动物福利对于获得高质量的结果至关重要

和本网站的许多访客一样,我们非常关爱动物,并努力始终以人道、体恤的方式对待动物。 

确保对研究动物给予适当的关怀与对待是正确之举,并且对我们的业务至关重要。

得到适当关怀的健康的研究动物可带来更加可靠的科学结果。尽可能取得最好的结果有助于确保用新药物治疗患者、宠物、家畜和其他动物的安全性。为改善生活质量,我们为研究动物安排丰富活动、社会性畜舍以及游戏时间。

档案

我们的20多名兽医在确保动物健康与福利方面拥有专业知识和丰富经验。为帮助确保动物福利,动物研究机构的兽医全年365天、全天24小时待命。我们经验丰富的高素质运营经理和支持人员专注于确保动物的日常安全与健康。

所有在工作中会接触到实验动物的科文斯员工都接受了广泛的培训,以确保正确的管理和护理。此培训包括:

  • 关于动物福利和科文斯对奉行关怀文化的承诺的交互式认知模块。
  • 有关动物关怀和使用的行业标准和所有适用法规的概述
  • 每个物种的独特需求,包括行为\心理和营养
  • 如何人道、安全地处理动物
  • 如何观察动物是否有存在不适、疼痛、压力或健康问题的迹象,然后最大程度地减轻这些问题。

我们努力确保自己和供应商遵守所有关于动物福利的适用政府法规。在超过30年的动物研究中,我们一直遵守动物福利法规,包括欧洲理事会指令2010/63/EU、美国 《动物福利法》 以及美国农业部(USDA)和美国关于实验动物人道关怀和使用的公共卫生服务政策

例如,欧盟法规强制要求欧洲所有涉及动物的研究需要经过政府机构审核以确认动物研究是目前唯一的选择。 

科文斯工作所涉及的大多数动物都是为研究目的而专门繁殖的。这些动物并非野生捕获,也不是来自动物收容所。我们的兽医团队会定期对供应商进行审核,帮助确保其达到有关人道对待和无感染的强制要求,以消除可能改变研究结果的因素。  

一只老鼠的照片

实施:在基础生物医学研究所使用的动物中,有超过95%是老鼠。*尽管政府法规要求对非啮齿类动物进行某些测试,但啮齿动物是测试新药安全性的最常用物种。

小种猪逐渐开始取代狗在某些研究中的使用。研究性灵长类动物多为猕猴或狨猴,并且只有少数研究(约0.05%的研究)会使用灵长类动物,这帮助实现了众多重要的医学进步,例如脊髓灰质炎疫苗和早产儿生命维持系统。了解动物研究网站包含有关使用灵长类动物进行研究的更多信息。

欧盟关于将动物用于科学用途的统计数据

Animal Welfare Is Vital to Achieving High-Quality Results

Like many of you who visit this website, we care deeply about animals and strive to treat them humanely and respectfully ­– always. 

Ensuring proper care and treatment of our research animals is the right thing to do and critical to our business.

A healthy research animal that is properly cared for will provide more reliable scientific results. Achieving the best possible results helps to ensure the safety of new medicines for patients, as well as for pets, livestock and other animals. To improve quality of life, we provide enrichment activities, socially arranged housing, and playtime for the animals in our care.

file

We employ more than 20 veterinarians with expertise and experience in ensuring the health and well-being of the animals. To help ensure animal welfare, a veterinarian is on call 24 hours a day, 365 days a year at each of our animal facilities. Our experienced, highly qualified operations managers and support staff focus exclusively on ensuring the safety and well-being of the animals, every day.

All Covance employees who work with laboratory animals complete extensive training to ensure proper management and care. This training includes:

  • An interactive awareness module on Animal Welfare and Covance’s commitment to a Culture of Care.
  • An overview of industry standards and all applicable regulations that govern animal care and use
  • The unique needs of each species, including behavioral, psychological and nutritional
  • How to humanely and safely handle the animals
  • How to observe animals for signs of discomfort, pain, distress or health issues and then minimize them.

We work diligently to ensure that we – and our suppliers – adhere to all applicable animal welfare government regulations. In our more than 30 years of animal research, we have maintained an excellent record of compliance with animal welfare regulations, including the European Council Directive 2010/63/EU, the U.S. Animal Welfare Act and the requirements set forth by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) and the U.S. Public Health Service Policy on the Humane Care and Use of Laboratory Animals.

European Union regulations, for example, mandate that all research involving animals conducted in Europe be vetted by government agencies to confirm that animal research is the only alternative currently available. 

Most animals that Covance works with are purpose-bred specifically for research. They are not wild caught or sourced from animal shelters. Our team of veterinarians audits the suppliers on a regular basis to help ensure humane treatment and infection-free mandates are upheld to eliminate factors that could alter the outcome of the research conducted.  

Photo of a rat

Fact: More than 95 percent of the animals used in basic biomedical research are mice and rats.* Rodents are the most frequently used species to test the safety of new medicines, although government regulations require some testing in non-rodent species.

Minipigs are beginning to replace the use of dogs in some types of research. Most research primates are macaques or marmosets, and these are used in relatively small numbers—about 0.05 percent of studies—helping enable many important medical advances such as the polio vaccine and life support systems for premature babies. The website Understanding Animal Research has more information about research using primates.

EU statistical data on the use of animals for scientific purposes