方案绕开欧盟进行运输。

供应商/非IMP规划

  • 我们正在与供应商网络积极规划临床研究中心激活和其他启动活动(例如研究者会议),在初次访视之前提前备货等。
  • 此外,我们继续关注供应商的计划是否足以缓解跨越英国边界的产品、样本和试剂盒的进出口风险。
  • 我们正在评估对欧盟至英国的数据传输的影响。目前,公司基于标准合同条款在欧盟以外进行数据传输。我们在必要时执行标准条款。 

IMP

  • 我们已经确认,所有穿越英国边境的产品有足够的库存(位于临床研究中心或仓库);根据需要为仓库进行了安排以便为英国和欧盟配货。
  • 对于对温度敏感和/或根据每位患者制备的IMP产品,替代品已准备就绪(例如,提前发货和/或在英国边境设立加冰站)以降低运输延误风险。

 

LabCorp/科文斯为应对英国无协议脱欧的相关风险做好了充分准备。尽管某些事情(例如边境延误)不在我们的控制范围内,但我们希望与客户及合作伙伴合作,最大程度地减少对药物研发的干扰。 


更多信息

如果您是设备制造商,可能还需要阅读我们有关无协议脱欧设备准备的文章

如要了解有关研发项目的具体信息,请通过科文斯Brexit @ covance.com联系我们。

Preparing for Brexit

Concerned about Brexit for your patients, clinical trials or drug development? With persistent uncertainty surrounding the endgame for EU and UK, preparation is crucial – so that your compounds, devices, testing, clinical trials and manufacturing processes are best positioned for a smooth transition. 

On April 11, 2019, the EU Council and UK agreed to a six-month extension with a new exit date of October 31, 2019.

Covance and its parent company, LabCorp, have been actively planning for a “no-deal” Brexit scenario for 3 years.

We have been monitoring Brexit developments since June 2016. A formal Brexit task force was convened by the company in mid-2017. Since that time, we have been working with industry associations, directly advocating to UK and EU governments to minimize potential impact on our industry, utilizing a strong partnership approach. 

brexit blue european union EU flag on broken wall and half great britain flag

Key components of Covance's Brexit preparation includes . . .

Supply Chain

  • We are assessing, pre-stocking, storing and /or resourcing critical supply needs.
  • We have obtained Authorized Economic Operator (AEO) status for our Harrogate (UK) and York (UK) facilities. This is a form of trusted trader accreditation that will reduce the need for border checks on our goods / materials and expedite clearance of our shipments in the event of border disruption.
  • We have assessed the risk of import / export delays in shipments to and from UK (human biological samples, as well as animal samples), and have concluded that no changes are needed for our export UK procedures and our import procedures, or for Central Labs activities outside the EU27.
  • Our Central Laboratory activities are carried out in Geneva, Switzerland. Switzerland and the UK have signed a deal that guarantees current trade conditions between the two countries.
  • We possess – and continue to build – inventory to manage through a 2-month period of disruption post October 31 at our Harrogate, York and Leeds (clinical research unit) sites. Our other Early Development & Chemistry Solutions sites acquired in the Envigo transaction located in Eyre, Huntingdon and Shardlow have taken similar action.
  • We have continued to liaise closely with UK regulators to utilize new procedures developed through a pilot project with Covance to support animal sample shipments.
  • Established relationships with reliable couriers that can, if necessary, replenish dry ice stocks for in-transit clinical trial samples. Related, we have prepared contingency plans regarding road transport on and after October 31, including alternative modes of transportation as needed.

Regulatory

  • Regulatory considerations relating to Chemistry, Manufacturing & Controls (CMC) commercial product release testing are mitigated by mutual recognition agreement between U.S. and EU (fully implemented in July 2019), which makes our Greenfield (U.S.) facility a viable alternative for testing to support EU product release.
  • We have added shipping documentation for clearance procedures for shipments coming from EU 27 countries.
  • We have assessed the need to increase kit inventory levels at our sites and concluded that we have several options to bypass transit through the EU.

Vendor / Non-IMP Planning

  • We are actively planning with our vendor network site activations and other startup activities, such as Investigator Meetings, having supplies well in advance of Initiation Visits, etc.
  • Additionally, we continue to monitor that our vendors’ plans are sufficient to mitigate the import/export risk for products, samples and kits crossing UK borders.
  • We are assessing the impact on data transfer from the EU to the UK. Currently the Company relies on standard contractual clauses for data transfers outside of the EU. We implemented model clauses where necessary. 

IMP

  • We have confirmed that sufficient stock is in place (either at site or depot) for all products crossing UK border; depots are being arranged as needed for both UK and EU distributions.
  • For IMP products that are temperature sensitive and/or are prepared on a per patient basis, alternatives are in place (such as advance shipping and/or re-icing stations at UK border) to mitigate risk of shipping delays.

 

LabCorp/Covance have prepared extensively to mitigate risk associated with the UK potentially leaving the EU without a deal. While some things – such as border delays – are outside of our control, we look forward to working with our clients and partners to minimize any disruption to drug development. 


For More Information

If you're a device manufacturer, you might also want to read our article on device preparation for a no-deal Brexit.

For specific information related to your development project, please contact us at CovanceBrexit @ Covance.com.