我们如何将信仰转化为行动力

过去30年里,我们已树立并维护以动物福利为首要任务的企业文化。从我们对3R的承诺,到我们对政府法规的细心遵守,我们每天都努力确保以人道、体恤的方式对待研究性动物。

我们对3R的承诺:

我们持续开发并部署有助于增进我们对创新和3R承诺的技术:

档案

对研究性动物给予适当、人道的关怀不仅是正确之举,同时也是确保可改善全世界人类和动物生活质量并拯救生命的新药物的安全性和有效性的根本所在。

我们已采取针对性的措施,树立并维护以动物福利为首要任务的企业文化。

下文列举了几个实例:

  • 我们的全球动物福利部门在动物福利与比较医学副总裁的带领下设立、执行并监督Covance全球动物福利标准。该团队还对我们的所有动物研究机构和供应商开展定期审查。 

档案
  • 我们的实验动物关怀与使用委员会以及其他动物福利审查委员会的成员包括兽医、科学家、专业人员以及至少一位民众。这些团队会考虑研究的必要性以及研究是否需要使用动物等问题。  接着,他们会审核并批准或修改研究设计,之后研究方可启动。他们还会定期审核Covance的动物关怀和使用计划,检查我们的研究设施并调查任何动物福利问题。

  • 我们每三年会向实验动物管理评鉴及认证协会(AAALAC)提交一次综合计划描述,详细阐明我们的政策、动物笼舍和管理、兽医护理及设施。之后,AAALAC代表会开展透彻的现场评估,其评估结果将由AAALAC认证委员会进行进一步评估。Covance所有10家生物医学研究机构均通过了AAALAC认证。

您知道吗?

我们不断努力扩大体外测试的范围,希望将其作为动物研究的替代选择,并与全国研究动物减少、优化和替代中心(NC3Rs)等全球各地的组织和机构合作推广替代性体外测试。  在我们的所有研发机构中,我们在从药物研发进程的药物筛选阶段到临床前阶段提供体外测试。计算机建模和体外或基于细胞的测试可帮助我们从大量潜在药物中找到最有望帮助患者的数种药物。我们会尽可能促进体外测试的常规应用,并已用体外测试方法取代了一些动物测试。

我们认为透明化有助于提高认识

无论您是Covance合作伙伴、普通公民或公职人员,您都可以安心,因为我们会开诚布公地表达以体恤、关爱的方式对待研究动物的承诺。

使用和对待动物透明化对于我们与科学界其他机构的关系而言至关重要。

动物研究公开协定

Covance是签署英国动物研究开放协定的70多家机构之一。其中包括制药公司、大学院校、合同研究组织、非盈利协会和相关组织。我们致力于遵守协定中的准则并履行其四项承诺以增进我们对动物使用的交流。

迷思与事实

迷思:狗和灵长类动物是最常用于药物测试的动物。

事实:基础生物医学研究中使用的动物中有超过95%为小鼠和大鼠。* 尽管政府法规要求使用非啮齿类动物进行一些测试,但大鼠是最常用于测试新药物安全性的物种。

小种猪逐渐开始取代狗在某些研究中的使用。研究性灵长类动物多为猕猴或狨猴,并且只有少数研究(约0.05%的研究)会使用灵长类动物,这帮助实现了众多重要的医学进步,例如脊髓灰质炎疫苗和早产儿生命维持系统。Understanding Animal Research(理解动物研究)网站上提供了关于使用灵长类动物开展研究的更多信息。

 

* 生物医学研究基金会:www.fbresearch.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/Rodents.pdf

您知道吗?

Covance使用的所有动物都是专门为研究繁育的动物。我们的兽医团队会定期对供应商进行审核,帮助确保其达到有关人道对待和无感染的强制要求,以消除可能改变研究结果的因素。

档案

How We Put Our Beliefs Into Action

Over the past 30 years, we’ve established and maintained a corporate culture that makes animal welfare a top priority. From our commitment to the 3Rs to our careful adherence to government regulations, we strive every day to make sure we treat our research animals humanely and with respect.

We’re Committed to the 3Rs:

We continue to develop and implement technologies that advance our commitment to innovation and the 3Rs:

file

Proper and humane care for research animals is not just the right thing to do, it’s also fundamental to ensuring the safety and effectiveness of new medicines that improve and save the lives of people and animals all over the world.

We’ve taken meaningful steps toward building and maintaining a corporate culture that makes animal welfare a top priority.

Here Are Just a Few Examples:

  • Our Global Animal Welfare Organization, led by our vice president of animal welfare and comparative medicine sets, implements and monitors global animal welfare standards at Covance. This team conducts regular audits of all our animal facilities and vendors. 

file
  • Our Institutional Animal Care and Use Committees and other animal welfare review boards include veterinarians, scientists, members of our professional staff and at least one member of the public. These teams consider whether a study is necessary, and whether animals need to be involved.  They then review and approve or make changes to study designs before any research can begin. They also periodically review Covance’s animal care and use program, inspect our research facilities, and investigate any animal welfare concerns.

  • Once every three years, we submit a comprehensive program description to the Association for Assessment and Accreditation of Laboratory Animal Care (AAALAC) that details our policies, animal housing and management, veterinary care and facilities. AAALAC representatives then conduct thorough onsite assessments, and their findings are further evaluated by the AAALAC Council on Accreditation. All 10 Covance biomedical research sites are accredited by AAALAC.

Did You Know?

We constantly strive to improve the range of in vitro testing as an alternative to animal research, and we work with organizations and agencies all over the world, including The National Centre for the Replacement, Refinement & Reduction of Animals in Research (NC3Rs) and others that promote alternative in vitro testing.  At all our research and development sites, we offer in vitro testing from the Discovery phase through to the Pre-Clinical phase of the drug development process. Computer modeling and in vitro, or cell-based, testing can help us distill the plethora of possible compounds down to those few with the best chance of helping patients. Wherever possible, we promote the routine use of in vitro testing and have already replaced some animal testing with in vitro methods.

We Believe Transparency Increases Understanding

Whether you are a Covance partner, private citizen or public official, you want to be assured that we are open about our commitment to respectful and caring treatment of research animals.

Transparency about the use and treatment of animals in our care is critical to our relationships with others in the scientific community.

Concordat on Openness on Animal Research

Covance is among the more than 70 original signers of the United Kingdom’s Concordat on Openness on Animal Research. These include pharmaceutical companies, universities, contract research organizations, nonprofit associations, and related organizations. We are committed to abiding by the Concordat’s guidelines and fulfilling its four commitments to enhance our communications about our use of animals.

Myth v. Fact

Myth: Dogs and primates are the animals used most often in drug testing.

Fact: More than 95 percent of the animals used in basic biomedical research are mice and rats.* Rats are the most frequently used species to test the safety of new medicines, although government regulations require some testing in non-rodent species.

Minipigs are beginning to replace the use of dogs in some types of research. Most research primates are macaques or marmosets, and these are used in relatively small numbers—about 0.05 percent of studies—helping enable many important medical advances such as the polio vaccine and life support systems for premature babies. The website Understanding Animal Research has more information about research using primates.

 

* The Foundation for Biomedical Research: www.fbresearch.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/Rodents.pdf

Did You Know?

All animals used at Covance are “purpose-bred” specifically for research. Our team of veterinarians audits the suppliers on a regular basis to help ensure humane treatment and infection-free mandates are upheld to eliminate factors that could alter the outcome of the research conducted.

file